We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Pavilion Restaurant - Nothing short of luxury dining”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beach Pavilion Restaurant - Nothing short of luxury dining”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have been here twice with my husband and let me tell you, this restaurant lacks absolutely nothing short of luxury dining with the best wild sea-view in muscat and the food is simply amazing ( I have been here for lunch both the times). It is indeed expensive, but come on! Ritz-Carlton, what less can you expect! I haven't stayed at the hotel but I'm sure it's worth every penny.

I can so vividly remember each dish that I had devoured at this fine place. The wine is also amazing. It's mine and my husband's favorite spot to enjoy a fine dine experience. I would so recommend it to couples who would love a getaway lunch to enjoy God's best natural beauty and sip your wine and have the blissful tingling of the food in your palate!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank She M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,475
    444
    141
    47
    29
See reviews for
513
984
94
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a beautiful hotel! Our experience as a family staying at the Al Bustan was simply wonderful. The hotel itself and the rooms are stunning, it has a beautiful outlook to the Gulf plus an amazing pool with great service. If I were to have only one negative comment this hotel didn't seem to attract 'family' clientele, at the time we were there, there appeared to be many older couples, we seemed to be be out of the norm to degree. The Al Bustan is a stunning hotel don't get me wrong, it's very beautiful and the hotel staff were amazing, if you were perhaps thinking of going to this hotel expecting your 'nippers' were to integrate with other kids, I'd suggest that this may not happen. On the the other side the child events and services were great, our guys had a blast painting and having fun with the Al Bustan creche staff. The Al Bustan is a magical place, certainly the place to stay in Muscat!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view which would be the way to go, facing away from the sea would be a little bland...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I chose the Al Bustan to propose to my long-time girlfriend (who grew up in Oman). Best decision I've made in a long time! Every element of our trip was perfect & 5-star--food consistently amazing (beachside seafood restaurant a must), service unmatched, room incredible (we had direct lagoon pool access), weather flawless...I could go on and on. An experience we will never forget.

As a first time visitor to the Middle-East in general I felt like we were staying in a Middle Eastern palace...you get this sense once you step into the lobby--the pictures on the website do not do it justice. It felt old school luxurious and authentically Omani. I very much doubt there is a hotel like it anywhere else in the world.

Looking forward to going back there with the new spa facility being built. Don't think I could contemplate staying anywhere else in Oman.

Room Tip: Get a lagoon room, if you like hanging out in the pool...nothing better than rolling straight out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRNTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived early after an overnight flight and were able to have access to our room at 9.30am which was much appreciated. We had a mountain facing room which was very spacious and comfortable, lots of storage, nice toiletries, free soft drinks/tea and coffee. Although a bit on the expensive side evening meals were of a good quality, room service was a cheap alternative for a night. Breakfast had everything for everybody and again was good quality. The service we received was good at all times.
The pool staff were friendly and helpful and there was plenty of space in the grounds to find a quiet spot.
All in all a good quality hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedtravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Honestly , i did not stay there, but we had a meeting there with lunch buffet . The hotel was big, quite, and looks fancy. The entrance has a very nice view with trees and you will see rocks mountains. The lobby was big as well as the restaurant which is looking at the pool which is looking at the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms in public areas were clean. There was wifi and praying room.
I am looking forward to stay there with my family for couple of nights to enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tamimalmeaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

First the niggles....we were traveling in Oman and were told we should book a table at the restauarnt on the beach for dinner and ask for a table on the beach.....despite twice e mailing the people who had made our original reservation we never heard back and when we got here all the tables were booked. So I think the reservation manager should ensure all e mails are addresssed before the staff leave at the end of the day. Disappointing. And lying near the pool the first day we had 4 young kids in the pool screaming and shouting, surely there should be a pool for young and noisy children?

Check in was great, we had a german lady Simone(?) who could not have been more gracious, and others on reception were also most helpful. Gorgeous room on 6th floor overlooking the water...breakfast great...great manager, Pedrovic(?) and on the beach restaurant at night excellent manager. Ritz Carlton obviously train their people to be very re active to their guests' needs. The concierge was non existent so we used the staff at reception for our needs and they were great. RC should get a proper concierge. Staff on the beach and around pool were great
We had a great stay and would highly recommend a visit...not cheap but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: we had sixth floor overlooking the sea which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I have just come back from 7 nights at this hotel and would struggle to find a bad word to say about it. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service was faultless. We had booked half board and were booked into a sea facing room at the very end of one of the wings. A previous reviewer complained about the long walk!! It took all of five minutes for my wife and I to get from our room to almost anywhere in the hotel or on the beach and we are both in our 60s!
The food was glorious; breakfasts were a treat to enjoy each day with fresh fruits including whole coconuts if you so desired. Dinner could be taken in one of three restaurants. We loved the Beach Restaurant (fresh lobster to die for) and the buffet restaurant. We also tried the Chinese restaurant and, unlike a previous reviewer, had no trouble either understanding the menu or the waiters/waitresses.
The beach is quite stunning with ample quantities of loungers and thick towels. The beach staff could not do enough to assist. The reviewer who complained about the long walk also complained about waiting 5 minutes for sun loungers to be made available. I can only assume their watch was running very fast! But if they booked their holiday through an estate agent (go and read the review 11 June 2012), what do they expect?
Finally, a lot of comment has been mad about the cost of the wi-fi. The hotel offers two types of wi-fi. Superfast which you can pay for or standard which is free. My wife and I used the free wi-fi in all locations including right on the beach. The service was fine everywhere we used it with no drop off of signal and more than acceptable speed. Don't bother with the paid version unless you want to download or stream movies!
All in all a fabulous hotel in a wonderful setting with excellent service and mouth watering food.

Room Tip: If you can, book a sea view room. Alternatively, try and get an upgrade to one when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14.0 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#9 of 52 in Muscat
1,395 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 52 in Muscat
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 52 in Muscat
154 reviews
8.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel

Property: Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Address: PO Box 1998, Muscat 114, Oman (Formerly Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#1 Business Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a dramatic backdrop of rugged mountains, Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel, lies solitary amid an emerald green oasis with 200 acres of lush beachfront landscaping. We are a top choice among hotels in Muscat, Oman, offering accommodations and public spaces that overlook the glittering azure waters of the Gulf of Oman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Destinology, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Muttrah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing