We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, no Spa”
Review of Grand Hyatt Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed for just one night in November to see Muscat, used the eConcierge for a Muscat trip and transfer. Both were organized, had however no previous confirmation. Club rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with small balcony w/o furniture. Very strong A/C which kept the room at 21C although switch of on arrival. The hotel facilities are nice, all staff friendly and very helpful. Only downside is the 'Spa' which is more like a street hairdresser with massage room and does not match the hotel standard. Club facilities are nice and the fine dining restaurant "Tuscany" recommendable with great food and attentive service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a "view king" room. We got upgraded to the club room with access to the Grand Club.
The room itself was somewhat disappointing for that price range, there was a view on the inner yard with pool and ocean. Inside the room is pretty standard but felt a bit small and old-ish for the price. It's still a nice room and well serviced (probably just pales in comparison to the Fairmont in Abu Dhabi we just came from).
The lobby and the hotel in general is very interesting in design & decoration.

The pool area is very nice and has a jacuzzi. Access to the beach is very close (there's a warning to avoid taking pictures as the location is close to the embassies area and local authorities don't allow photographs of the area).

The Grand Club was very well serviced, the staff helpful and always something to drink or munch on. There is a nice terrace for breakfast (weather in December allowed it!).
The hotel & location is quite safe. The hotel provides taxis that don't "rip you off" and are very helpful. Taking a public taxi was less "safe", although I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and assume it was all about bargaining the price down...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This property fulfills all the requirements of a 5 star. Well decorated lobby, good number of dining outlets, spacious pool area, private beach, banquet halls, disco & above all spacious & well equipped rooms. The rooms facing the pool area are really nice as you can watch the hustle bustle of the pool side & enjoy the beach view at the same time. If you stroll down the lane parallel to the beach, there is a nice seaside cafe a few metres away from the hotel.

Few things that could have been better : Firstly, the restaurants as i mentioned were good in number but i wish the variety in buffet could have been a bit more. I think in the buffet breakfast indian recipies need to be worked on seriously. Secondly, which 5 star hotel charges for wifi? Atleast the places i have stayed, they dont! I feel it should have been complementary.

Room Tip: Choose a pool facing room on the higher level so you can enjoy the pool view as well as the beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Husain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I only stayed 1 night but I have to say that the hotel left a good impression although I thought that it was pricey. The place is tastefully decorated and the staff are very helpful. Rooms are big, finding them can be an issue as the elevators are well hidden but that be more to do with my directional sense! From a business point of view it proved excellent as a meeting place and definitely sets the right impression. So in summary. Not sure that I would take my wife there for a weekend but for sure I will stay there the next time I'm in Muscat on business.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishexileBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I think this hotel has improved in the last year. It is one of the top three resort Hotels in Muscat, and the only one in the central part of the city.

Facilities are top notch and staff has very low turnover that has helped their year over year improvement.

Unfortunately, this is not the place for a right budget. The service and facilities are top shelf, and the rates are too.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrlgEngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Massive rooms which are well kitted out. You could fit a table tennis table in mine. (Didn't try though) The entrance and ambience is true middle east ghastly. ie. I think we have missed a bit of wall that is not gold or bling bling. Breakfast was pretty awful I must be honest, and there were more flies in the atrium than at a Karratha barbeque. Pool area is nice. Had room service which was punctual at 2.00am. 120 rials corporate rate. Client paying so fine with me, otherwise I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejayfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We spent a long weekend break in Muscat at the Grand Hyatt over a national holiday. The hotel is great for holidaymakers, but it is pricey, both for the room and any food. We stayed with friends and checked in at the appointed hour of 3pm but were told that our room was not ready. After a bit of a song and a dance from the receptionist trying to get us to pay for an upgrade he said that he had found us a room, but unfortunately it was at the opposite end of the hotel to our friends, which was an inconvenience. The room was OK, but no different to other rooms in 4 or 5* hotels. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as it was too expensive, preferring to go out to Starbucks which was on the beach road about 10 minutes drive away (lovely location - recommended). The Grand Hyatt is located in the Embassy district, and is a good drive out of the main centre, so if you want to be in the centre of the action this is not for you. We had a car so could drive, and as it was a dry weekend because of the holiday we did not mind driving. Taxis are reasonable, so you could get to the centre without spending a fortune. We did have a problem with noise in our room, but the hotel manager did look after us in this regard, so we would return, but would request a pool view room next time. Gym is well equipped, and open all reasonable hours. We wanted to eat in one of the on-site restaurants one evening, but it rained, and as the restaurant was outdoors we were unable to do so,so went off site to Trader Vics in the Intercontinental.
Car parking was good and close to our room (we overlooked the car park). Pool are is great and of a high standard.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awsculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,640 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
9.9 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Muscat

Address: Shatti Al Qurum | Diplomatic District, Muscat 113, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#7 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £155 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Muscat is a 5 star hotel situated on a pristine stretch of beach in the capital of the Sultanate of Oman and is a striking illustration of Arabian architecture. Located in the heart of the diplomatic district of the city in Shatti Al Qurm, majestic surroundings and traditional Omani hospitality combine for a truly unforgettable stay. Grand Hyatt Muscat is perfect for both business and leisure pursuits, and is one of the largest and most opulent luxury hotels Muscat has to offer, with 280 stylishly appointed rooms & suites. The property has exceptional recreational facilities and numerous meeting and banquet spaces which cater to a wide range of events and business requirements. Guests can choose from a variety of award winning restaurants, bars and lounges including Grand Hyatt Muscat’s signature restaurant, Tuscany Italian restaurant, the Rooftop Grill House and Muscat’s premier night club Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Muscat
Muscat Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing