We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$684
US$631
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$83
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat(Muscat)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,159)
Filter reviews
2,159 results
Traveller rating
1,495
447
141
47
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,495
447
141
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach pavilionchinese restaurantchina moodlagoon roomsix sensespresidential suiteinfinity poolmountain viewmain poolbeautiful hotelpalm treesdirect accesstennis courtsmain restaurantcool boxseafoodnespresso machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,462 - 1,467 of 2,159 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This property is well worth seeing and definitely worth staying if you can afford it (in my case, I used Marriott Reward points for 5 nights). The buffet breakfaast is excellent with great variety of food, but expensive (around $30 USD). The pools, beach, sports facilities and garden property are top notch and relaxing. Staff try to be accomodating. Like any place serving the rich, they seem to gouge wherever possible, like wanting to charge $30 USD for a B&W copy of USA Today, and charging extra for espresso at breakfast buffet even though you already pay through the nose. All in all, a great experience and worth visiting, but prepared to pay over and over ... at least drinks in the room fridge (water, juices, pop) are complimentary and refreshed, plus water at the pool & beach in a cooler/eskie (a nice touch). Be sure to drop in at least to experience the lobby archetecture. The Beach Pavilion restaurant is also a dreamy experience (and pricey of course). Very secluded location but good road access to get anywhere you desire. They are building a massive new set of parliament buildings in the area behind the hotel, to be completed by year end 2012 or thereabouts, so a lot of road construction mess outside the property. Al Bustan Palace is also in the middle of building a brand new spa facility on the south-east end of property which will be a nice addition when open.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for ocean view (or a lagoon room with private patio right into a pool, but you will pay dearly for that). Other than lagoon suites, recommend rooms on level 6 and higher (with level 4 being the lobby level).
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed a the Al Bustan palace for a conference. It is a good hotel but its main charateristic is architecture. It's a huge palace like a castle. It has nice pools and lagoons and if you takethe pool side rom you can enter into the water directly from your room. It's quite expensive and i believe you can find other hotels that maybe are not like a castle but they have everyhing you need. If you don't ca about the price is definitively a place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The setting is fabulous, but standards seem to have dropped under the management of RC. The terrific staff from our previous visit two years ago have mostly gone and their replacements are generally not as attentive, and many struggle with even basic English. Attention to detail in all aspects seems to have fallen down. Lots of suits walking round but not so many actual staff achieving customer wellbeing. Maybe some staff training would be in order.

Room Tip: higher floors for better views
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbkPaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our 3rd visit to Muscat, but our first trip to the AL Bustan Palace, we were not disappointed. This is truly a five star hotel, set in beautiful grounds with a wonderful mountain backdrop. The hotel also has the benefit of a 1km long beach which is perfect for walking off those holiday excesses.
We opted for a deluxe sea view room and were on the 5th floor, this gave fantastic views of the beach, the gardens and the mountains. All of the hotel staff were polite and attentive, the room service team were especially helpful.

The breakfast selection is amazing, with every conceivable type and combination of breakfast available. We ate at the hotel every night and the food was excellent, wine however was on the expensive side.

There is a well equipped gym which we used twice, and the swimming pool is clean and was a lovely temperature.

We will definitely return, and if your looking to spoil yourself, try Oman and try The Al Bustan Palace, we can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try the deluxe rooms on the upper floors which have been recently refurbished.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We booked a couple of nights at Al Bustan knowing that as it has only recently been taken over by Ritz Carlton then it may not yet be up to R-C standards, but still with quite high expectations. Our room was not ready for check-in until almost 2.30pm, although it was known that we were having lunch in the hotel since 12pm and we were told that the room would be ready by 1pm.

The room was lovely, and the furnishings very nice, but things like the switches, and toilet flush plate, etc, being crooked, was rather annoying - as well as the toilet roll holder constantly falling off the wall as a small screw was missing - and these were also problems in the public area toilets.

The service in Al Khiran terrace restaurant was very poor. Both times for breakfast, and once in the evening, there was no-one to greet us, and we had to find our own table. The egg section at breakfast was a little chaotic, but otherwise the standard of food provided was good. At breakfast, despite specifically requesting a pot of strong tea, and a jug of cold milk, I was provided with a pot of weak tea, and hot milk; which seemed to typify the lack of attention overall in the restaurant. Also, at the dinner buffet, the standard of food was good, but the serving spoons in front of the items were not changed during the whole time we were in the restaurant, and were clogged with food, and somewhat unappetising-looking. One couple we met in the hotel, who were there for 2 weeks, said that the evening buffet reminded them of a “canteen”, and they were right. Despite the food quality, the lack of attention to detail, and to overall service, really let the hotel down.

My final “negative” is regarding the room internet charges. Seeing as most budget hotels worldwide are able to provide a wi-fi connection for free, why do 5-star hotels think it fair to levy a charge on top of the high room prices? Surely in this day and age internet connectivity should be regarded as a standard requirement?

On the plus side, the room and the views are stunning. The pool, garden, and beach area superb, and the service in this area excellent. The tennis courts and fitness area were great, and the staff there also superb. The reception staff, and concierge, were also excellent and very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher sea-view rooms definitely offer the most outstanding views!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews