We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropicana ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #32 of 400 Restaurants in Muscat
Price range: US$104 - US$207
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: One of the Best All Dining Outlet in Muscat. The most Popular being the Seafood Night on Thursday & Pan-Asian Night on Fridays
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Tropicana ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent and Wide verity of food choices to choose from . Calm and clean ambiance along with pool view. Had a good time with friends after a long time!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank asp_smc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Director of Sales at Tropicana, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to dine at Tropicana Restaurant, it was a pleasure having you. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our wide array of food choices along with the clean ambiance. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lack of innovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Quite predictable fare. I am sure some innovation can make the choices more interesting. The use of seasonal fruits and reworking the ice creams to make them more natural tasting would help.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Director of Sales at Tropicana, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry we did not meet your expectation. We at Crowne Plaza Muscat work continuously to provide the best quality food to all our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Adorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'm not that fan of hotel foods due to there open buffet food ! But after trying the Tropicana, i start to change my mind.. there food is one of the unique places where you go there and enjoy most of what they have with a lovely atmosphere and enjoy a new taste every time you giving them a shot !

They have great sea view with nice pool, not to mention there lovely special event at night which run once every week (sea food night, BBQ night, arabian night... etc)

Overall you would love going there and enjoy there food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MohammadShadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Director of Sales at Tropicana, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Many Thanks for taking the time to share your dining experience on Trip advisor. It was a pleasure having you dine with us and I am very happy you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings along with the lovely atmosphere and beautiful views. I am very delighted to know that you dining experience at Tropicana made you change your mind about hotel buffet dinners. Once again thank you and we certainly look forward to you dining with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
268 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Buffet restaurant at the Crowne Plaza hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had breakfast, lunch and dinner several times during our stay at the hotel. The breakfast was vast, varied and had everything for every taste. I enjoyed eating the middle eastern Hummos, Foul and Arabic bread.

They also serve gluten-free bread which was good for those who have allergy.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, but Pradjeesh Kumar, the assistant restaurant manager of Tropicana , needs a special mention, he was at all times very helpful, friendly and courteous and his attention made us feel like special guests. But we saw he communicated the same way with other guests and made them also feel special. He really is a great asset for the restaurant and the hotel.

The Sea Food buffet was great with a varied selection of seafood and wine package. There is outside seating as well as inside. But due to the high temperature, it was very hot to sit outside, especially during the day, at lunch time. There should be ceiling fans to cool down during the day time.

The interior is a bit drab and little bit like a cafeteria and could need a face-lift.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Director of Sales at Tropicana, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
It was a pleasure having you dine with us at Tropicana Restaurant and many thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Trip advisor. We at Crowne Plaza Muscat Strive to provide the best possible services and food to all our guests and we are very happy that you experienced and enjoyed it.

I will be sure to mention your kind comments to the name mentioned and we look forward to having you dine with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply Divine !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had the BBQ buffet here and I was in heaven ! The food is presented beautifully.. there is SO much choice... it is difficult to choose !! The meat is large in portion as is the fish... the salad, the rolls, the other hot buffet... the desserts - I could go on and on.. it was 14 OR each plus tax which worked out at 32 OR for two... please note drinks are NOT included but this didn't bother me in the slightest. This is a MUST visit place to eat !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lawz6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Director of Sales at Tropicana, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
It was a pleasure having you dine with us at Tropicana Restaurant and thank you for sharing your dining experience on Trip advisor. We strive to provide the best quality food and service to all our guess and I am particularly delighted that we were able to give you a heaven like experience. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to dine with us at Tropicana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing