We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We spent four nights here earlier this month for our Wedding Anniversary and we were in heaven for our whole stay. The property is stylish and looks as good at night lit by huge bowls of fire as it does during the day when the sun sparkles off the while buildings. Neat box tree hedges frame the elegant pools and lawns, and the two, slate-lined swimming pools are warm and inviting. The room is averagely decorated, but our rate included free mini-bar, access to a cocktail lounge with snacks, and free laundry - which after 2 weeks in India and Nepal we really valued!

The staff are superb - they know you by name from the first minute, and they go about their job unobtrusively. The main restaurant is attractive whenther you eat inside or out, and the menu is long and varied, and includes the finest seafood bisque I have had anywhere in the world - and I've tried a few! Breakfast is a cut above your usual hotel buffet, with yogurts served in individual hand-thrown pots, and a wide selection of juices, cold cuts, and hot food.

Our two tiny quibbles were that you could only read the Lounge library books in the lounge library, whe we would have loved to take them to read on a sun-lounger, and the news-junkies in us found the 20inch TV in the bedroom too small to be seen in bed... but hey, as I said, our quibbles are minor.

We slept very well, ate more than we should, saw dolphins, got great tans, and met some lovely people - staff and guests. A super place.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Londona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2007

My wife and I have spent six days at the Chedi, after 3 days of visit
of this extraordinary country. We were a bit anxious after having read some negative reviews. Our experience was excellent.
1. The staff: very friendly and helpful; seemless registration, quite
professional restaurant staff.
2. The planes: no, this is not an aircraft carrier; there are a few planes, but nothing unbearable.
3. The desalinization factory: if you take the pain of going to the end of the beach, you will see it ...
4. The rooms: we had a de luxe room; very sober design, very well kept; only negative comment: not too much room for the clothes. No terrace, but this was our choice.
5. The food: high quality; pappardelle ai funghi, lobster, biriany, angus beef, sushi ... at top level. Also splendid breakfast.
6. The wines: extensive wine list, with good choices at all prices (vintage not mentioned).
7. The pools: the pleague of "reservations" reigns even there; however, no problem : till 11 am, there is plenty of room.
8. The gardens: absolutely beautiful.
9. The beach: this is a mixed sand / pebble beach; but the sea is absolutely delicious.
Conclusion: maybe the Chedi beats the Four Seasons Charm el Cheikh. Moreover, the country is really worth the visit (I advise to rent a 4x4 + guide).

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Paulklib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2007

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Chedi and like others were a bit dubious regarding some of the reviews.

We had a fantastic holiday and would recommend the Chedi if you are looking for a holiday that is pure relaxation. We spent our days lazing by the pool (never had any problem getting a sunbed at any time). The staff are friendly and helpful but inobtrusive which we enjoyed. Yes the food is slightly expensive but well worth it. Breakfasts are amazing and have something for everyone.

Again yes there are planes flying overhead but in no way did it spoil our holiday.

Given the choice of returning to stay in the Palace in Dubai or the Chedi then the Chedi would win hands down. It gave us exactly what we were looking for which was a relaxing break with very good weather and service that is efficient but not overbearing.

Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ScotlandKd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

After reading some of the reports about the Chedi hotel I was a bit apprehensive but on arriving at the hotel they were all forgotten, the staff were very friendly and extremely efficent. The food was excellent and so was the service.
Yes, you do get a few planes flying over but this is only a very minor annoyance and did not effect a wonderful stay at a wonderful hotel.
To all the team at the Chedi, thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RallyDriverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2007

Impressive friendly and helpful. Attractive modern architecture with style. Well situated by the beach on the outskirts of Muscat the capital of the Oman. Excellent service.
Muscat is delightful and the countryside with traditional villages fascinating. Appealing Omani courtesy.
perfect temperature in Northern winter.
.

3  Thank tynwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2007

The Chedi is a first class five star hotel - the ideal place to relax and enjoy some winter sun. Staff (from check-in to poolside) are excellent, design and atmosphere perfect.

Grounds and interior of the hotel are kept immaculately. Food is delicious - but not cheap. You get what you pay for.

We got an upgrade to a Chedi Suite with sea view - having stayed at many great hotels in Asia I can say this is the best room yet. Wonderful layout, a complementary mini-bar including alcohol and a bathroom to die for. We're saving up for the next visit already!

On the downside yes you do see a few planes (this is the capital of Oman - not the Maldives) and yes I've seen better beaches too. However the Chedi is all about relaxing and it delivers on that promise without exception. Do come and enjoy it!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Christo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

What a wonderful hotel in a wonderful country.
The airplane noise is intrusive once an hour or so but still the hotel grounds and food meant we would return again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 63 in Muscat
1,606 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 63 in Muscat
1,704 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 63 in Muscat
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Address: North Ghubra 32, Way no 3215, Street no 46, Muscat 113, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £170 - £1,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acre 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away. The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing