We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just returned from our second visit in 6 years and the place is as good as ever. We both planned to rest and relax which is exactly what we were able to do. We stayed in a deluxe room again which was very nice.

Wonderful, polite staff who could not do enough for us and were impressive in that they could always remember our names without hesitation. Grounds and overall condition of the hotel were both second to none. The restaurant is first class for both breakfast as well as dinner...it should be, as the cost of a good evening meal does not come cheap....an average of 80 Omani Rials for two including an aperitif and a single glass of fairly modest wine each. Nonetheless, we were on holiday and the restaurant experience at the end of the day was exactly what the doctor had ordered

Great facilities, especially the pools (stunning Long Pool) and the gym.

Be warned however. If you like a full service, all action hotel the Chedi is not for you. If you desire peace and quiet with an almost 'zen' like experience it most certainly is.

We will return most definitely within a couple of years.

Room Tip: Select at least a deluxe room if this can be afforded
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suttoniansweare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxehotellier, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Phillipweale

We are most grateful for you staying with us again and taking the time to review our hotel.

From the entire team here at The Chedi Muscat we appreciate your comments showing your particular satisfaction with the service we were able to provide.

The colleagues are extremely happy to hear your positive comments about their excellent service.

We are very humbled by your fantastic review and delighted that you have been convinced to write a second Trip-Advisor review. The Chedi Muscat will strive to maintain the high level of standard of service offering good values for money and a well maintained place for you to get pampered.

The team and I hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

We remain at your service.
Sincerely yours

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,507)
There are newer reviews for The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 2,507 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spend our one week honeymoon in The Chedi and found it the ideal place. The director and his staff are absolutely amazing and supportive and anticipated every wish we had. Everybody is treated special at the Chedi and on top you have this great infrastructure with amazing pools (The Long Pool is unique!!!) and the wonderful sea. We definitely come again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Stephan R,

Once again, please allow me to congratulate you both on the event of your marriage ad to thank you for taking the time to give this lovely review.

The entire team and I are very proud to hear that we created such a fantastic experience for you during your honeymoon and that you particularly enjoyed our service and loved our long pool.

We do hope that you may find the time to come back and visit us again in the not too distant future to relive your wonderful honeymoon and we will be sure to look after you as attentively as always.

You are more than welcome to contact me directly for any future reservations.

With warmest regards from sunny Muscat,

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A group of knowledge professionals that made our life easy by recommending perfect food and wine. We're amazed to see a beautiful wine list that even carry an award from Wine Spectator. Overall it was great dinning experience.
Thanks to the management for training the staff who understands the value of your GUESTS.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chateaubalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Chateaubalu,

Thank you very kindly for your review of our hotel.

The entire team here at The Chedi Muscat beams with pride to read that you are so impressed with our award winning wine list and professional staff.

We look forward to the opportunity of having you dine with us again and the possibility of having you stay with us in the future.

It would be my pleasure to assist you with any of your further reservations so please contact me directly for any future reservations.

With kindest regards,

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We decided to go on a 4 day vacation to Muscat for Eid, The Chedi had very high reviews, so we decided that it would be a good choice as we loved the design of the hotel and pools.Once we arrived, we were very happy with our deluxe room and with the modern, simplistic design. However, do not let the looks of the hotel fool you. We felt like we came to an overpriced retirement home. In order to avoid roaming charges,we switched off our phones to flight mode, but unfortunately had to turn them back on a few times since the WiFi signal was bad and was only available in the room.There was no music at the pools, too quiet and the food was overpriced. We ended up being so bored, that we went to Muscat Grand Mall and watched movies all day in the cinema, and for dinner the next day ended up ordering Domino's Pizza. Extremely disappointed! There goes our money down the drain on a horrible vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abunjevac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxehotellier, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear abunjevac

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Chedi Muscat and for taking the time sharing your feedback. Honestly, I am equally disappointed to read your review and to learn we did not meet you expecations. Please forgive us.
Allow me, however, to recomend a visit during our high season, wherein you will experience our resort in a total different atmosphere with all the outles open and numerous of dining options.

Please let me know should you wish to return, I will be delighted to handle your reservation personally.

Warm regards

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

One of the best resorts I've been to, simple and elegant. The service is great, all the staff is helpful and friendly. Even in high temperatures and humidity at the pool area in the month of July/August, the pool and beach staff remain very polite and friendly.

The food is amazing, they have one of the best burgers you will ever taste, and the Spa is breathtaking!

The only issue I can think of is that the A/C in the room is too cold, and I think that this is a minor issue.

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation where you forget about the rest of the world and just pamper yourself, that's the place to go!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rabi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Rabi3

We are most grateful for you taking the time to review our hotel.

From the entire team here at The Chedi Muscat we thank you for choosing to stay with us a second time and really appreciate your comments showing your particular satisfaction with our delicious burger and the luxurious spa.
The team will also be extremely happy to hear your positive comments about their excellent service.

Apologies for the coolness of your room, we'll be sure to address this issue immediately. Thank you for giving us this feedback. It is only with constructive criticism like this that we can make the improvements that are necessary.

We are very humbled by your fantastic review and delighted that you have been convinced to write a second Trip-advisor review. The Chedi Muscat will continue to maintain the high level of standard and service to delight our guests such as yourself.

I and the rest of the team hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our stay was both relaxing and very enjoyable, we loved our stay and will 100% return to this hotel. Staff were friendly, food was terrific and the atmosphere.

The Spa, gym and pool area(s) were of an excellent standard. Top 5***** hotel.

Room Tip: No Tip to be given, rooms were top notch.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Alexander H,

It is wonderful for the team to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Chedi Muscat so much, we are really appreciative of your review, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences, in particular our spa, gym and pool areas.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us in the not too distant future.

With kindest regards from Oman,

Markus Iseli
General Manger
miseli@ghmhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break to the Chedi Muscat. It was relaxing & luxurious in an elegant understand end way. The design of the hotel is very in keeping with Arabiab/Persian influences which we love & also that it is not a high rise complex but nestles into its surroundings. We booked the Deluxe club room with the Club benefits including an airport pick up in a new S series Mercedes.
All the staff are very polite and attentive & the service in all areas is excellent. The 3 pools are all slightly different with plenty of loungers & cabanas. A nice touch is being served iced water regularly. The long pool is quite stunning & lives up to its name.
The spa had one of the most beautiful therapy rooms I have ever used & the treatments were first class.
The quality of the food was excellent although pricey if every meal is eaten at the hotel so we mixed local eateries with a couple of dinners in the hotel. Breakfast is very good so we didn't ever need lunch & then enjoyed the afternoon snacks in the Club lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jane8364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jane8364,

It is such a pleasure to receive positive feedback such as yours. Thank you for making the time to share your experiences about The Chedi Muscat.

I am particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed our selection of three pools, the luxurious spa and the food of our talented chefs.

I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team who will be delighted I'm sure.

We are most grateful that you chose to visit the Chedi Muscat and we hope to welcome you back once again for another relaxing stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for a future reservation.

With kindest regards,

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 59 in Muscat
1,460 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 59 in Muscat
1,555 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 59 in Muscat
196 reviews
14.0 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Address: North Ghubra 32, Way no 3215, Street no 46, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#6 Family Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £230 - £1,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acre 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away. The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing