We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel near sports stadium”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majan Continental Hotel
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Muscat
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Business hotel near sports stadium”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights, using it as a base, not conveniently situated for seeing Muscat as it is out of town. The rooms are good, clean and well appointed. The food is not typical of chain hotels as it serves Indian dishes, all meals are buffet style but there is plenty of choice. WiFi is available for free for 1 hour but the reception is patchy and slow. This is mainly a business hotel(not resort) and therefore conservative and appropriate dress is required.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saabaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    51
    43
    17
    6
See reviews for
9
27
14
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel was basic, but clean enough. Better to stay here if you have a car as it's a ways from anything. While the hotel itself is nothing special, the "bar" was going and full of locals on Saturday night and there were dancers. Fun time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel - booked directly by the client. The hotel is functional and clean but nothing to write home about. The staff are noticeable by there absence most of the time and you can't get help with the wifi once you have used up the free hour and paid for extra. The food is all buffet style and there is a reasonable selection if you get in early, but once again it is nothing special. There is a bar which is shut most of the time, but when it is open it is full of locals! The bar is no smoking but there is an enclosed "goldfish bowl" with a smoke extractor in the bar where you can smoke if you wish. The only problem is the locals wedge the door open so the whole bar area fills with smoke!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lordy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel I am sure serves a purpose for those who live in the local proximity as an overnight hotel but for me who came from the UK and stayed for 6 nights I found the hotel and service to be poor.
The 3 restaurants advertised were actually one restaurant that only ever served buffet food, one smoking lounge for the locals and a closed function room. The restaurant taff didn't even speak to me or offer me a drink when I went in, they just pointed at the food and then the tables.
The leisure facilities were very overblown by the hotel website, what was actually there was an exteremely dated weights area with no equipment, a couple of cardio machines and a swimming pool that is constantly filled with the staffs children who dive onto you when you try and swim.
I would give this hotel a miss if you are not from the local area. The locals seemed to enjoy it here but for an English only speaking businessman it was a long and lonely stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redders1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Muscat hotels

United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Went on business trip for three days.everything was arranged by jibby operations manager wonderfull person.rooms basic but good,food good try hammour biryani fantastic.everything else special mention of staff stallone,jimmy,menino,irshad,martin,roy,maqsood,u guys rock what a wonderfull service thanks.will surely visit again.Thanks to jibby fr all the help.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEEMUSCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Arrived st Muscat Airport in the morning on May 11th. No car to meet us as arranged. THIS IS MY ONLY COMPLAINT!!! That was compensated by a huge apology and a room upgrade. From then on everything was perfect. The staff were very professional but friendly,nothing was too much trouble for them. Compliments to the Chef because every meal we had,we thoroughly enjoyed. Yes it was a bit of a walk from the lift to the room, but this was not a problem at all.Would certainly not dream of complaining about it. The room was perfect with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was excellent. We had a room overlooking the pool,so very peaceful. My friend and I had a really good nights sleep all the time we were there. The beds and pillows were really comfortable. Everything was ultra clean throughout the Hotel. Supermarket within Walking distance also The Grand Mosque. ( Well worth a visit ).Although a bit off the beaten track,I would go back to this hotel with no hesitation. The Hotel provided us with complimentry transport back to the airport on May 18th.
Thankyou for a very enjoyable stay Majan Continental. We hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelaghstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

First time at the Majan on business and I decided to stay here because of its' proximity to Seeb Road and the new Expressway. The hotel is tucked away somewhat and you need a car or taxi to get anywhere. On arrival from the airport by taxi I booked a car for delivery at 0830 the following morning to start work. No Show, so eventually I had to Taxi back to the airport to pick up a rental. This reflected badly on the hotel, but there's more to come.

The room was a long walk from the reception area and I had to ask for directions; never an encouraging thing after check-in to any hotel. No problem normally because I am not averse to exercise but I would have liked to know where I was headed in the direction of my room. Every step had me wondering. Eventually an helpful pool attendant (yes, pool attendant because the signage took me to the pool), assisted me. The a/c was off and the room was cozy i.e. very small, and by the same standards the bathroom was tiny. Remember this is supposed to be a 4* hotel. The up-side being that the bed was large and comfortable but I would have preferred a quieter, more controllable a/c and flat screen TV. There was no hotel directory in the room and no laundry bag. The fridge was empty and there were no nibbles as one would expect. There were two small bottles of drinking water, full amrks for that at least.

The restaurant buffet supper spread was OK but certainly not 4* standard. The hotel lobby shop (where I made my abortive rental car request) had no nibbles or chocolate bars etc. but pointless tacky bits. How strange!

I could go on but my recommendation would simply be to give the Majan a miss.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumply0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscat
0.4 mi away
Johny International Hotel
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Savoy Inn Hotel
#38 of 55 in Muscat
6 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Muscat Holiday
Hotel Muscat Holiday
#24 of 55 in Muscat
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Somerset Panorama Muscat
1.6 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#26 of 55 in Muscat
10 reviews
7.0 mi away
Qurum Beach Hotel
Qurum Beach Hotel
#36 of 55 in Muscat
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majan Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majan Continental Hotel

Property: Majan Continental Hotel
Address: Al Burj St | PO Box 311, Muscat 115, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Majan Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Majan Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majan Continental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing