We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majan Continental Hotel
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Clean room, nice pool, comfy bed. OK it's not 5* luxury but it doesn't deserve the poor reviews! The pool was quiet all day - yes some local children came in after 5pm but they were just being children and having fun - yes I got splashed but you get wet in the pool anyway. The reception staff were polite and helpful. We only used the restaurant for breakfast one morning but it was more than adequate. The bar is very male orientated but that is the local culture. I would not hesitate to stay again if looking for a central hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

My daughter stayed there as part of a swimming team.
The location of the hotel suited the purpose - walking distance to the swimming pool.
There are renovations going in the hotel, so some rooms are good and clean, others - terrible!
My daughter had a misfortune to stay in one of the old rooms.
It was stinky (though I would assume the children should be put into non smoking rooms), damp, dirty. The condition of the shower was appalling! It was so bad that even children did not want to have a shower after a long day in the pool. If children notice the dirt - something is terribly wrong with the place. And hotel staff was not even bothered to clean up the room - what's the point, its only children, and the room is going for renovations anyway!
Sad experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the new room and check it before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ira_P4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights, using it as a base, not conveniently situated for seeing Muscat as it is out of town. The rooms are good, clean and well appointed. The food is not typical of chain hotels as it serves Indian dishes, all meals are buffet style but there is plenty of choice. WiFi is available for free for 1 hour but the reception is patchy and slow. This is mainly a business hotel(not resort) and therefore conservative and appropriate dress is required.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0bert870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel was basic, but clean enough. Better to stay here if you have a car as it's a ways from anything. While the hotel itself is nothing special, the "bar" was going and full of locals on Saturday night and there were dancers. Fun time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel - booked directly by the client. The hotel is functional and clean but nothing to write home about. The staff are noticeable by there absence most of the time and you can't get help with the wifi once you have used up the free hour and paid for extra. The food is all buffet style and there is a reasonable selection if you get in early, but once again it is nothing special. There is a bar which is shut most of the time, but when it is open it is full of locals! The bar is no smoking but there is an enclosed "goldfish bowl" with a smoke extractor in the bar where you can smoke if you wish. The only problem is the locals wedge the door open so the whole bar area fills with smoke!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lordy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel I am sure serves a purpose for those who live in the local proximity as an overnight hotel but for me who came from the UK and stayed for 6 nights I found the hotel and service to be poor.
The 3 restaurants advertised were actually one restaurant that only ever served buffet food, one smoking lounge for the locals and a closed function room. The restaurant taff didn't even speak to me or offer me a drink when I went in, they just pointed at the food and then the tables.
The leisure facilities were very overblown by the hotel website, what was actually there was an exteremely dated weights area with no equipment, a couple of cardio machines and a swimming pool that is constantly filled with the staffs children who dive onto you when you try and swim.
I would give this hotel a miss if you are not from the local area. The locals seemed to enjoy it here but for an English only speaking businessman it was a long and lonely stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redders1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Went on business trip for three days.everything was arranged by jibby operations manager wonderfull person.rooms basic but good,food good try hammour biryani fantastic.everything else special mention of staff stallone,jimmy,menino,irshad,martin,roy,maqsood,u guys rock what a wonderfull service thanks.will surely visit again.Thanks to jibby fr all the help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEEMUSCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.1 mi away
Somerset Panorama Muscat
2.2 mi away
Hotel Muscat Holiday
Hotel Muscat Holiday
#25 of 60 in Muscat
193 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Platinum
The Platinum
#29 of 60 in Muscat
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#17 of 60 in Muscat
47 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ramee Guestline Hotel Qurum - Oman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majan Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majan Continental Hotel

Address: Al Burj St | PO Box 311, Muscat 115, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majan Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majan Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majan Continental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing