We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay here under certain circumstances”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Hotel
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Only stay here if you get a better deal then the surrounding locations. I stayed here twice and both times the water was shut off for up to a day. The rooms are very average and seem a bit dated. They are decent size though and the staff is fairly helpful. It seems like a hotel that a parent bought and left to his son to run. Their are always young guys working the counter. We would have left after the second night but the only things close were the Intercontinental across the street at twice to three times the price and the Qurum Beach Resort down the street by the shopping center. Now that the Ramada has opened up about a mile down the road I've stayed there my last two times through there. They are about the same price and the Ramada is much nicer and has internet in the rooms. If you must be in this area and you get the room for much less then the Ramada then this will suffice, otherwise if price is close to equal you'll be much happier at the Ramada and it has a lot better breakfast. As for the little guy who washes cars. They wash cars at many of the parking lots around. They are workers who have skipped out on their visa with other companies and this is how they make money. That is why they always disappear when the police make their rounds. Just sit at 1 of the 3 coffee shops at the shopping center and watch them.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2008

If you want the worst hotel experience ever, this is the place to stay at. We cut our vacation short after just the first night. What did they not screw up? You decide for yourself. First, the did not have the extra cot/bed that we had requested and reconfirmed with them twice. Fine, I said. Then there was no power in the room, which took 45 min for them to send an electrician to fix. Then there was no water (which took 3 hours to fix apparently, so we had no water all night -- with 2 small kids). The water came in the morning, but there was no hot water because the water heater was not working. Through the night the power went out two more times, by which time I had figured out how to work the circuit breakers, and just reset them myself. Oh, and when the water came in the middle of the night, the toilet started leaking. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FarNWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

We got two apartments leading directly out to the pool and breakfeast area. Colors inside are quite dark and a bit disappointing when first arriving.

Clean rooms with AC and clean baths. Good breakfeast. Interesting shisha (waterpipe) salon.

Very good staff!

There is WiFi in the reception and a man who cleans your car for very little money in the parking lot.

It is only a short walk down to the beach where you find fastfood and cafes.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OsloBob1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

Hotel with very strange Omani staff. This hotel does not much international standards, looks like bed & breakfast. Nevertheless, it’s got private beach on the Indian ocean and swimming pool.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank FashionPrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Muscat doesn't have a huge number of hotels and none at the bottom end so we choose this one as a mid range option because with a young family it the right room options for the right price.

The location is not bad and there is a small shopping area near the beach about 5 mins walk away. As in most areas of Muscat you must drive to reach anywhere. The biggest problem is that there is nowhere close to the hotel to buy water, snacks etc.

We were given what was in reality a small apartment with a lounge / dinning room, bedrooms and a kitchen. The place was clean and comfortable if a little basic and in need of a few repairs. The only view was of a wall a couple of feet away but we weren't around much.

We had breakfast included and this was outside around the swimming pool. The selection was quite basic but fine.

Overall this is an acceptable place to stay in a city which is quite under developed tourism wise. The option of going across the road to the intercontinental was tempting but no where near the value of the Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mb5Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

This was the worst hotel Ive ever stayed in. For the price one would expect better service and cleaner facilities. There was'nt even toothpaste provided. The breakfast was served outside and there were flies all around the food. There was also confusion regarding the booking. I had booked for 2 nights double occupancy with king size bed, and got twin beds which I was very uhappy about, but accepted it on the basis that we get moved the next day to a room with a double bed. The reception called our room 3 or 4 times the next day to ask when we are checking out and I had to explain each time that all we wanted was a double bed and we were waiting to hear when we could move. When I personally approached the reception, there was no request mentioned for any room move. We had to just accept that nobody was interested and cared so we ended up just staying in the same room. And to make matters worse, we requested for housekeeping to clean our room and when we got back at night, the room still had'nt been made up. It was really dissapointing as it was my first time in Muscat, and I did'nt get what I expected. I loved Muscat but hated this hotel. I personally would never stay at Beach Hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TashaPasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

Not pricey by local standards. Rooms clean but tired looking. All room doors are on outside balconies so you have privacy and it feels more like a motel. Just what you need as a tourist - staff courteous and quick to help. No complaints. Good English spoken. Would easily go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Playfairest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.7 mi away
Qurum Beach Hotel
Qurum Beach Hotel
#40 of 63 in Muscat
75 reviews
6.3 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#14 of 63 in Muscat
137 reviews
4.2 mi away
Somerset Panorama Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Eastin Residences Muscat
8.2 mi away
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
#27 of 63 in Muscat
81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramee Guestline Hotel Qurum - Oman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Muscat Way 2818 Shatti Al Qurrum | PO Box 86, Muscat 113, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: £51 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing