We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendliest Staff!”
Review of Grand Hyatt Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendliest Staff!”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed there on business and leisure with the family, hotel is not cheap (like others as well in this city). Of all other hotels we visited in Muscat, this is definitely the one with the best food, friendliest service, most spacious rooms and excellent live entertainment. They took good care of the kids and never charged for my little ones when we ate from the Buffet (yummy!)....

Can only recommend this place, ask for an upgrade to a room at end of the corridors, view of the sea is fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rider1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    428
    156
    73
    29
See reviews for
243
377
65
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zermatt, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

For a mixed trip, business and leisure the hotels facilities are just perfect!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matterhorn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I think the Hyatt chain does a generally good job but this hotel should not have bare its name.

The hotel is a little tired internally though that is inevitable after a hotel has been open a while. The rooms are a good sized and all have views over the pool/sea. BUT
- the staff are rude and unhelpful almost to a rule (the pool side staff are better, the main restaurant's appalling)
- room service is poor e.g. you have to ask for coffee and tea making facilities, they are happy to bring you a coffee and tea and a kettle but they refuse to replenish supplies of tea and nescafe unless you repeatedly ask
- with the exception of the head concierge most of the concierge staff give you the impression that they are not interested in helping you
- there is no functioning wireless internet in the hotel, it is supposed to be available in the lobby but is broken and they are not sure when it will be mended, none in the rooms or by the pool, in these days of tablets and iphone's this is not acceptable for 5*'s
- the main restaurant 'Cafe Mokka' is terrible, the staff are rude, they have a formal dress policy for the outside terrace (40+ degrees) of trousers and shoes which is not applied to friends and staff eating there, the menu is very limited for the main restaurant in the hotel with no real middle eastern food (one mixed grill plate), the food is expensive (especially the breakfast at gpb25 per head), the staff do not know the menu (three different staff gave us three different versions of the same dish)
- we are travelling with a 3 month old baby, not once has any member of staff offered to help my wife lift the buggy into the boot of a taxi whilst I was putting the car seat into the rear seat
- they have a club which Muscat residents can join and which allows them access to the gym, pool and beach areas, at the weekend the place predictably turns into a zoo of screaming kids and beer drinking adults and the 3 running machines are constantly busy

I would suggest that you avoid this hotel and go for the Chedi, Shangri-La or Al Bustan if you want real five star in Muscat, not much to recommend this and a real disappointment from Hyatt group

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hobsononholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
441 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Everything was excellent with the exception of the pool. The water was far too hot - I presume it is unecessarily heated- and the perpetual odor of coconut oil. There should be some form of regulation insisting that showers be taken prior to entering the pool. Not only is the odor a little overbearing but it also stains the edge of the pool.
The Club Floor and facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter_glazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The pool overlooking the ocean was incredible - great way to spend a day off while on a business trip in Muscat. The breakfast was great and the hotel complex has a lot going on, including a great rooftop restaurant with a bar underneath it just a few steps outside the main hotel doors.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhoulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Great service, staff were extremely helpful. Fantastic pool area, kids loved it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMarghub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a few nights in March- vacation was more sightseeing Muscat and the culture, not a beach trip.

POSITIVES:
beautiful hotel and architecture
room was large and luxurious

CONS:
service was ridiculously slow - my dad had shirts and pants dry cleaned and pressed, they were never returned when they said they would be and we had to call multiple times in order to get them to bring them back. we asked concierge to make dinner reservations, they never followed through. we needed a package shipped through DHL, they sent it to the wrong address. little things add up, in my opinion, when you are paying five star prices and don't get five star service.

food was only mediocre, for the price i was paying i expected much higher quality meals, especially from the italian restaurant, Tuscany.

We had a bad experience with Mark tours, whom the hotel arranged to get us a car/driver through. The driver discriminated against us, blatantly, and I was very offended.

Although naturally beautiful, each was dirty: cigarette butts and trash everywhere. No chairs on the beach either.

Overall, this hotel has five star prices but the quality and service just does not match up. If you are vacationing to the middle east, I would suggest sticking to Dubai. If you are going to Muscat, definitely try a different hotel, unless you can get a really good deal on a room here it is definitely not worth the high price!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spottedstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
11.3 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
3.2 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 52 in Muscat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Muscat

Property: Grand Hyatt Muscat
Address: Shatti Al Qurum | Diplomatic District, Muscat 113, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Muscat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#8 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Muscat is a 5 star hotel situated on a pristine stretch of beach in the capital of the Sultanate of Oman and is a striking illustration of Arabian architecture. Located in the heart of the diplomatic district of the city in Shatti Al Qurm, majestic surroundings and traditional Omani hospitality combine for a truly unforgettable stay. Grand Hyatt Muscat is perfect for both business and leisure pursuits, and is one of the largest and most opulent luxury hotels Muscat has to offer, with 280 stylishly appointed rooms & suites. The property has exceptional recreational facilities and numerous meeting and banquet spaces which cater to a wide range of events and business requirements. Guests can choose from a variety of award winning restaurants, bars and lounges including Grand Hyatt Muscat’s signature restaurant, Tuscany Italian restaurant, the Rooftop Grill House and Muscat’s premier night club Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Muscat
Muscat Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing