We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Young family, fond memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legend Garden Condos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Carlton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We're one month removed from our trip, but I still feel compelled to write about this place.
We travel with our 4 year old daughter, and we've literally been around the world.
I can honestly say that this was the funnest and most enjoyable stay since she was born.
The owners, Delia and Bird, and really awesome hosts. I can't say enough about them.
The place is across the street from a super nice, very intimate beach.
I would recommend taking the limo ride they offer to get acquainted with Bird.
You'll learn a lot, with great service, and break the ice right off the bat.

There is no food options on site, but there are 3 restaurants within 2 minutes' walk, and a gas station for small items. A hired car in preferable for getting around.

Room Tip: The big apartment was available when we got there and they let us have it because of our daughter...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frederic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Legend Garden Condos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

We arrived in March and was collected from the airport by Bird and that's when the holiday started, an ice cold rum and coke for me and a colder beer for my husband. Legend Condo's was perfect for the type of getaway we were looking for, the atmosphere is welcoming and relaxing and also in a perfect location. Bird's wife Delia is a very warm person and between them they are a mine of information of where to go and what to see.
Mulllins beach is a very short walk away and I have to say when I read the reviews about this beach I was apprenhensive as I love beaches, we were both pleasanty surprised and spent a few days on a sun lounger watching the world go by. Mullins restaurant is quite expensive but the lunch is ok and some things are cheaper than others. There is a small hut on the beach that sells drinks at a really good price. You can stroll along to Gibbes beach which is quiet and without sunbeds.
The local petrol station does actually sell everything you could want and we got breakfast bits here, and do not miss Cissi's lunchtrunk that pulls up here most days, we had a couple of good meals from here. Bombas restaurant which is further along and right on the beach is also great for lunch or dinner and very reasonable with a view to die for.
The bus service is great and very reasonable and very very regular.
Holetown and Speightstown worth a trip - and all by bus.
The locals are really nice and most importantly we will be back !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved staying in the orange condo! We were picked up by Bird, one of the owners at the airport. He is very friendly and funny! He even gave us a ride to the store to pick up food and the bank- which was very nice of him seeing as how he had other things going on that day. The condos are located in the west, which is the wealthier part of the island. Bird and Delia are very nice, and helpful. We went to dinner with them and other couples staying there to a gem that only locals would know about. The condos are across the street from Mullins beach. It is very calm, clear water, and friendly. The experience as a whole was great. We met people from all over the world, walked around Holestown, and took the bus- a must do to be fully immersed!

The pool is great, the property is great too. Very simple and laid back. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had the orange condo which is a two bedroom.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My family and I stayed here for a week. It was one of the best vacations ever...and we've been to about 30 cities around the world! Great location, just across the street from the less touristy Mullins Beach. It is also within 10 mins drive of Holetown and Speightstown, which are the main shopping areas of Barbados. The Legend has an outdoor pool, several garden patios, and a nice area for kids to run around in. Delia and Alex (the owners) are excellent hosts. The vacation was hassle-free because of them, as they booked our car rental and catamaran cruise for us. They also gave us great tips and were always available for help. They hosted a lovely "fish fry" dinner for the guests, so we got to meet each other and mingle. During our stay, we had some problem with the internet and air-conditioning. Delia and Alex fixed the issues quickly. Highly recommended and you'll enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schroeder_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Hospitality amazing, from my first email to our leaving. Thank you Delia and Bird mom and I had a wonderful time. she has not stopped telling her friends all about how you kindly took us to our first drive-in movie, what an experience. the lovely monkeys and hummingbirds not to forget the tortoises, all made your beautiful condos so special. the short stroll down to the beach to watch the sunsets and drink cocktails at Mullins was just the tonic after a restful day in your beautiful gardens drinking coconut water from you own coconuts. the pool was lovely like a warm bath but the added views of flowers and wildlife.
the 2bed condo we had was ideal with air con and /or fans, the open space for dining, the kitchen with large fridge and no bother from insects. the wi if was handy to research our next days plans. The buses were at the end of the drive and ran regularly cheap clean and friendly. we hired a car for a couple of days with Delia's help, no problems justed dropped off to us and picked up with enough petrol for the couple of days. even if there hadn't been petrol station literally round the corner.
never have I had such a hassle free holiday, from the moment Bird picked us up from the airport we felt totally relaxed and in safe and knowledgable hands.
this was more like staying with family than a holiday in a strange place. everyone staying there was friendly and relaxed thanks to our wonderful hosts.
We hope to come back again and bring our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king_rik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We were able to plan a last minute pre-winter getaway to Barbados in November and we were looking for something affordable in a great location with a relaxed a casual atmosphere. Based solely on Tripadvisor reviews, we booked Legends for 12 nights and we were absolutely thrilled with our stay as it far exceed all of our expectations.

We reserved direct through email, and right from the first correspondence Delia's charm and welcoming attitude came shining through. All of our questions regarding the rooms and reservation were handled promptly and we felt confident in chosing Legends for our much needed holiday.

Delia arranged for our airport pickup by her husband Alex, who was waiting for us with refreshing rum and cokes to kick our holiday off on the right note. Alex (or Bird as he also goes by) is so friendly and outgoing and our ride to the condos was just the start of many great chats and laughs we shared over the next couple weeks.

Legends is located just across the street from Mullin's Beach, one of the beautiful west coast beaches. It is situated between Holetown and Speightstown in a calm area, but it is very easy to catch a bus to either town so renting a car isn't really necessary (though we did do this for 3 days to be able to explore other harder to reach places which I highly recommend doing). There are also some restaurants within walking distance as well as a good and cheap Chinese takeout so there is a good variety of close dining options. If you stay here be sure not to miss Sissi and her lunch truck just before the gas station. This was great local food, the best we had on the island. The gas station located only 5 minutes by foot has an ATM and cold drinks, snacks and other necessities which was really convenient.

Delia and Bird are really fantastic hosts and they are always ready to help with anything you may need. Both of them provided us with so much information about what to do, where to eat, helped to arrange activities and the rental car and even gave us a ride down to Oistens one Friday night as they were going in that direction. As our flight wasn't until the evening, they provided us with a room to shower and change before heading to the airport which was greatly appreciated. They are so friendly and laid-back and nothing is ever too much trouble for them.

The condos are located in a grand old plantation that Bird and Delia have worked hard to restore. There is a lovely pool with a nice amount of shady areas. Don't miss the monkeys that pass through each evening to return to the nearby trees. There are also 2 adorable resident turtles who love bananas and provided us with some fun memories.

Our room was quite large with a king bed, a couple chairs, a dressing area with a large closet to store all your stuff. The kitchen area was in an outside, enclosed terrace and had everything you need if you want to prepare meals. Air conditioning runs from sundown to sunrise which was fine for us as we were always out and about during the day. Compared to the other prices we saw for places on Barbados, we really felt Legends was excellent value and a terrific find on the West Coast.

If you are looking for a great, affordable place to stay with true local hospitality, Legends Garden Condos is for you. We loved our holiday in Barbados and would not hestitate to stay here again. Thank you Delia and Bird for everything, you are the best and we hope we will see you and the boys soon either in Barbados or when you get to Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CapePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We recently booked out trip back to the Ledgens and can't wait for our trip in Feb.2013.
I am instantly transported to peace and tranquility whenever I reminisce of our stay at the Ledgens. Our hosts treated us like family, Delia and Bird and their plantation is the our home away from home in Barbados. No need for a car, there are restraunts and grocerys within walking, the town os Speightown is 1.5 miles walk (street or Beach), and the buses are plentiful.
This will be out 7th trip to Barbados and are soooo glad we have found our home away from home!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmorgan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Carlton
4.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,078 reviews
11.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
331 reviews
11.8 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.3 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legend Garden Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Garden Condos

Address: Mullins Bay, Lower Carlton, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Lower Carlton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lower Carlton
Price Range: £83 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legend Garden Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Legend Garden Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Garden Condos Barbados
Legend Garden Condos Hotel Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing