We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just amazing, beautiful, calm and relax. Food was delicious and a lot of choice. Breakfast buffet was huge. The pools are amazing and also huge. Never seen this before in a hotel. One of my best trips ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannavw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear hannavw89,

We are very glad that you had a calm and relaxing stay with us at The Chedi Muscat. It is really satisfying to hear that you also enjoyed the choice of our food offerings and the size of our pools.

We hope you will choose to indulge in another stay with us in the not too distant future as it is our pleasure being of service to you.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kindest regards

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Where do I start with this amazing hotel.
I always look for improvements and this place excels in every way,
Three pools,overlooking the sea.
The only point that was not perfect is that the restaurant bar overlooking the sea closed really early.
Other than that the place tops every single hotel I have ever stayed in around the world.
It's tranquil and fantastic.
Chedi Gorge!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Darren L,

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback about your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat.
It was truly a pleasure have you stay with us and to be of service to you.

It is always gratifying to receive comments from satisfied guests such as yourself and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team who I'm sure will find them most encouraging.

We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the opening time for our Chedi Cabana and be assured as we return back into our high season the opening hours of this fantastic outlet will be adjusted to our guests needs.

Thank you again for your comments, they are invaluable.

Warmest regards from sunny Muscat,

Markus Iseli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

It is exceptional in just about every way. Breakfast of Kings, amazing pools, luxurious beds beneath shaded walkways, fabulous service at all times and in all areas.

It is a very good hotel but it somehow lacks atmosphere. Even honeymooners want a little energy about a place and the Chedi comes up a little short.

Tricky balance and they are ever so close.

And don't bother upgrading to Club.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Portobello77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Portabello77,

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at The Chedi Muscat. It was indeed a great pleasure having you with us and being of service to you.

We are very grateful for you taking the time to share your valuable observations in relation to the atmosphere and level of energy around the hotel. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to improve upon the issues mentioned.

Providing a perfect experience for each and every guest is our goal so the provision of guest feedback such as yours, is our most valuable means of monitoring our facilities and is the only way of achieving and maintaining excellence.

All considered I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team.

It is our sincere hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Chedi Muscat in the not so distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your upcoming reservation on your wedding anniversary or any additional assistance needed.
Again thank you kindly for your comments, they are invaluable.

With warm regards from sunny Muscat,

Markus Iseli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have stayed in other 5 star hotels, and they are all very good. But the Chedi Muscat is simply better. Others may have similar food, similar facilities, similar decoration, but none can match the service at the Chedi Muscat. It’s not just that it is quick, efficient and unobtrusive; it is that everyone, reception, concierge, housekeeping, bar, pool restaurant, they all seem to know you, know what you want and want to ensure your stay is fantastic. The best hotel I have every stayed in, can’t think it can ever be beaten!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cresswellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Cresswellm,

We are truly grateful for you taking the time to give us such a kind review of our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team who are looking forward to the prospect of welcoming you back for another perfect stay at The Chedi Muscat.

Warm regards from sunny Muscat,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Total luxury. Amazing hotel with total comfort and style. Very expensive once you are there but seafood restaurant was exceptional. The long pool is perfect to relax by and drink cocktails. One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Service first class

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SW44London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear SW44 London,

Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback, we are very glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us.

Your comments will surely contribute to our overall improvement and continuing high level of service that we endeavour to give at all times.

With warmest regards,

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent 4 day stay at the Chedi. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. The ambiance is set on arrival with attentive, friendly and efficient staff at reception. The Zen-like qaulity of both layout and furnishings is pleasing and spatious. Our room was well-appointed, of good size and the same attention to detail was carried over. The public areas, pools and gardens were pristine and the staff are most helpful and friendly. The restaurant for breakfast buffet is most appealing while the poolside bistro is very good service. This is a hotel to indulge oneself in calm luxory. There is little to criticise apart perhaps from the road leading to the hotel. As first impressions count, landscaping and planting of palm trees on the straight drive up to the hotel would be beneficial. Guests should not be put off as once within the hotel grounds you are enveloped in indulgence. We would recommend this hotel to others to enjoy and would wish to visit other similar Chedi./ GMH hotels worldwide.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located within the hotel grounds and the layout is most appealing. we had a supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowells105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Dowells105,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your enjoyable stay at The Chedi Muscat. It was our pleasure having you visit us and being of service to you.

We take all our guest's comments seriously with the intent for improvement that they deserve. Regarding your comments about our entrance driveway, I am glad to inform you that we are presently studying various options on how to improve this important area of our hotel.

In any case, we hope to welcome you back to The Chedi Muscat in the not so distant future for some more zen-like relaxation.

With warmest regards,

Markus Iseli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wanted a hot destination and relaxing few days, I got this in abundance. From arrival at the hotel, where I was ushered into the lovely lobby and provided with a cold glass of fresh juice and biscuits, to being shown to my room and shown everything I needed to know.

I had arrived at the hotel early following an overnight flight at around 8.30am, the receptionist or more like a greeter advised that check in was usually at 2pm but would speak to housekeeping to see if a room was available for me to use to shower in, didn't ask for this but she wanted me too feel as fresh and relaxed as possible. I was taken along to the outside bar area and provided with a lovely cup of tea whilst she made some enquiries. The greeter arrived some 10 minutes later advising a room was ready, a room I could stay in for the remainder of my holiday. She showed me to my room, suitcase was already there.

Lovely sizeable room, mini bar where soft drinks were free and replenished every day and evening. Dressing area, lovely large towels, hairdryer, dressing gown, toilettries again replenished daily, great monsoon effect shower. The room had an ipod dock for favourite sounds. Bed very comfy the evening service was great.
The whole place is geared for relaxation and having a great memorable holiday, nothing is too much trouble. Apples in the room I took to the pool and the staff happily chopped them for me.

The hotel is lovely, stylish and well maintained. Private beach, 3 pools, all warm, wonderful. The long pool being 100m. Towels for the pool supplied. You could go into the changing rooms by the long pool, and use the sauna and steam room. Showering facilities and lockers in this area, along with toilettries, fresh towels, costume spinner to remove excess water, and hairdryers. A little sign said just ask for toilettries and body lotion....All hotel covered by free wifi so you could relax by the pool doing emails.

Restaurants, one seafood on the beach, one by the long pool did yummy asian style tapas, the main restaurant served international food. Amazing desserts. Prices not too bad around the price of a nice restaurant in UK. Between 12 to 20 Rial depending on your selection.
Wine ranged from 17 Rial to crazy prices. Beer around 3.5 Rial.

Breakfast was wonderful a great selection of cooked breakfast, asian, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, and a good cup of tea....

Taxis can be arranged easily by the hotel costs 4 Rial single trip to the Grand Mosque, around 13 Rial single to old town souk. Taxi driver will wait for you for up to an hour to take you back. Very friendly and speak excellent English.

On the whole fantastic relaxing haven to holiday in, brilliant team of staff. I would like to come back.

Ladies if you go to the mosque, dress code is very strict, long trousers or skirt covering ankles, long sleeved top which cannot be the slightest bit see through and must go down to wrists, and head scarf to cover your hair.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bootrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Bootrek,

We are so grateful to receive such a complimentary review.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to go in to the finer details of service that we give as we believe that this makes the whole experience all the more special.

It is our sincere hope that you will decide to join us again for some relaxation time in the future.

With kindest regards

Elizabeth Stratford
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 61 in Muscat
1,537 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,637 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
261 reviews
14 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Address: North Ghubra 32, Way no 3215, Street no 46, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £354 - £945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acre 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away. The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing