We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected pleasure.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de la Durdent
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We spent a two night break at the Auberge having bought a special deal on a 'deal' website. We went with few high expectations but were very pleasantly surprised. About a year ago the hotel was refurbished, extended and reopened after a three year closure. There are rooms in an annexe over a bridge over the pretty little River Durdent. Most there are suites - bedroom, bathroom and lounge with tv. It was perfect for us as we had been able to take our little dog. Just outside our room was a large outdoor spa/jacuzzi which we enjoyed under a starry sky. What bliss!

The decor is slightly bizarre - a modern Thai theme everywhere - and the bathrooms very well equipped with jacuzzi facilties but a poor designed use of space. (Thai meals are available by request) but everywhere is so clean and well maintained. Breakfast is a pretty basic, no frills affair, but adequate. Evening meals were of a high standard in terms of quality and cuisine and we enjoyed them very much. At first we thought the staff could have been a little more cheery and less formal but soon the proprietor showed his warmer and more welcoming side.His English is excellent.The young waiter/assistant was very correct and formal but more warmth would enhance the experience. Such formality does not suit the convivial and pretty surrounding. The area does not immediately offer much for the tourist to see. This was once the linen/flax area of France. It is still grown but the manufacturing side has all but died and with it the purpose of many of the towns and villages. But the coast, and especially Dieppe, are close enough with plenty to explore.

The main drawback we found was that we like to sleep with windows open but when the only airways are french doors this poses a safety problem - or at least its not so easy to be relaxed about it. It could be helped by having small safety chains fitted.

Room Tip: We liked our ground floor annexe suite very much apart from the point I made above.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyMeAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Auberge de la Durdent
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

I had great expectations after all the reviews I read. So I really was disapointed.
We booked from Citydeal, but the discount wasn't really applied as they increased the amount of every extra we ordered ..
The food was quite right but too expensive. A 60 € menu is meant to be great. We've stayed in better places.
The manager is such a nasty man.

Close to this is another place which is worth to stay : "le champetre"

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

we are a family of four , two adults and two children aged 7 & 11, we booked a two room suite that had a large bedroom with comfortable king sized bed and a fair sized lounge with wall mounted flat screen TV and large quality sofa bed.

The bathroom was well appointed with glass sink, WC and whirlpool bath , everything was clean and well maintained.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, room service menu was good and fairly priced , there is a quality gourmet restaurant, plus brasserie for lunch and breakfast.

The main bedroom wings are detached from the hotel reception, and is accessed across a pretty bridge over a beautiful river with resident ducks, swans and fish, there is a sundeck with tables, chairs and sun loungers plus a large hot tub which our children had great fun in, there is large lawns and gardens around the bedroom wings, plus a terrace beside the river where we enjoyed a fantastic lunch.

Would we stay again - YES
Would we recommend to our friends - YES
Should you try this hotel - YES
Is it great value - YES

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundae10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This was an overnight stop and what a great place to stay. Set on the river in a quiet village. The room was huge with a double bed and a large sofa bed for the kids and a whirlpool bath. Guest had access to the outside spa and white fluffy dressing gowns were provided as well as towels. The Room service menu was more than adequate for our evening meal.
Would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Beautiful location on the river. Quiet and quaint, farming village. Large room and large bed. Food a little pricey for a Brit, but absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackpack60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Restez dans votre voiture
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lio2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hericourt-en-Caux
6.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Yvetot
B&B Hotel Yvetot
#2 of 3 in Yvetot
22 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
666 reviews
12.1 mi away
Normotel Restaurant La Marine
Normotel Restaurant La Marine
#1 of 2 in Caudebec-en-Caux
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel du Casino
Hotel du Casino
#1 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
399 reviews
8.7 mi away
Auberge du Val au Cesne
21.7 mi away
Domaine Saint Clair Le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Durdent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Durdent

Address: D131 Vallee de la Durdent, 76560 Hericourt-en-Caux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Hericourt-en-Caux
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hericourt-en-Caux
Price Range: £78 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge de la Durdent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing