We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just About Worthwhile.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Muscat
England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just About Worthwhile.”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Normally stayed at the Intercon or Crowne Plaza, but decided to change.

The check in was very good, I has to wait for my room, but that was my fault.

The room I found impressive, added to which it had free wi-fi, which made it ideal. I would have liked a clock in the room. There were a number of minor problems with the room, but all were quickly fixed and resolved.

The breakfast was very good for the standard of hotel, good selection, and if you required pork sausages/bacon this was cooked specially for you.

The evening meal was less impressive in the Olivos restaurant, enjoyed the soup, but the Lebanese mixed grill was totally overpriced. When you order a mixed grill you expect more meat!!

Room service was not worth the price either. No bread served with the meal, what was ordered came incomplete and it was not presented in an appetising manner.

Used the coffee shop and had to wait for 20 minutes twice for service, the waiter just disappeared.

Overall it was just about worthwhile staying there, but it is so close that if the Intercon simply offered free wi-fi in the room I would return back there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    343
    119
    32
    11
See reviews for
79
121
54
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

In my opinion, Oman is a place where you can not find easyly good average hotels: too expansive and luxury, or too bad in service.
This hotel is something in the middle. With 2 very nice restaurants, one bar, this hotel is perfectly for business travellers. Located in the hearth of the city, from here you can easyly to any place. If you like shisha, some nice coffe shops are very near (just opposite!). Also you can reach walking the best restaurant I have ever tried in Oman: the Turkish House. This is only 300 meters away!
Rooms are clean but not so big and a little old (may be I was not lucky!), but the total experience was great.
Also the fitness center was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiuseppeDeNinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Probably the most memorable 2 things about my stay at the RB was (1) the high quality and selection of food and (2) they closed the pool for refurbishment without advising any guests.
15 minutes from the airport, and checkin was fast and efficient. Shine is an outstanding Guest Relations person and was most helpful during my stay.

RB Catered for foreigners during Ramadan very well with extended breakfast, lunch and evening dinner opening times. Breakfast buffet was large and choice of fresh fruit, fresh juices, pastries and cooked food.
Lunch was a choice of Buffet Salad only or full buffet meal, but the best was adding Soup or Desserts if you chose the lighter version buffet. So you were not restricted to one or the other. Salad buffet does not do the selection any justice. There was amazing Mezze selection through to standard meats, cheeses, vegetables, fruits etc.

I upgraded to Business Class room on arrival which was a good choice, and the room was larger and better equiped. Downside during Ramadan was the Business Class lounge was open but did not serve anything (food or drink) during the day. Breakfast was included in the price and late checkout.

Interent - REMEMBER to take an ethernet cable with you for connection as wireless does not extend to the rooms yet. Wireless is available downstairs in the lobby and restaurants & bars.
Annoyingly, the phones in the rooms use "One Touch" service. So regardless of what you need, just hit the single button on the phone and you order room service, laundry, taxis or anything you need. The button never worked despite telling them on every phone call to the operator or reception.
Okay - no big deal you might think, but as you could not phone the department you require directly (like other hotels) you were bottle-necked on the reception or operator line - which sometimes took a while to get through.

The room phone could do with a good deep clean as there were spillages and stains on the handset and base unit.

The bedding was extremely comfortable and I slept like a log everynight.
Airconditioning was responsive and quiet. A large plasma TV was welcome in the room.

The best in-room accessory was the Dolce coffee machine, but you have to order fresh milk from room service, which I did, and kept the milk jug in the fridge and got it replenished every couple of days.

Large bathroom and clean. However, the shower was not powerful and took a little bit of effort to get the temerature right.

TIP - don't plan to use a taxi between 1830 and 1930 during Ramadan (you won't get one), so if you need to be at the airport or a meeting around that time, get there earlier.
Most dissapointing point about the hotel was they kicked-off poolside renovation on the 1st day of Ramadan, and no warning was given prior to check-in or at check-in. However, you had use of the Radisson sister hotel Park Inn Muscat, and a courtesy bus was available for shuttle transport to/from the hotel. Whilst it was good to access a pool, it was a mojor inconvenience if you wanter a quick hour by the pool or a morning swim,

The RB gymnasium was large and well equipped and rarely busy.

Business Class check-out was 6pm and a great benefit if your flight is in the evening. Also, due to being delayed at meetings in the afternoon, I did not check-out until 7pm and was ok'd by Martin the manager, with a cheery smile and without hesitation.
Would definitely stay at the Radisson BLU again although another $30 p/n would get you a room at the Grand Hyatt or the Shangi La resort, but the RB is small enough to be recognised by staff and much more friendly.

Room Tip: Business Class room if you can afford the extra 20rials p/n
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is a good business standard hotel. Excellent location, friendly staff, sumptuous buffet breakfast, well equipped gym and pleasant pool area.
A few minor gripes - the lack of a clock in the room and you can only control the bathroom light on the main switch - not such a great idea if there's two of you in the room and you switch all the lights on in the night. We upgraded to a business Class room - the lounge is unmanned for much of the day and the coffee machine was inoperable more than it was working during our stay due to lack of water/cleaning, etc.
One other issue - as with many other recent-build hotels the soundproofing to the exterior is excellent with no traffic noise audible. The soundproofing on the interior was less good with lots of banging doors audible at all hours.
All in all a good hotel, would stay again. Keen pricing compared to other properties in the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterKRej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This is my 4th time to this hotel, the reason is simple I know what i am going to get clean rooms pleasant staff and a quiet location. Although not the cheapest 4 star hotel in Muscat and possibly not the easiest to get to by car mainly due to the road systems in Muscat. It is reliable and they try to please. I would certainly be back again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Njsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MCTZH, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear Njsa,

thank you very much for your positive feedback, your comments are very much appreciated and will be shared with the team immediately.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel in the not too distant future and please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything ever that I can assist you with.

Best regards,

Michael Jacobi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I spent one night here on a business trip and the property was more than adequate, although very pricey which is generally the case for all properties in Muscat. I stayed on the business class floor.

Apparently the rooms have been recently renovated, but the furnishings are not luxurious nor does this property compare the other Radisson Blue hotels I have stayed in, including the one at Deira Creek, Dubai. The single biggest improvement I could suggest would be for a suitable working chair at the desk. The one provided was without doubt very uncomfortable and actually didn't even resemble a desk chair. I found that an odd feature for a hotel that positions itself as a business hotel, and particularly for the more expensive business class rooms. Bathrooms are functional, albeit prior generation style with small tubs that include a shower that inevitably allows water to leak onto the floor. One nice touch was the complimentary Nespresso service in the rooms, which provided that necessary high quality early jolt on rising for my first rundown of emails of the day.

Contrary to what some others have mentioned here, I found the service to be outstanding and a highlight of my stay. For example, I had a brief client meeting scheduled at the hotel and was expecting a business floor lounge for that, but I was informed that there was no business lounge as it was under renovation. To compensate, the front desk manager offered me a private meeting room complete with LCD projector, all free of charge. For that I was extremely grateful.

Another positive feature of this and other Radisson Blu hotels is free wifi internet access. I think all of us on business trips consider internet access to be basic essential, and it is truly an annoyance to check in to a hotel and find there is an excessive charge for internet which adds up to a substantial and sometimes unexpected component of room cost. Cheers to Radisson for leading the way on free internet access and this will always be a consideration when I book rooms for a business trip. We can only hope that other hotels will follow Radisson's lead in this, particularly in the middle east which has particularly onerous internet charges and poor speeds.

All in all, a good overnight stay, and the service more than made up for the shortcomings of the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tookay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MCTZH, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear tookay,

thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

I am very happy to inform you that we have completed the new Business Class Lounge, which is now open and available to all our Business Class guests as of the 1st of June.

I am not entirely sure which room you stayed in, but I can assure you that we will review all our desk chairs.
When we completed the renovation at the end of February we were not happy with the desk chairs and the same were sent back for modifcations. The chairs placed in some of the room were therefore temporary chairs and I am confident that you will notice the difference during your next stay with us.

I like to thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff, such feedback is great motivation for all of us and will be shared with the team immediately.

Please feel free to contact me directly at any time if I can be of assistance and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With my best regards,

Michael Jacobi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Solid in all respects. nice breakfast. helpful staff. A number of restaurants in the area. Decent room. Very small bathtub..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeczeczec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MCTZH, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear zeczeczec,

thank you very much for your feedback, which is very much appreciated.

Please feel free to contact me directly at any time if there is anything I can assist you with and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel in Muscat in the near future.

Best regards,

Michael Jacobi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 55 in Muscat
1,414 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 55 in Muscat
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
7.8 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 55 in Muscat
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Address: P.O. Box 939, P.C. 133, Muscat, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Muscat
#14 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Muscat is minutes from city centre and airport The Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat is ideally situated by Shatti Al Qurum, the diplomatic and commercial hub of this capital city. This Muscat hotel, located in the city centre, is just minutes from nearby businesses like Worley Parsons. Guests feel at home in 153 guest room and suites that boast amenities like cable television, Free high-speed Internet access and mini bar. Six delicious restaurants and bars are conveniently located on the hotel premises, including Olivos Restaurant & Terrace, which offers all-day dining, and the Grind Floor, the main floor coffee shop. Visitors can relax at the exclusive Fontana Health Club, featuring a gym, sauna, swimming pool and spa services. Exceptional meeting and event facilities are also available at this hotel in Muscat, Oman. •Unwind at this Muscat hotel, located just 12 minutes from Seeb International Airport. •Feel at home in one of 153 stylish rooms and suites with individual climate control, cable television and premier bath products. •Stop in one of six on-site restaurants and bars, offering a wide selection of cuisines and cocktails. •Upgrade to a Business Class accommodation and take advantage of the well-equipped Business Class lounge. •Break a sweat in Fontana Health Club, which features an out-door pool, sauna and workout equipment. •Host meetings in one of five conference rooms accommodating up to 100 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat Hotel Muscat
Radisson Muscat
Muscat Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing