We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highs and Lows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Spent a night with my family, in a lagoon room, and while this is the most prestigious in Oman, I was terribly disappointed with certain aspects of it.
Reservation and check-in was smooth, and we were personally welcomed by the duty manager. This was a nice touch.
The room was spacious and well-laid out, it was rather tatty and frayed around the edges. Stains on the carpet, minor scratches on the walls and wooden furniture, Nespresso machine not well-maintained (kept on dumping old coffee granules despite several flushes). What shocked us was the bathroom, particularly the stand-up shower. The tiles, grouting, and rubber strip on the glass door were mouldy and had soap scum. Some of the tiles were also cracked.
At night, the corridors reeked of cigar smoke.
On the plus side, the grounds are a delight, and the private beach was superb. The lagoon pool was fantastic. The main pool, while very nice, was also showing its age: algae and cracks on some of the walls. This pool and the kids pool also tended to have too much leaves, which weren't removed by the staff.
Staff were friendly. We did complain about the room upon checking out, and our breakfast charges were removed. We expected something more significant, but didn't want to make a big fuss.
This is a very nice hotel, no doubt, but based on our experience, it is perhaps time for a renovation. After staying in Ritz Carlton properties in the region, this hotel falls short of the expectations.

Room Tip: Sea view is recommended. The lagoon rooms face the sea, but you can't see much of the sea (excu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sybaritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe sea view room which was comfortable and well appointed. The hotel staff are all very nice and nothing is too much for them. The hotel itself is opulent with 3 restaurants to choose from, 1 french, 1 chinese and 1 buffet style. Food is first rate but you will pay heavily for it. Drinks are also very expensive. Chinese meal for 2 was £150 and glass of wine was £10. You have to be prepared to pay these prices at a place like this. Grounds are kept immaculate and lead down to the private beach which is a sweeping bay and kept clean by staff. Several pools are available but the infinity pool seems to be the favourite and is amazing. We stayed in Oman as a contrast to Dubai (which we have visited several times) the hotel was on a par with the Jumeirah Beach which we love but if you are hoping to go out and experience the delights that Oman offers, there aren't many locally and when it gets too hot June onwards , most activities stop. ie boat trips, bus tours . Also be prepared for the heat in these months .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed for 7 nights excellent hotel but very very expensive with a service charge of 17%, had a manicure & peicure which was €100 did,nt ask the price before hand because I really did'nt think it would be so expensive it really was not worth that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I have now stayed at the Al Bustan Palace 3 times and loved it every time. From the moment you walk in to the huge foyer with the smell of oud and fankincense to the time you get your feet into the pool out front, you are in for a great experience. Definitely worth a visit if you are ever in Muscat - it certainly exceeded my expectations (both Muscat and the hotel!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed one night on business. Asked for two twin beds (sharing with a mate) but were given a room with two singles attached to make a king... We had to separate these ourselves, despite the fact that I was on crutches and asked for help from the staff and ended up with a swollen and painful foot.

Very nice grounds, half decent buffet breakfast. Beer is VERY expensive (with tax about 5.5 riyals or roughly $15 a pint in the buffet restaurant). The bar is not a bar, but a side lounge off of the side of a swanky restaurant and was not at all inviting for a relaxing atmosphere... You need to be dressed up for that place.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank Pomacentrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

As a gold member first I was offered special quality Dates at the reception and my room upgraded to suite.
The room well decorated and equipped. The mini fridge staffed with complementary drinks and water. Also fruit plate sent to the room.
The hotel is well managed with exceptionally friendly staff. Local staff needs more training on customer service but they were very friendly too.
Once you enter the pools area you don't feel like going out.
It was a real excellent experience.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wali65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent the last 4 days of our Oman trip in the Al Bustan. Initially the hotel and its sheer size almost seemed a bit overwhelming and impersonal - but it really grew on us during our stay,

The service on check in was very good by an efficient German receptionist preceeded by a warm Omani welcome at the door.
The rooms are well sized albeit it quite traditional in style and bordering on "old world" with floral wallpaper, matching fabrics and cherry wood interiors.
We chose a lagoon view room - located on the ground floor level but with a private access to the adjacent large pool. Very enjoyable to slip out of your room into a pool right next to your veranda.

The lunch & dinner buffet must be mentioned - the sheer choice of dishes and impeccable presentation were world class.

The beach is lovey - a nice long stretch of sand in a dramatic setting close to the mountains. Great beach service too.
The pool is equally nice - largely populated by middle aged couples from around the world. Clearly a popular choice for (package?) beach holidays for many.

What we enjoyed most was the location close to Muttrah and the coastal scenery and magnificence of this scenic part of Musact. Having stayed a the Chedi at the beginning of our trip, we might have missed the beauty of this area if we hadn't stayed at the Al Bustan.

If you are after a boutique style holiday with a sense of intimacy it is definitely not the place to stay. If you are keen have the comforts of home with a hint of predictability and very good service - then the hotel is for you. We loved the fact that we mixed it all and stayed elsewhere too.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms are great if you don't mind not having a view from above. The lagoon pool make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weddingexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 62 in Muscat
1,579 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 62 in Muscat
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 62 in Muscat
295 reviews
10.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
11.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel

Address: PO Box 1998, Muscat 114, Oman (Formerly Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Muscat
#1 Family Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: £266 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a dramatic backdrop of rugged mountains, Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel, lies solitary amid an emerald green oasis with 200 acres of lush beachfront landscaping. We are a top choice among hotels in Muscat, Oman, offering accommodations and public spaces that overlook the glittering azure waters of the Gulf of Oman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Muttrah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing