We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Muscat Dunes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Ranked #35 of 62 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel in October and it was great. It is fairly new, clean and the staff were extremely accommodating. Room service made some custom meals for me and the breakfast is very good. Overall, it's a great place to stay, but you do need a car to get around from there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed two nights in a 'family' apartment. Hotel is quite new and everything is in very good condition. The rooms we very nice and spacious and well furnished. Satellite TV and tea/coffee making in each room an separate shower/toilet. Had a small sitting room with TV and also kitchen (no utensils or crockery). Also had a washing machine in separate room. WiFi worked well and was free.

Breakfast was OK if not a huge selection, but kept us and the children happy. Service generally good apart from check-in. Arriving (in the rain) at 4:30 pm, we were told that the room wasn't ready...despite having a prepaid and confirmed reservation, and told that we could check-in from 2. Had to hang about in the lobby for half an hour until we chased the reception staff and they confirmed it was finally ready. Would have been excellent but for this...

Hotel is on the outskirts of Al Khuwair, so if you don't have a car it is away from all the attractions and coast, and not easy to find if you don't know the area - take a map!

Al in all it was very comfortable, clean and great value for money. We enjoyed our 2 nights and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed for one night to try it out. Even we know Muscat very well the hotel is indeed hard to find as the area is very much under development and a lot of construction is going on (hence the sand dunes are not around the hotel, at least we didn't see any....)The hotel is quite new and an effort was made to built a nice apartment hotel, unfortunately already things are falling apart like the handles of the shower sliding door breaking off so the quality of the facility is not too good. Bathrooms are cramped. We found a few hairs in the bathrooms and the bed sheets were not up to specs. Kitchenette is not equipped but there is a washing machine. Staff is very friendly and let us change apartment without delay when we found the door lock broken. Breakfast is ok. We did not use any of the other facilities. Its a pity that Muscat Dunes does not live up to our expectations as travelers to Muscat are looking for an affordable alternative to the over priced 5* hotels. What Muscat needs are a few modern good quality apartment hotels, suitable for longer stays (hence including a washing machine and a well equipped kitchen).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianneQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Great hotel with great service


Beautifully decorated hotel with well furnished and spacious rooms and eye-catching art work everywhere. The staff provided an excellent level of service with attentiveness to ensure our stay was enjoyable.
9.7


The service in this hotel was top-notch. The staff were very concerned that we would have a fabulous stay. The dining room staff catered to our desires and provided delicious meals with excellent service. Muscat Dunes is an excellent choice for your stay in Muscat. If you have a car, the hotel is conveniently located and is a quiet base to explore the city. The staff assisted us in obtaining taxis as we didn't have a car and we utilized our driver to provide a city tour and trip to Nizwa. We stayed here twice, once in a studio and once in a bedroom suite and both were spacious and well appointed. All staff members were committed to making our stay as comfortable as possible. In consultation with the dining room manager we were able to arrange meals to meet our specific needs. Breakfast offered fresh eggs of varying styles along with an abundance of other foods. Maria, the marketing consultant, suggested we enjoy a day at the beach at Oman Dive Center. That was truly a wonderful plan and we swam,relaxed and snorkled most of the day before taking a taxi back to Muscat Dunes Hotel. Very new so may not be know by taxi drivers but not a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOLDENAGETRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I booked in the Muscat Dunes as the photos looked plush online. On one site it was advertised as 4 stars while another advertised 3. For us it was more like 2!
Firstly, it was really difficult to find. We asked Omanis but no one seemed to know, it took us about 3 hours. The apartments are well equipped, but cramped as there was too much furniture. The rooms are clean, beds very comfortable. The pool was tiled wrong so was under construction still. We were TOLD to have breakfast in our rooms as the hotel was empty. Breakfast was alright but minimal. The staff were friendly, kitchen equipped for cooking.
Overall, we felt it was a 2 star & a little expensive.

Room Tip: Fine if you want basic accommodation with cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Unless you take a taxi (make sure you do your research about the Omani meter-less taxi fares beforehand ) if you decide to rent a car and drive to the hotel yourself, arm yourself with patience. It may take you a while to find it. Going by taxi doesn't guarantee you will get there at first attempt either, but you do stand better chances.

When you eventually make it, you will be pleasantly surprised by the location, fairly remote, between huge sand banks and dunes. The interior decor seems relatively new and definitely has benefited of the input of a decent interior designer. The rooms aren't that large, so if possible avoid settling for a studio, particularly if you are a couple or family. Ask for an apartment.

The roof top swimming pool is definitely the highlight of the hotel, very handy for me as I stayed on the top floor.

The staff seems very professional and helpful, even if once pre-paid online they will insist on re-checking that you have paid once more when you leave.
If you are in a hurry to catch a flight at 2:30 am that can be a bit of a nuisance. Particularly when after all the unnecessary hassle, they reception guy tells you "Sorry, but you know that's the rule".

Strangely enough, for a hotel which advertised that they provide stationery services for business guests, like laminating, binding etc, they were completely un-able to print out an email for me, as they explained their computers aren't connected to the internet (plain weird, there is free Wi-fi everywhere) and they don't accept USB memory sticks...

Other than that, I would certainly recommend it, and I might even stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WexTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My second time in Oman and if you look on many booking websites the normal priced hotels are outdated and not to nice, and the nice hotels are overpriced, so after stressing out for one week finding a good hotel i gambled with this one from looking at there pics on facebook.

BEST decision i have made!!!!!

The hotel is STUNNING!!! Big things come in small packages. A small hotel with approx 30 rooms, it is a newly built hotel with beautiful apartment rooms with MODERN decor. We had a 1 bed apartment with 2 bathrooms, washing room, kitchen, living + dining room, flat screen tv's and the MOST COMFY BEDS AND PILLOWS ON EARTH I NEVER WANTED TO WAKE UP.

Hotel has a small gym but has the main things with a nice view a beautiful small swimming pool which was always empty. Breakfast room was beautiful and nice.

Free Parking with stunning views of the Omani mountains and a sand dune in front of the hotel and if you hire a Land Cruiser like we did 1 minute from the hotel you can go sand duneing on a huge range of dunes.

BEST part of the hotel is the STAFF, i would like to say a very big thankyou to all the staff morning and day. The Muscat Dunes owners should be lucky to have great staff like them as they did EVERYTHING possible for the guests.

This is the only hotel i will ever stay-in in Oman. 10 out of 10 - 5 Star

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuscatDunesHotels, Manager at Muscat Dunes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from me and my team at Muscat Dunes Hotel.

We wish you and your family, your friends a very Happy, Healthy and Prosperous 2014.

Thank you for your kind feedback. We value all feedback from our guests and always look for an opportunity to improve and provide better services and a better experience.

We look forward to welcome you on your next visit at Muscat Dunes Hotel!

Ajith Pillai
Manager - Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0 mi away
Samara Hotel
Samara Hotel
#30 of 62 in Muscat
110 reviews
0 mi away
Delmon Hotel Apartments
Delmon Hotel Apartments
#39 of 62 in Muscat
89 reviews
0 mi away
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
#24 of 62 in Muscat
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
0 mi away
Crystal Suites
Crystal Suites
#36 of 62 in Muscat
39 reviews
0 mi away
Safeer Continental Hotel
Safeer Continental Hotel
#38 of 62 in Muscat
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muscat Dunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muscat Dunes Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 2061 Building 533 Al Maha Street Al Khuwair 42, Muscat 112, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 62 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: £37 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muscat Dunes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Muscat, Muscat Dunes Hotel is just a 5-minute drive from Grand Mosque. Guests can make use of the gym, free Wi-Fi for residents and an outdoor swimming pool.The modern accommodation at Muscat Dunes are fitted with tiled floors. Each suite features a spacious seating area with plush sofa and a satellite TV. It offers a minibar, a wardrobe and an electric kettle. A buffet-style breakfast is served daily, while à-la-carte specialties are served in the evening. Coffee and deserts are served at the coffee shop. Room service is available 24 hours. Grand Mall is a 5-minute drive from Muscat Dunes Hotel, while Seeb International Airport is 15 minutes by car. Free private parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Muscat Dunes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing