We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Happy Jackal Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephants Footprint Lodge(Colchester)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
80 On Wellington Guest House(Colchester)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sundune Guest House & Self-Catering(Colchester)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
ParkView Lodge(Colchester)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
123
36
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
36
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsguest housesouth gatethe riveraddo elephant parkdelicious breakfastbed and breakfastlovely placecape towneasy accessmake you feel at homeelectric blanketseach morningwonderful hostswonderful experienceprivate game reserveliz
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Happy Jackal for two nights as our first stop on our way to Capetown. The guesthouse was charming and our room and bathroom were impeccably clean and spacious. The bedroom (Room 5) was on the first floor, had high thatched roof ceilings, a balcony and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fantastic - the freshly baked bread was incredible, as were Liz's homemade jams.

Liz and Peter are great personalities and warm and generous hosts. Liz recommended the ferry tour to the sand dunes (bring a swimming costume) and the Schotia safari, both of which were fantastic.

We had a wonderful stay here and it was so well priced. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Ideal location for visiting Addo Elephant park and surrounding area. A hearty welcome awaits you from the hosts. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast sorts you out for the day. Nice fresh hand made bread and a full cooked breakfast. No food at night so limited choice on where to eat. Fridge, tea and coffee in the room. Situated on the banks of a river and minutes from the park. Petrol available a couple of miles away which includes a supermarket. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratchetspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 1 night in October.
The location is ideal being only a few kilometres from the southern entrance of Addo Elephant Park.
Our room was on the ground floor floor with a patio that looked out over the river. The room decor was a little dated but more than adequate and very clean.
What really made this place special were the hosts Liz & Peter who were so friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast was the highlight as all the guests joined in chatting with Liz and Peter whilst enjoying a lovely full English breakfast.
We highly recommend the Happy Jackal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

From our first email contact with Liz and Peter we felt that this was the right choice for us and arriving and meeting them proved that our feelings had not erred. Friendly, welcoming and helpful in every way. They went out of their way to please. This will always be the place for us when we visit the ADDO area now. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Hi,
We had the great fortune of staying at The Happy Jackal Guesthouse for 3 nights, whilst visiting Addo National Park. Colchester is not the prettiest town we have visited, but the Happy Jackal is a real haven.

Liz and Peter were perfect hosts. They made us feel very welcome and could not do enough for us. Peter made his delicious bread every morning, and the home made jams, were a treat. A full English breakfast followed which included home made suasages. On the first morning we made mention that we like Green Tobasco sauce, on our eggs, The next morning there stood , a brand new bottle of green tobasco. ! This is an example of how much care and attention Liz and Peter put into the running of their Guesthouse.

The building had a wonderful Thatched roof, great African decor, and was very spacious inside. Our room was upstairs, large and overlooked the river. It was very well appointed and immaculate.The bed was very comfortable and there was tea and coffee making facilities. A small bar frdige was in the room too.

We had a large balcony to sit out on, morning and night. The Happy Jackal is only minutes to the South Gate of Addo National Park. We are so glad we stayed here and not in the park.

One evening we walked to a nearby restaurant for a good quality dinner.This was recommeded by Liz and Peter.

Another night we went on a Game drive at Schotia reserve, and this included an evening BBQ, which was excellent, and included in the prce of the game drive.

LIz recommended this game drive, and I would second this. Another day, Liz arranged for Derek from Dungbeetle Tours, to take us on a Game drive into Addo National Park. This was probably one of our best days spent during our one month stay in South Africa. Derek and his 4 WD Land Cruiser found herds of elephants, lots of other animals, and even a lion. We did not get around to having our luch until 4.00 pm, as we were having such a great time with him. Thanks to Liz and Peter again.!! for recommending Derek and Dung Beetle tours.

We would have no hesitation in recommending The Happy Jackal Guesthouse to anyone who is in the Addo Nationaal Park area. Liz and Peters expertise with running this beatuful Guesthouse and with recommending fantastic activities, will assure you of a memorable stay in South Africa.
Thanks Liz and Peter

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews