We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you want to feel like a superstar then stay at...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Atelier House

Day space and mezznine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Day space and mezznine
Covered terrace for lounging day or night Dramatic views from the mezzanine level
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Day space and mezznine
Covered terrace for lounging day or night
Dramatic views from the mezzanine level
Infinity pool viewed through the entrance hall
Lush planting all around the half acre garden
Infinity pool and sea views
Pool deck and day space
Sunset over the pool - perfect place t start your evening
Another sunset!
Master bedroom with expansive sea views
Master bedroom with covered terrace
Limestone throughout bathrooms
Bedroom adjacent to the pool and sun deck
Dusk at the front of the house
Roof terrace
Approaching Atelier from the front garden
Sunny roof terrace
Stunning living/entertaining space
Breakfast bar and pool/sea view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lower Carlton, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nadgos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you want to feel like a superstar then stay at Atelier House!”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Atelier to celebrate several family occasions. We were a party of 4 adults and 4 children aged 6 to 12. We had truly the most unbelievable stay and without exception, every member of our party was reluctant to leave at the end!
Atelier House is not only stunningly beautiful inside and out, from the gorgeous modern decor to the dramatic infinity pool to the lush gardens - but it is extremely versatile. It would suit any party from couples to families with children.

The bedrooms are all beautifully decorated with fantastically comfortable beds and lovely large quirky bathrooms. The master suite will blow you away with its floor to ceiling glass doors looking out to the ocean - and with glass on three sides that's a lot of view!

The house was impeccably clean and the team of staff were very helpful and pleasant.

The house is designed with every comfort in mind and you can find many many quiet places to sit, relax, read a book or just gaze at the stunning view. The large dining room table overlooking the pool can accommodate 12 guests, and at night lit up by the numerous candles dotted around the place - it looks breathtakingly beautiful.

The sitting area to the side of the house is a masterpiece of genius - huge comfy day beds and squishy cushions where you can get some reprieve from the sun whilst sipping on a sundowner- yet not having to miss out on seeing the sunset.

We felt like superstars every minute of our stay - it will be hard to find another place to stay quite so special as Atelier House. Go - you will never want to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieSus...
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning property and location with amazing views of the Caribbean”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have recently spent 2 glorious weeks at Atelier House with our teenage daughters and our friends. The pictures do not do the property justice, it really is stunning.
There is tons of space to 'spread out' - pool area, indoor seating and a beautiful outdoor patio area which is covered over (handy when the rain suddenly comes !).
Judy the housekeeper kept the property spotless on a daily basis, but did so very discreetly.

The location is brilliant as there are so many great restaurants along the coast, especially driving towards Holetown and beyond. Our favourite was probably Lone Star for a special night out. You do need to have a car though to access the restaurants/beaches and the rest of the Island.

Harrison's Cave and the East Coast are definitely worth a visit, as is Oistins Fish Fry on a Friday night. Swimming with the turtles is also a must do !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design and location of the property
Liked least: Having to leave !!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and comfortable house with breathtaking views.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in Barbados many times over the years and know the island quite well. The house is located in a quiet terrace on the ridge overlooking Carlton. It is an exceptionally designed house for the island, with huge a naturally ventilated living space and comfortable air conditioned bedrooms, which all have lovely outlooks over the pool and out to the coast. The views from all parts of the house are fantastic and the sunsets spectacular. This is a house that really needs a car, since walking anywhere would be out of the question. However, with the car you can access the beaches within minutes and the shops and restaurants in Holetown in about 10 minutes. We had a party of 4 adults and a 10 year old although the house could obviously accommodate more. However, I would suggest the house is not ideal for very young children, since the pool is not fenced and there are many hard surfaces. The maid service and cook were delightful and I would recommend making arrangements early in your stay for your cooking needs, which can include breakfast, lunch and dinner, if required. If you are looking for a carefree and relaxing holiday with a semi 'self catering' option, then this house is absolutely ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of the bedrooms and the view
Liked least: slight confusion over the cook arrangements
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Master Bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carolinat...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“4.5 Stars”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Wanted to give higher rating, not quite 5 only because when it rained we had a difficult time keeping busy, as rain usually occurred after nap time. The one TV was upstairs and not enough seating for our large group. Also if anyone is physically challenged the TV location was not easily accessible. Slow or no Internet a lot of the time and no it was not for work, but music. House is unique and beautiful. I would say it is not for small children, lots of corners. I would go back and recommend this home to anyone who loves beautiful views, great staff and swimming. Not on beach but pool was fantastic.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
Thanks for raising these points and apologies we couldn't provide to 5 star level. We have taken on board feedback from all guests and are installing 2 extra TVs. We have also completely overhauled the wifi to mitigate against what can be a patchy service in Barbados. We will amend our listing also to clarify the situation for anyone with mobility restrictions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Captivating, a little different but totally enchanting.....”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great Easter at Atelier. A very modern and spacious villa. Long hot days with 7 occupants in a 4 bedroom 'House of Glass' sounds tight however, it was easy to find a quiet shady spot and hardly notice anyone else was even there.
The house keeper and cook were really warm and friendly. No fan in the master bedroom and the pool cleaned just once during our stay would be the only issues. Otherwise, a truly world class experience.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rashid's grub!
Liked least: Poor internet
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2013
Thanks for your review. Apologies that the fan broke down. I hope the portable replacement went some way to improving your night time comfort.
Thanks for the pool tip too - we should calibrate the visits with number of guests in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCoul...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Like your own private 5 star boutique hotel! Magnificent. You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This house is everything it looks in the pictures and more, the layout around the infinity pool and interior design are second to none but the view from every room is what really makes this house so special. My family and I wanted to stay another week (if not indefinitely!) and the agents for the property are more than helpful to cater to any needs. The main town of St James is close as are all the top restaurants on the island. You will have everything you need here to make the perfect holiday, I know we will be making a re-booking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking through the front door to see the infinity pool and the view! Also the impeccable interior design
Liked least: Having to Leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing