We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

What a fantastic lodge. Beautiful location, fantastic hosts and food the best ever. Many thanks to Kerneels for showing us the wonderful wildlife and to Vanessa for a wonderful stay, the highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodger_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Kerneels and Vanessa made us feel right at home from the beginning. The evening meals were outstanding and a great experience to try bushveld cuisine. We really enjoyed our walks throught the bush and the game viewing along the way. We could have listened to Kerneels' stories about his experiences in the bush and about the animals for hours - he made us feel like old friends. Too bad he had work to do in running this excellent establishment. We will be back for sure, but we will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerneels S, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you guys. It is always nice to meet new people and to share and laugh about our experiences. Thanks for your stay with us. Kind Regards, Kerneels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Vanessa and Kerneels are excellent hosts, with a vast knowledge of the area. The lounge/dining area is amazing. Rooms are small but very clean and comfortable.Kettle and Coffee tea and Milk in lounge for hot drinks throughout the day. We had excellent meals throughout our stay in South Africa but the three evening meals at Valley Bushveld were the BEST. Huge and varied breakfasts. We visited Daniell Cheetah Breeding Centre, Addo Elephant Park, Seaview Lion Park, and Kragga Kama Game reserve from our base at Valley Bushveld. You will love it.

Room Tip: All rooms look out onto bushveld. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridafanatic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerneels S, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you guys for staying with us. We truely hope to see you in future again.
Kind Regards
Kerneels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Denis de la Réunion
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Amazing location in a very beautiful country. Quiet place near Addo Elephant Park and Daniell Cheetah Project. Welcoming host and hostess. Lodge with lots of wild animals. Delicious dishes. Wonderful breakfasts. Excellent staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
567 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at the lodge. breakfast is included everyday and a fantastic dinner is made for all guests at night. its close to addo eleohant park an a cheetah sanctuary. you are only 20 min from port elizabeth. great value and scenery for the price. there are several animals you will see while hiking on the property. you must visit

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerneels S, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your stay. We hope you will visit South Africa more in future. Kind Regards, Kerneels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We took my elderly parents to Addo Elephant Park and decided to spend a night here because of all the talk about the good food and the “Jacuzzi with a view” looking incredibly inviting! We were welcomed by a friendly Grace (who was also responsible for the delicious dessert later the evening!). The views from the lodge are beautiful and the living room, with its large fireplace, very inviting. Kerneels introduced us to good white wine around the bar counter and the dinner was as good as everyone said. We were treated to a fantastic home cooked meal – creamy venison, pumpkin pie, sweet carrots and baked potatoes. My husband went back for more – and back for more ! We went for a short walk down to the river in the morning, which was easy enough for my elderly dad to do. Vanessa also told us where to go to in the Addo Park (she is The only disappointment was the fact that we never got to sit in the Jacuzzi. Everyone went out of their way to have it switched on but somehow during the night something went wrong and by morning it was still freezing!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valleybush, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Hi Guys
Thank you so much for the kind words. It was really nice having you as a family.
Sorry about the Jacuzzi. Unfortunately we had a power dip through the night which caused the the timer to reset and not heating the water.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Kerneels Scholtz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We had 3 families stay for one night on our way to Addo. The grounds are so peaceful and beautiful, with a bonfire at night on the patio. We enjoyed a braii and our hosts provided everything we needed for a small charge. The rooms were nice and clean, but not large. The living room is huge and amazing - worth the stay. The hosts Karneels and Vanessa are lovely and helpful for any needs. If you want city and action, stay elsewhere. If you want quiet with comfort, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valleybush, Owner at Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you guys for the feedback.
Regards
Kerneels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greater Addo
0.0 mi away
Thunzi Bush Lodge
Thunzi Bush Lodge
#2 of 66 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
0.0 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Addo Elephant Back Safaris
Addo Elephant Back Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parkes Manor
Parkes Manor
#40 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours

Property: Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours
Address: Farm PrenticeKraal, Cockscomb Road | Addo, 6231, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Greater Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VALLEY BUSHVELD COUNTRY LODGE is an owner managed, successful, upmarket four star, safari-style Guest Lodge and bed and breakfast close to Addo Elephant National Park in the Eastern Cape Province of South Africa. The Eastern Cape is called "Naturally South Africa's Best", with a million hectare of malaria-free, big 5 game viewing, fantastic beauty and endless beaches. The Lodge is built on the banks of the Coegas River and is situated on a private game reserve which boasts over 17 species of wild game animals and antelope. The reserve is just 200 metres of the main R75 on route to Addo. Our beautiful lodge overlooks the valley and promises you of an exquisite, once in a lifetime scenery and sunsets with wild antelope feeding around the lodge. In the distance if you should want to explore the valley, you will discover a little river, natural rock face and a natural unharmed environment with its own wildlife. Spoil yourself in the Jacuzzi while sipping on South African champagne and fine wines. The view from the Jacuzzi is out of this world and you have the chance to spot wild antelope from your seat in the Jacuzzi. You can not beat this experience.Around the lodge you will spot an abundance of wildlife, some 17 species of South African antelope, such as Giraffe, Black Impala, Kudu, Blue Wildebeest, Zebra, Blesbuck, Impala, Nyala, Bushbuck, Waterbuck, Duiker, Grysbuck, Warthog, Bushpig, Mongoose, Fox, Porcupine, Jackal, Meerkat, Lynx and primates such as baboon and vervet monkey. A large variety of birds, including bird of prey such as the majestic black eagle and the magnificent flora resembling a natural succulent garden with aloe, euphorbia, spekboom, as well as the protected Cycad and indigenous Strelitzia plants can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Valley Bushveld Country Lodge & Safari Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing