We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hyatt Muscat”
Review of Grand Hyatt Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Ranked #12 of 62 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

It has an impressive lobby, the room i stayed in was average. The only thing that bothred me since I don't smoke is that the room had the sent of cigarettes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAZMIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great ambience, great place and great people.

The directions to the parking lot or if a valet is available needs to be spruced up a bit too, I would say. I drove up the driveway and down again not to find a slot or any sight of valet. Had to park downstairs, walk up the stairs to the entrance and then the desk. I suppose people who visit it once know the intricacies thereof would do better.

Room Tip: If you don't like to do much of walking ask them for a room nearby to the entrance. Mine was sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolMan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is in a nice neighbourhood around 25 minute drive from Muscat International Airport (a new airport being opened in a couple of years) and the staff, quite frankly, cannot do enough for you.

Some previous posters have said that the hotel looks tired but I don't think so although you can tell that a lot of traffic passes through it. The hotel is very clean with some really nice public areas and great food in all of the restaurants although I would agree that some of the prices ar definitely too high for some of the drinks e.g. brandy at 12 OR and wine at 9 OR etc.

The pool albeit a bit small is kept sptlessly clean too and the staff are always willing to help and assist at all times.

Well done to you all at the Grand Hyatt!

Room Tip: Try and book a rom with a pool view and let them know the time of your arrival in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights before heading south to Finns, near Sur. It is definitely has the wow when you enter. It has a very grand, ornate entrance. We were a family with 3 sons 21,19 and 16. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite at the top of the hotel. It is worth going the extra for the Club room. Boys loved the pool and the sea. Our middle son enjoyed the Jet Ski which he hired from the Hyatt Boat House. there are a lot of local business men who sit around the very large entrance drinking coffee. The staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us. My husband and 2 sons were diving on the last day and they allowed us a late check out of 16.00. I would recommend you hire a car from the airport as it is very difficult to walk anywhere. If you go to the beach and turn right, walk for about 20 minutes you will come to a small complex of restaurants and a Starbucks. Beware of the law in Oman where under 21's can not drink or even enter a bar for a soft drink. If you want a luxury Hotel in Muscat this is the one, expect to pay London prices, but it's worth it.

Room Tip: Go for Club room with a sea view as they are higher up and having access to the Club room is a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riverside3662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed just one night after travelling to Muscat from Abu Dhabi for a youth's rugby match. This was only my second visit to Muscat and on both ocassions the service has been just wonderful. Efficient as you would expect from the Hyatt, but with a the warmth I have come to expect in Oman that cannot be found anywhere else in the Gulf or, for the most part, further afield. A reason in itself to go to Muscat. Was a little embarrassed after I went to reception to get a charger for my iPhone only to be told there was an iPod docking station in every room. The hotel is a mixture of old and new but is really well done. Fantastic value for money. Will definitely be back. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with young kids book a twin room. Our room was huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KillieCannings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This place was big, and it had a lot to offer. The check in staff was very nice and provided all the instructions necessary in English. The room had everything you need and was very comfortable. The TV channels were very good for English choices and sports. Breakfast was included with my room, and the buffet in the morning had everything you could want. The pool was nice, and a good size, there was even a portion of grass separated by a hedge from the beach. It was a very nice beach, but not for laying out or going swimming.. most locals were playing football/soccer on the beach. While Oman is a pretty progressive country, I would not have felt too comfy laying in the sun on the public beach as a woman.. at the hotel I would have had no problem. The rooftop grill had a great meal and included all you want wine/beer/cocktails, salad/veggie buffet, and a single serving main course. The price was fair for all of that. The Italian restaurant was nice, a little pricey for Italian, but it was pretty good.
Wifi was free in the lobby, and in some room categories. I could not see a great signal in my room, but if I sat at the desk it was enough to get some work done.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Grand Hyatt is by far the best hotel in Muscat (within the city area). It's relatively close to the airport and has all of the elegance you can imagine. The rooms are lovely and very spacious, the bathroom is enormous, the shower terrific and the bed comfortable.

The lobby and grounds are really beautiful and tastefully done. The staff is great and was very helpful in providing insight as to what to do, where to go and how to be culturally sensitive.

I've stayed at several other hotels in the area - the Radisson Blu, the Park Inn, the Crown Plaza - and each has their pros & cons. If the Grand Hyatt is within your budget (often it's too expensive for mine so I don't have a chance to stay here every time), then you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard and pool have a nice sized balcony and chairs to relax in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A36127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.9 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 62 in Muscat
1,673 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 62 in Muscat
298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Muscat

Address: Shatti Al Qurum | Diplomatic District, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#7 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £146 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Muscat is a 5 star hotel situated on a pristine stretch of beach in the capital of the Sultanate of Oman and is a striking illustration of Arabian architecture. Located in the heart of the diplomatic district of the city in Shatti Al Qurm, majestic surroundings and traditional Omani hospitality combine for a truly unforgettable stay. Grand Hyatt Muscat is perfect for both business and leisure pursuits, and is one of the largest and most opulent luxury hotels Muscat has to offer, with 280 stylishly appointed rooms & suites. The property has exceptional recreational facilities and numerous meeting and banquet spaces which cater to a wide range of events and business requirements. Guests can choose from a variety of award winning restaurants, bars and lounges including Grand Hyatt Muscat’s signature restaurant, Tuscany Italian restaurant, the Rooftop Grill House and Muscat’s premier night club Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Muscat
Muscat Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing