We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B - Very relaxed and well organised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Colonial on Arundel
Ranked #2 of 8 Sunland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B - Very relaxed and well organised!”
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Beautiful setting and fantastic rooms. Connor and Molly are very knowledgeable of the local area as well. The safaris they organise in Addo Elephant park amongst others are excellent and they also recommend a lot of good attractions and restaurants nearby.

They also have some amazing stories to share. Their dog, Zach is lovely and very friendly towards guests - he walked us to our room whenever we were there! We went for a walk in the adjoining citrus fields and Zach accompanied us for that as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
177
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2010

This establishment was a wonderful find. The hosts, Molly & Conor, welcoming and extremely helpful. Breakfast was an absolute delight but the highlight for us was certainly the game drive to Addo conducted by Conor himself who brought the whole experience to life with his knowledge & anecdotes. If you are looking for comfort, sincerity and a wonderful experience, then the Colonial on Arundle should be your first choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesRoger37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goes
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We had a very nice stay by Molly and Connor. It is a beautifull Bed & Breakfast. Molly is a very nice and helpfull lady and gave us many tips. She also made us a very nice breakfast with lots of fresh fruites. Her housband Connor is a game driver and showed us the Addo-park. He told us a lot about the elefants and about the other animals of the Addo-park. Really beautifull, so we can recommend this Bed & Breakfast. When you are interested you can find it in the Portfolio of South-Africa.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonenels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We heartily endorse ALL the fantastic things said about The Colonial - it's simply wonderful! Molly and Connor are the perfect hosts and Zack the dog, ably assisted by Rugby, will dissolve the worries of the most dog-fearing of visitors! The comprehensive information and recommendations provided beforehand by Molly were much appreciated, as was the pre-booking of the trips we wished to make. During our recent trip to South Africa we stayed in thirteen excellent guest houses but our three day stay here topped the lot!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxsOwners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We stayed at The Colonial for 2 nights & had the most wonderful time. Molly & Conor will make you feel so welcome not to mention the reception you will get from Zak. The rooms are comfortable & well appointed with everything you need. We had a wonderful evening meal prepared by Molly, definately up to top restaurant standards. The game drive with Conor was amazing - his enthusiasm is infectious. On Molly's recommedation we also had a lovely meal at Hitgenheim game lodge. The Addo Elephant Back Safari is definately an something you must do whilst in the area. If you viist this area you must stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizzlyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We've just returned from our first trip to South Africa and undoubtedly one of the highlights was our stay at The Colonial with Molly and Conor O'Hagan. It all started with a wonderfully warm welcome from Molly which made us feel at home instantly, the hospitality continued that evening with one of Molly's dinners which was excellent and accompanied by Conor's house red which matched any other pinotage that I've tasted. We took a trip the following day to Addo with Conor as our guide, his knowledge and passion for the area is quite inspirational and he certainly made sure that we saw a wide range of animals, finishing off with a glass of wine(or 2) and a snack before returning to the Colonial for a shower and change. Our dinner that evening at a local restaurant was booked by Molly and we were transported by Conor. If you're planning to do Addo this is the way to go!..

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I spent a few delightful evenings at the Colonial on Arundal and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The guest suites are huge, extremely clean and very well appointed. The bed and other furniture was very comfortable. Set on a working citrus farm, the grounds are beautiful and bird life abounds. Perhaps the best part of staying at the Colonial was the owners, Molly and Conor. Simply delightful people who are very knowledgeable about the history and wildlife of this amazing part of South Africa. I highly recommend staying with these folks.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquaNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunland
1.7 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hopefield Country House
0.5 mi away
Gerald's Gift Guest House
4.1 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial on Arundel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial on Arundel

Property: The Colonial on Arundel
Address: Arundel Farm, Rietfontein Road | 12 kms from Addo Elephant Park, Sunland, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Sunland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sunland
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colonial on Arundel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the name suggests, "Colonial Africa" is the theme in architecture, decor, setting and atmosphere of The Colonial on Arundel. Nestling in citrus orchards on a working farm, only 10 minutes from the malaria free Addo Elephant National Park, this 4 star 2-suite facility offers understated luxury, coupled with relaxed, friendly attention, and is enhanced by highly acclaimed cuisine. Each suite has private entrance, its own private lounge and private swimming pool. Attention to detail in the suites is a trademark of Molly's personality...luxury guest amenities, toweling gowns, tea & coffee facilities, safes, swimming towels, coffee table books and magazines, alarm clock. In-house safaris with Conor, the owner and a registered guide, to the Addo Elephant National Park, will enhance your African adventure. These tours are undertaken in a air-conditioned vehicle and offer the visitor an experience in wildlife, culture and unforgettable scenery. Conor and Molly have created a truly special place that goes to the very heart of relaxation and comfort. Within easy reach are mountain walks, horse-riding, elephant back safaris, farm excursions, cheetah breeding farm tours and visits into nearby private reserves. The Colonial is truly a place where our guests leave as friends, to return time and time again. The warm welcome feeling extends right down to our Head of Public Relations, Marley the Labrador, who successfully creeps into everyone's heart. Within a 45-minute drive of Port Elizabeth Airport and the beaches, and also the gateway to the Karoo, as well as to the Garden Route to Cape Town, The Colonial on Arundel is truly the desirable Eastern Cape place to be in every respect. Welcome to the real Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Colonial on Arundel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial On Arundel South Africa/Sunland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing