We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sunland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lupus Den Country House
Ranked #2 of 8 Sunland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Having stayed at a variety of guest houses over the last 3 weeks in SA, this was a delight. The rooms are clean and newly-decorated...and the giant bed is incredibly comfy! Priscilla's cooking is excellent and she offers evening meals due to the rural location. She is a superb hostess and I can highly recommend this accommodation to any traveller exploring Addo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

What a place to stay! Due to the true hospitality of Priscilla we had a wonderful stay in Lupus Den Country House.
We have rarely seen such a dedication in making our stay as comfortable as possible.
Priscilla and Noel thank you so much!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Lupus Den was a lovely and pleasant surprise in so many aspects. This guesthouse really made a very deep impression, far more than we would expect of, what we thought was going to be "just a nice place to stay when going for a trip to watch elephants". In retrospect I understand that, although very beautiful animals, the elephants will fade in memory and what I will remember and cherish most from this trip is the Lupus Den. We came in with the worst storm in years and the Den was completely out of electricity. But such a small thing wouldn't stop Priscilla from preparing to cook our dinner on a wooden stove instead. Luckily the power eventually came back, so she could stick to her plan A, but we got a small glimpse of what skills and patience a life on the farm have provided our lovely hostess with. Meeting up with her husband Noel in the evening and it became even more obvious that this farm is, and has been, in very good and strong hands for a long time. Just take a look at the picture in the hall of Noel riding on what must be the biggest bull there ever was. This couple, I am sure, will be able to provide for their guests even if there were earthquakes, fires, flooding or stampeding elephants. Anyway, Noel & Priscilla, the great food and rooms, the beautiful farm and the magical surroundings in Sunday River Valley will be forever imprinted in my mind and I hope one day I will have the opportunity to visit again. I hope then I will also get the chance to meet their daughter Belinda, author of a book that has moved me beyond words and made my life richer.

/Åke Nylund, Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkeNylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Lupus Den for one night only but wish it could have been longer! Location of Lupus Den is wonderful for visiting Addo Elephant Park. Pricilla is a lovely lady, super host and fabulous cook, couldn't have made us more welcome. We stayed in the main house in a very comfortable room, Priscilla showed us around the garden rooms too, they are very large and would love to stay in one when we hopefully return to South Africa. Thank you for being so kind.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a garden room, surrounded by lovely gardens on a fabulous citrus farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay, this is it! The location is ideal if visiting Addo Elephant Park and Priscilla has all the best tips and advice for holiday plans. Dinner there is delightful and we highly recommend it.
We will gladly return when in the area!
Thank you for your true hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Addo Elephant Park. We had one of the garden rooms which was massive and very tastefully decorated with a huge bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and very large! Priscilla is a great host and her cooking is lovely. Candlelit dinners were a highlight and breakfast was superb. I thoroughly recommend this to you. It is at the end of a very long road and you wonder if you will ever get there but it is well worth the journey.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda58essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Lupus Den is situated on a citrus farm approximately 20min drive from the Addo main gate. The accommodation is situated in an exceptional setting with your front door leading into a well established garden with trees as old and high as the hills, flowing into the citrus orchard. It was a pleasure getting to know the owners and found Priscilla to be extremely helpful, her knowledge of the extended area being a tremendous help.

The unit was very spacious and offers a very warm atmosphere. Great stay, thanks again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOMMY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunland hotels
1.1 mi away
Hopefield Country House
1.3 mi away
Fish Eagles Lodge
Fish Eagles Lodge
#6 of 8 in Sunland
13 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Colonial on Arundel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupus Den Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupus Den Country House

Address: Lupus Den | Enon Road, Sunland, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Sunland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sunland
Price Range: £28 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupus Den Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to unwind in a warm & friendly atmosphere, Lupus Den Country House is situated on our working citrus & cattle farm in the Sundays River Valley, approximately 25 minutes from the Addo Elephant Park. We offer comfortable to luxury accommodation in our Homestead & Garden Cottage set in a tranquil garden with large, sparkling pool, shaded by many beautiful trees. When not out exploring the local attractions, guests can enjoy the peace and quiet of a rural setting. In the evenings, on request, we serve a set 3-course candlelit, home-cooked dinner - a delicious way to end a day of exciting game-viewing. The enjoyment of our guests is a top priority so we will help where we can with bookings for safari outings to various game reserves in the vicinity or arrange the services of a private guide to the Addo Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lupus Den Country House South Africa/Sunland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing