We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very luxurious!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very luxurious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

We celebrated New Year's Eve at this hotel and had a good time. We had a slight problem on arrival as our room was not ready, despite us checking in at the correct time, however this was rectified after we complained. The room was beautiful; well equipped, well maintained and well stocked, including a free non alcohol mini bar and snacks. The hotel had plenty of activities to do both indoors and outdoors and there was a great choice of eating places although some of them were very pricey. We ate at the French style restaurant, Vue. However the quality was very good. Because it was new year, we were also invited down to the stunning lobby for a glass of champagne and canapes before dinner. The only downside was the breakfast. The system for getting tables at breakfast was chaotic - they did not make sure there was a table free before escorting guests to the tables, so you had to stand there getting in the way while a table was cleared for you. We also had to ask 3 times for tea and coffee, then a further time for a cup to drink it from! But this is really the only critisism we had. The selection of food for breakfast was probably the best I've ever seen. I would definitely like to go back to this hotel but I think I'd better start saving up now!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    439
    139
    47
    27
See reviews for
499
973
94
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

The hotel has a wonderful location. The rooms are comfortable and the bed is probably the best I have come across in a hotel. The room cost includes a minibar with soft drinks which are provided free of charge. The room charges are however high.

We stayed in one of the rooms that retained its original design - these are on the first three floors, with the lobby on the fourth, and the redeveloped rooms on the fifth floor up. I have heard adverse comments that the relatively newly updated rooms are not terribly exciting.

There are four on-site restaurants (as well as a beach service facility). They are expensive. Alcohol is relatively expensive. Taxes and service are not included in the price quoted in the menu or the advertisements for the facilities. The service charge is listed separately from the gratuity line on the bill.

We used the Chinese restaurant (OK), the buffet restaurant (variable) and the beach pavillion (limited offerings for lunch) - the last of these is a replacement for the original facility with the advantage of airconditioning and suitability for use in the summer (often 45°+) at the expense of losing the charm of the older unit.

The service is excellent.

The internet access is expensive and was subject to problems during my stay - their system did not recognise that payment had already been made when logging in the next day. It took three attempts to get this sorted out but it worked in the end.

We stayed over Christmas and there were some small (surprise) 'presents' left in the room. Christmas Eve dinner was rather special (and rather more expensive) and Christmas Day food in the buffet a little disappointing.

During our stay a 'delegation' arrived complete with security forces and police, with added security checks and some of the (relatively few) lifts taken out of service for the use of the VIPS. Rather inconvenient and of course no advance notice.

The hotel shuttle buses operates a free service twice a day to the Mutrah Souk and two nearby shopping centres.

It is possible to rent an Avis car at the hotel or to book outings to places such as Nizwa and Wahiba Sands.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selsdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

Total luxury. Difficult to describe, perfect view, delicious breakfast, a complete "pillow menu" and and a perfect mattress. Together with corteous staff and spacious room, this hotel has a well deserved reputation. Two small aspects to take into account: Staff sometimes tend to be a bit overwhelming, knocking on your door every five minutes to see if you need something or to bring complimentary fruits, water or tea. I ended up using a lot the "do not disturb" sign. And yes, as one of the reviewers mentioned, the hotel is a bit far away from everywhere (that's why it has a private beach!), but since there is no an actual "center" in Muscat, you aren't missing much.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elmasgrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We didn't stay at the hotel but went for afternoon tea. I had taken afternoon tea there several times in the past and wanted my husband to experience it too. I had always enjoyed it before, which was before the recent refurbishment. We were disappointed in that it was either sandwiches or cakes/pastries, whereas before you got both. We ordered two different teas and were brought two teabags with just one pot of water. I asked the waitress for another pot of water but she didn't bring it. It certainly didn't feel like 5 star service, which it used to.
The hotel is beautiful, in a beautiful setting - shame about the service.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights for Eid break and whilst the hotel is amazing the service lacked !.Our first night we went down to have a drink at the beach bar and were informed that no alcohol was been served apart from in our hotel room , we had not expected to be in such lovely surrounding but have to sit in our room to enjoy a cocktail !!
Secondly the beach and pool facillities are good but the one day the waves were good no one was allowed in the water for safety reasons we were told !
Basically lovely hotel but service disappointing along with finding out despite paying our bill on check out they had also decided to charge my credit card !!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue261272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Didn't stay here, but passing late in the afternoon popped in for high tea. My husband was wearing shorts so we asked if that was OK as the dress code is stated as no shorts.
Tried the Arabic tea, which is basically a black tea of spices including cardamom, cinnamon and cloves along with a plate of sweet pastries and dates. At OR4.50 each we thought that this was good value for money in such an upmarket place. The setting was splendid with a ceiling adorning enormous crystal chandeliers, beautiful furniture and a harpist.
Will return for dinner here one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol-kcjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Beautifully renovated Hotel, unfortunately they only have internationally furnished rooms now( No more oriental rooms). Perfect place for stay with combination of leisure, culture and congress opportunities.
Very good international and local food.
fantastic Pool and Beach Area- Good Service.
Excellent room Service/ Housekeeping.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadiSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
14.0 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
9.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
8.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 50 in Muscat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel

Property: Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Address: PO Box 1998, Muscat 114, Oman (Formerly Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#1 Business Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a dramatic backdrop of rugged mountains, Al Bustan Palace, a Ritz-Carlton Hotel, lies solitary amid an emerald green oasis with 200 acres of lush beachfront landscaping. We are a top choice among hotels in Muscat, Oman, offering accommodations and public spaces that overlook the glittering azure waters of the Gulf of Oman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Destinology, Marriott, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Muttrah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing