We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business but not scenic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great for business but not scenic”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Greta business hotel, well located. Great comfortable rooms, good service . The Irish bar in the basement is a great place to relax and enjoy a pint. Price is right breakfast buffet is good. i will go back on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain5154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    342
    119
    32
    11
See reviews for
78
121
53
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Not good if you are intending to holiday here in Oman!
Hotel is surrounded by main roads and not much to look at!
A couple of very good Turkish kebab style eateries on the door step!

Rooms are more or less what you would expect of any business type hotel in set up. Very comfy beds! The decor however os just a little garish for my personal tast with strong purple theam recurring!
Corridors are very dimly lit!

Staff are friendly and more than helpful.

Room service breakfast was rather good with the freshest cut fruit that I have tasted in a long time!

Laundry service failed me with the pressing of a dress shirt I was intending to wear to dinner! Tram lines on one of the sleeves had me go over with the iron myself to achieve an acceptable standard!

All in all, average, bordering on good!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed at The Radisson Blu, Muscat for two nights in April. At check-in I was invited to upgrade to a business room for an extra payment of OR20 per night which I accepted. Unfashionable as it is, I had requested a smoking room but this was not available on arrival and I was told that I would be notified when one became available. This did not happen but the second night I repeated the request and was given the room after a very unpleasant conversation at reception. The person dealing with the request was confrontational, downright rude but clearly stressed and left alone to deal with the problem; there was no other staff to assist although assistance was provided with baggage.
I was alone at Al Tajin restaurant for surf and turf when I was verbally assaulted by a female guest at an adjacent table for objecting to frozen lobster being defrosted under a water tap. The F&B manager, new to the post, was helpful in resolving the problem but not before the said guest continued her tirade into the lobby before being placated by the security staff. Perhaps a rethink on the generous beverage offer should be addressed at Al Tajin.
So far sounds like "a grumpy old man" but both of these incidents should not have happened in a well run establishment and certainly would not have happened at The Radisson Blu on Dubai Creek which is far superior in every respect, including price and which was the reason for my choice in Muscat.
On the plus side, the rooms are comfortable and clean. The room design is a formula applied to hotels with a 3 to 4 star rating but acceptable for functionality and ease of maintenance.
The breakfast buffet is excellent with very attentive staff and O'Malley's is a welcome addition serving good food with a limited menu but great atmosphere. Declan is engaging and it it good to see Irish staff in an Irish pub/restaurant.
Overall, this hotel is acceptable for what it is but falls far short of a 5 star rating considering the alternatives in Muscat which are 5 star. While staff in various area were professional and attentive this lacked consistency overall.
Checkin and ckeckout were friendly and helpful and this is where the hotel experience is often generated.
The Tripadvisor rating goes from "average" to "very good" and perhaps a "good" rating should be included which would apply to some of the "very good" ratings attached.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanieOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is another good example of the Radisson Blu brand. The hotel is located closer to Seeb (where the airport is located) than it is to the 'downtown' (Muttrah, Qurum, and Ruwi). I had a nice business class room, although the bathroom was rather plain. The breakfast buffet was good, but nearly as expansive as at other Radisson Blu hotels. The hotel has a charming pool area (with good service) and nice restaurants. I tried the main restaurant and the Irish pub, where the food was good and reasonably priced. Again I was impressed by the front desk staff who were friendly and welcomed me warmly as a repeat Radisson Blu guest. A warning about the city: Muscat is a challenging city in that everything is far away, needing an expensive taxi ride. And this is an expensive hotel, but Muscat is known for being one of the world's most expensive city hotel wise. That said, I will stay at this hotel on my next visit to Muscat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesArabiaFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarek N, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at the Radisson Blu hotel in Muscat we would like to thank you for your business and for your motivating feedback. Your comments will certainly be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area.

Best regards,

Tarek Nasser
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent three nights at Radison Blu Muscat in October 2011 at the start of a vacation trip through Oman. Due to the location and layout of the hotel it is more suited for business than leisure. That said, it still served our purpose.

Rooms were clean, furniture was modern and felt very new. What I really liked about the hotel was the rooftop bar, which offered plenty of comfortable seating and which always had a light breeze of air going on. What I did not like too much was the layout of the breakfast area, which is located in the middle of the hotel building in an open plan, next to the reception and therefore felt more like an airport- (though without windows) rather than a hotel setting.

Despite that caveat, I still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarek N, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our sister hotel, Park Inn by Radisson, Muscat, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when your travels bring you back to the area.

Best regards,

Tarek Nasser
Front Office Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel is clean and functional. However it next to several main roads and there are few tourist attractions in the area. We have resorted to a hire car to avoid high taxi fares.

Hotel service is below average. Bring your own plastic glasses being as a poolside drink can take a long time to arrive, take your own

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Together with the family, we spent 5 days in Muiscat, Oman at the Radisson Blu Hotel. The hotel is nice, service is excellent and we get a very good value for what we have paid. I would like especially to mention the very good service we always got at the reception : they helped us with Tour, taxi and lots of information about the city and the country.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynberiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarek N, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your business and your motivating comments. It is always a pleasure to assist you and we look forward to welcome you again whenever you travel back to Muscat.

Best Regards,

Tarek Nasser
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#8 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
4.4 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Address: P.O. Box 939, P.C. 133, Muscat, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Muscat
#10 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Muscat is minutes from city centre and airport The Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat is ideally situated by Shatti Al Qurum, the diplomatic and commercial hub of this capital city. This Muscat hotel, located in the city centre, is just minutes from nearby businesses like Worley Parsons. Guests feel at home in 153 guest room and suites that boast amenities like cable television, Free high-speed Internet access and mini bar. Six delicious restaurants and bars are conveniently located on the hotel premises, including Olivos Restaurant & Terrace, which offers all-day dining, and the Grind Floor, the main floor coffee shop. Visitors can relax at the exclusive Fontana Health Club, featuring a gym, sauna, swimming pool and spa services. Exceptional meeting and event facilities are also available at this hotel in Muscat, Oman. •Unwind at this Muscat hotel, located just 12 minutes from Seeb International Airport. •Feel at home in one of 153 stylish rooms and suites with individual climate control, cable television and premier bath products. •Stop in one of six on-site restaurants and bars, offering a wide selection of cuisines and cocktails. •Upgrade to a Business Class accommodation and take advantage of the well-equipped Business Class lounge. •Break a sweat in Fontana Health Club, which features an out-door pool, sauna and workout equipment. •Host meetings in one of five conference rooms accommodating up to 100 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat Hotel Muscat
Radisson Muscat
Muscat Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing