We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
SE England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply the best.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have stayed in other 5 star hotels, and they are all very good. But the Chedi Muscat is simply better. Others may have similar food, similar facilities, similar decoration, but none can match the service at the Chedi Muscat. It’s not just that it is quick, efficient and unobtrusive; it is that everyone, reception, concierge, housekeeping, bar, pool restaurant, they all seem to know you, know what you want and want to ensure your stay is fantastic. The best hotel I have every stayed in, can’t think it can ever be beaten!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cresswellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Cresswellm,

We are truly grateful for you taking the time to give us such a kind review of our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team who are looking forward to the prospect of welcoming you back for another perfect stay at The Chedi Muscat.

Warm regards from sunny Muscat,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,703
    434
    188
    66
    51
See reviews for
286
1,432
89
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Total luxury. Amazing hotel with total comfort and style. Very expensive once you are there but seafood restaurant was exceptional. The long pool is perfect to relax by and drink cocktails. One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Service first class

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SW44London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear SW44 London,

Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback, we are very glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us.

Your comments will surely contribute to our overall improvement and continuing high level of service that we endeavour to give at all times.

With warmest regards,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent 4 day stay at the Chedi. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. The ambiance is set on arrival with attentive, friendly and efficient staff at reception. The Zen-like qaulity of both layout and furnishings is pleasing and spatious. Our room was well-appointed, of good size and the same attention to detail was carried over. The public areas, pools and gardens were pristine and the staff are most helpful and friendly. The restaurant for breakfast buffet is most appealing while the poolside bistro is very good service. This is a hotel to indulge oneself in calm luxory. There is little to criticise apart perhaps from the road leading to the hotel. As first impressions count, landscaping and planting of palm trees on the straight drive up to the hotel would be beneficial. Guests should not be put off as once within the hotel grounds you are enveloped in indulgence. We would recommend this hotel to others to enjoy and would wish to visit other similar Chedi./ GMH hotels worldwide.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located within the hotel grounds and the layout is most appealing. we had a supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dowells105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Dowells105,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your enjoyable stay at The Chedi Muscat. It was our pleasure having you visit us and being of service to you.

We take all our guest's comments seriously with the intent for improvement that they deserve. Regarding your comments about our entrance driveway, I am glad to inform you that we are presently studying various options on how to improve this important area of our hotel.

In any case, we hope to welcome you back to The Chedi Muscat in the not so distant future for some more zen-like relaxation.

With warmest regards,

Markus Iseli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
215 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wanted a hot destination and relaxing few days, I got this in abundance. From arrival at the hotel, where I was ushered into the lovely lobby and provided with a cold glass of fresh juice and biscuits, to being shown to my room and shown everything I needed to know.

I had arrived at the hotel early following an overnight flight at around 8.30am, the receptionist or more like a greeter advised that check in was usually at 2pm but would speak to housekeeping to see if a room was available for me to use to shower in, didn't ask for this but she wanted me too feel as fresh and relaxed as possible. I was taken along to the outside bar area and provided with a lovely cup of tea whilst she made some enquiries. The greeter arrived some 10 minutes later advising a room was ready, a room I could stay in for the remainder of my holiday. She showed me to my room, suitcase was already there.

Lovely sizeable room, mini bar where soft drinks were free and replenished every day and evening. Dressing area, lovely large towels, hairdryer, dressing gown, toilettries again replenished daily, great monsoon effect shower. The room had an ipod dock for favourite sounds. Bed very comfy the evening service was great.
The whole place is geared for relaxation and having a great memorable holiday, nothing is too much trouble. Apples in the room I took to the pool and the staff happily chopped them for me.

The hotel is lovely, stylish and well maintained. Private beach, 3 pools, all warm, wonderful. The long pool being 100m. Towels for the pool supplied. You could go into the changing rooms by the long pool, and use the sauna and steam room. Showering facilities and lockers in this area, along with toilettries, fresh towels, costume spinner to remove excess water, and hairdryers. A little sign said just ask for toilettries and body lotion....All hotel covered by free wifi so you could relax by the pool doing emails.

Restaurants, one seafood on the beach, one by the long pool did yummy asian style tapas, the main restaurant served international food. Amazing desserts. Prices not too bad around the price of a nice restaurant in UK. Between 12 to 20 Rial depending on your selection.
Wine ranged from 17 Rial to crazy prices. Beer around 3.5 Rial.

Breakfast was wonderful a great selection of cooked breakfast, asian, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, and a good cup of tea....

Taxis can be arranged easily by the hotel costs 4 Rial single trip to the Grand Mosque, around 13 Rial single to old town souk. Taxi driver will wait for you for up to an hour to take you back. Very friendly and speak excellent English.

On the whole fantastic relaxing haven to holiday in, brilliant team of staff. I would like to come back.

Ladies if you go to the mosque, dress code is very strict, long trousers or skirt covering ankles, long sleeved top which cannot be the slightest bit see through and must go down to wrists, and head scarf to cover your hair.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Bootrek,

We are so grateful to receive such a complimentary review.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to go in to the finer details of service that we give as we believe that this makes the whole experience all the more special.

It is our sincere hope that you will decide to join us again for some relaxation time in the future.

With kindest regards

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have been fortunate enough to attend a wedding in Oman. At the beautiful Chedi.
Pure Indulgence at a fair price. Oman is old world,the lack of high rise buildings is
Refreshing.
But the Chedi is amazing, pools, beach, restaurant,bars, the service is warm, attentive and caring.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Cherie F,

Thank you kindly for sharing your wonderful experiences at The Chedi Muscat.

It was a pleasure being of service to you and It is our sincere hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Chedi Muscat in the not so distant future.

Warmest regards,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Pros: there's more than enough at the Chedi to keep you entertained for a whole holiday. For instance, we ate at the same restaurant three times and still found plenty of choices. Same goes for breakfast, and the puddings are at once beautifully crafted and delicious. Don't miss the salted caramels!

Club rooms have a free mini bar and access to the library. Spa treatments were top notch and there's a great fitness centre with yoga and other cardio classes.

We were particularly impressed with the service, and staff who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and looked after, but who were not intrusive. For instance, after a prang in our rental vehicle, the staff dealt with the issue with grace and good humour!

The hotel is beautifully laid-out, and the long pool is particularly stunning. One word of warning: there are very few signs around the grounds and the 21 acres can be difficult to navigate!

Cons: wifi is spotty in the rooms, and requires frequent maintenance.

Getting a spot on a sun lounger by the pools can be hard-- the resort attracts a good number of competitive sun-lounging guests!



  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank okhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Okhs,

What a pleasure it is to receive such lovely compliments. It was in fact our honour to have you stay with us and be of service to you, thank you for choosing The Chedi Muscat.

We have noted your valuable feedback regarding our WI-FI offering and sun lounger availability and we will be sure to make the appropriate adjustments to improve these issues.

I will be certain to give your comments to our team who will be pleased to receive them so we can continuously strive to achieve the perfect stay each and every time.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you return to The Chedi Muscat again in the future for a relaxing and enjoyable stay with our team.

With warm regards and gratitude,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here a few weeks ago for 7 nights. I fell in love with the place the minuet I walked in. What a impressive reception! We were made to feel instantly welcome and once we had checked in we were walked to our room. It was a bit of a walk from the reception to the room but because of the size of the place it actually worked out for the best because it meant that we were very close to the pool/beach. The room was lovely and comfortable with a mini bar and ice provided for your drinks. We had dinner here every night a part from one night when we decided to venture out to the Ritz Carlton which is the place we were supposed to be staying to begin with. All I can say is thank god we didn't. The food at The Chedi is some of the best I have ever had. I do suggest if you are staying here or even if your not to try the beach side restaurant. The quality of the food is next to non and like where ever you go in this amazing hotel the atmosphere is that of total piece and tranquility. The staff are all incredibly friendly were nothing is to much trouble. We will both without a doubt be returning here at some point. Loved Oman, loved The Chedi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Mike D,

We are so grateful for you having chosen The Chedi Muscat as your destination of choice for your vacation just gone and the possibility of you coming again in the future.

Thank you kindly for your most complimentary comments that I will be sure to pass on to our team who I'm sure will really appreciate them.

We all look forward to warmly welcoming you back with our continuing high level of service and hospitality.

With kindest regards

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Improvement Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#9 of 52 in Muscat
1,402 reviews
14.0 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 52 in Muscat
157 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
6.1 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Address: North Ghubra 32, Way no 3215, Street no 46, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acre 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away. The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing