We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Penistone Uk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Amazing place and service - beautiful grounds - the pool area is stunning. Loved the personal coolers on the beach and the free non-alcoholic mini bar in the rooms.
The foyer is so lovely it does take your breath away as you walk in. The beds were the comfiest I have ever slept in. Food is a tad on the expensive side.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,484
    444
    141
    47
    29
See reviews for
515
984
94
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is a classic Muscat building; palatial, grand entrance and fantastic atrium. Lots of Arabian character but in a large and modern hotel with Ritz Carlton service standards.

Pros:
- Service is very good by any Omani standards. Staff are well trained and aim to please.
- Good breakfast buffet with views of infinity pool and ocean.
- Several restaurant outlets to choose from.
- Good for large events / conferences with efficient staff.
- Free wireless.

Cons:
- Layout of hotel is very odd. Lots of ascending/descending areas, marble passageways and difficult to navigate.
- I was upgraded to an Ocean View Room which had absolutely no view of the Ocean that I could see... Not a problem for a complementary upgrade but would have asked to change rooms if I had paid to see some water!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a real view of the Ocean if you pay for an Ocean View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I booked this hotel for the weekend for my husbands birthday and a final get away before we have our first baby. The hotel was great and the staff were excellent, especially Frederico on Reception who arranged a birthday cake and was so polite and happy to help. I had a great nights sleep as the beds were amazing and being 8 1/2 months pregnant that really is saying something. I couldn't fault the whole weekend and I would definitely recommend it as a hotel you should seriously consider when visiting Muscat.

Room Tip: If you can stump up for a junior suite it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewieoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just back from a 4 night break 11-15 June. After arriving at 0100, the hotel staff were still very friendly at check in and made the process smooth and easy. The reception area is a refreshing open space, elegantly decked out in a mixture of Arabic and western décor.

We had a mountain view room just over the reception which despite the location, was still very quiet. Room itself was fine, always clean, always topped up with water and the added bonus of an Nespresso machine to wake you up every morning!

Breakfast was a good selection of fruit, cold and hot meat, omelet, breads, cheese, cereals, usual buffet breakfast items but to a very good standard.

Beach and pool area very fantastic, infinity pool is as good as the pictures suggests. Sun loungers were always free due to it being off season but can see it being busy in the main season. Cool box with water provided at your lounger.

The massage spa may only have 1 person on at a time, but if you book a day in advance then you can get a massage for 2 at the same time (if that’s what your after

Only slight issue was paid for a late check-out but on returning from the pool on the last day at 1500, my card wouldn’t allow me access to the lifts or room. Wasn’t in the system but a quick visit to reception and it was all sorted.

All in all, great stay for 4 nights to get re-charge the batteries!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Al-Bustan Palace sets the benchmark for ideal service. Never before have I experienced such attentive, caring service from EVERY member of staff and this absolutely ensured our trip left a fabulous memory.

We arrived in the early hours of the morning, and upon arrival we were instantly greeted at the door with the warmest welcome. As we checked in, we were offered the most delicious orange-peel-stuffed-dates and a refreshing face/hand towel (Arabic coffee is offered if checking in during the daytime and understandably not at night). The lobby itself is incredibly opulent and pristine with an extraordinarily high ceiling, magnificent chandelier, Arabic aroma and classical music.

We were offered the chance to upgrade our room for OR50/night to one that opened directly into a lagoon pool but as we were only travelling for a mini-break we did not take this option. Instead, we probably had one of the more basic rooms of the hotel, facing the mountains and overlooking cars approaching the entrance. It was not ideal, but we certainly did not feel disappointed - after all, the grounds are so amazing, that we did not plan to spend much time in our room. There was a spacious semi-private balcony available, the room inside was very spacious with a fabulous bathroom, bath products and Nespresso machine for our coffee (all teas were also available). The other couple we were travelling with had a sea-view room and this was nice for sitting & chatting on the balcony in the evening. Cleanliness was ok and acceptable... watermarks on the drinking glasses and re-used coasters, but otherwise spotless.

Breakfast was very good indeed - Coconut water is served directly from a coconut & straw which was a great novelty, cooked breakfast is available with a choice of eggs & omelettes (pork is also available for those not keen on non-pork substitutes). The pastries were very nice, as were the mueslis and fruit selection. I was also told that the cooked meats and cheese were good.

Then there are the resort grounds..... Wow! The main pool alone made our trip worthwhile, magnificently sized, where you can swim amongst palm trees - it was fabulous! I am incredibly surprised to read the previous comment of floating leaves in the pool and cracked walls, as this completely contradicts our experience of the pool. Then there are little shallow pools scattered around the grounds for dipping the feet in and reading a book. Sunbeds are available overlooking the beach, the pool, or on the huge lawn (where there are also giant hammocks). The place is massive and the whole grounds are immaculately maintained. We enjoyed strolling along the exceptionally clean beach, looking at washed up coral and spotting tiny crabs running in and out of the sea. Travelling in early June, temperatures hovered around 37-41C, and the humidity was noticeable (sunglasses steaming up as you walked outside). Because of this, the resort was quite empty due to being considered "low-season", but we never felt overwhelmed by the heat.

We received fantastic service at the outdoor bar on the lawn (although our bill quickly added up quite heavily!) learning a bit of Arabic with the very friendly bar-staff. We also really enjoyed our day-trip to the Wadis and Desert (Excursion#4 or 6? OR55 each for the day) and our tour-guide's welcoming personality made the trip fantastic.

The health suite also has a very impressive range of equipment, a few classes available (including kayak & snorkelling), outdoor tennis courts (when it's not so hot!), and other activities like a giant chessboard. Once again, the staff here were incredibly welcoming. To top everything off, the massages we enjoyed from the Massage suite were very good value for money (OR25 for 1hour Thai/Chinese/Balinese/Swedish). The four of us all left the treatment room looking super-chilled and ready for a nap - best massage ever. One minor disappointment was that when we enquired before our trip about the beauty treatments available, I was surprised to be told that only massages are available at the hotel... but as it turns out, there is actually a hair salon on the ground floor which also offers manicures and facials.

All in all a very memorable and unique experience was enjoyed by all of us... Very highly recommended! (Restaurant reviews from our stay can be found at China Mood (located in the hotel), and Turkish House)

Room Tip: Sea views are possibly the best value for money and very pleasant if you wish to spend time on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoleMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Spent a night with my family, in a lagoon room, and while this is the most prestigious in Oman, I was terribly disappointed with certain aspects of it.
Reservation and check-in was smooth, and we were personally welcomed by the duty manager. This was a nice touch.
The room was spacious and well-laid out, it was rather tatty and frayed around the edges. Stains on the carpet, minor scratches on the walls and wooden furniture, Nespresso machine not well-maintained (kept on dumping old coffee granules despite several flushes). What shocked us was the bathroom, particularly the stand-up shower. The tiles, grouting, and rubber strip on the glass door were mouldy and had soap scum. Some of the tiles were also cracked.
At night, the corridors reeked of cigar smoke.
On the plus side, the grounds are a delight, and the private beach was superb. The lagoon pool was fantastic. The main pool, while very nice, was also showing its age: algae and cracks on some of the walls. This pool and the kids pool also tended to have too much leaves, which weren't removed by the staff.
Staff were friendly. We did complain about the room upon checking out, and our breakfast charges were removed. We expected something more significant, but didn't want to make a big fuss.
This is a very nice hotel, no doubt, but based on our experience, it is perhaps time for a renovation. After staying in Ritz Carlton properties in the region, this hotel falls short of the expectations.

Room Tip: Sea view is recommended. The lagoon rooms face the sea, but you can't see much of the sea (excu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybaritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe sea view room which was comfortable and well appointed. The hotel staff are all very nice and nothing is too much for them. The hotel itself is opulent with 3 restaurants to choose from, 1 french, 1 chinese and 1 buffet style. Food is first rate but you will pay heavily for it. Drinks are also very expensive. Chinese meal for 2 was £150 and glass of wine was £10. You have to be prepared to pay these prices at a place like this. Grounds are kept immaculate and lead down to the private beach which is a sweeping bay and kept clean by staff. Several pools are available but the infinity pool seems to be the favourite and is amazing. We stayed in Oman as a contrast to Dubai (which we have visited several times) the hotel was on a par with the Jumeirah Beach which we love but if you are hoping to go out and experience the delights that Oman offers, there aren't many locally and when it gets too hot June onwards , most activities stop. ie boat trips, bus tours . Also be prepared for the heat in these months .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14.0 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 56 in Muscat
1,432 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 56 in Muscat
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 56 in Muscat
179 reviews
10.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
20.6 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel

Property: Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Address: PO Box 1998, Muscat 114, Oman (Formerly Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Muscat
#1 Business Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a dramatic backdrop of rugged mountains, Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel, lies solitary amid an emerald green oasis with 200 acres of lush beachfront landscaping. We are a top choice among hotels in Muscat, Oman, offering accommodations and public spaces that overlook the glittering azure waters of the Gulf of Oman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Muttrah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing