We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Jackal Guest House
Ranked #3 of 9 Colchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Our hosts, Peter and Liz, evidently like their job and are good at it. Our room on the ground floor was excellent with an extensive lawn populated by tortoises and birds leading down to the Sunday's river. The best features are the breakfast and the public room with a well-stocked and interesting library, though it's hard to avoid the rather kitschy "out of Africa" decor popular in some South African hotels. There's a fine swimming pool with braai (barbeque) facilities.
The southern entrance to the extensive Addo park is a couple of kilometers away and not to be missed. You can sure of a close encounter with elephants and the associated flightless dung beetle, not to mention numerous warthogs.
Best of all is the magnificent Sunday's River estuary with its magnificent dunes and endless beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AldoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    34
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The room was very big and had a nice view of the river. We have seen many birds and nice sunsets. The bathroom was a bit old and the shower as well. But everything else was perfect. Breakfast was fantastic with homemade bread and guava jam. Very friendly owners. Addo is really close and the area is secure to walk around. We didn't get dinner at happy jackal, but in the Lodge next door, which was fantastic (Elephant Foot Print). We would recommend this place and will come again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaycheckZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had a wonderfull stay, everything is clean and on its place, beds are very comfortable, Breakfast was very good, and home made bread yummy thank you, The dinner next door was excellent, and the owners very friendly.
Just one thing you might want to consider is some maintanance work.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If you're in or near the area and are looking for quality, peace and quiet, this is the place to stay. Views from the rooms are absolutely lovely (located on the Sundays River) and the rooms are top notch. It's also the perfect location if you're going to visit Addo Elephant park. Breakfast is great. We make a point of going back when we are in the PE area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Happy Jackal for two nights as our first stop on our way to Capetown. The guesthouse was charming and our room and bathroom were impeccably clean and spacious. The bedroom (Room 5) was on the first floor, had high thatched roof ceilings, a balcony and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was fantastic - the freshly baked bread was incredible, as were Liz's homemade jams.

Liz and Peter are great personalities and warm and generous hosts. Liz recommended the ferry tour to the sand dunes (bring a swimming costume) and the Schotia safari, both of which were fantastic.

We had a wonderful stay here and it was so well priced. We would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Ideal location for visiting Addo Elephant park and surrounding area. A hearty welcome awaits you from the hosts. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast sorts you out for the day. Nice fresh hand made bread and a full cooked breakfast. No food at night so limited choice on where to eat. Fridge, tea and coffee in the room. Situated on the banks of a river and minutes from the park. Petrol available a couple of miles away which includes a supermarket. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratchetspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 1 night in October.
The location is ideal being only a few kilometres from the southern entrance of Addo Elephant Park.
Our room was on the ground floor floor with a patio that looked out over the river. The room decor was a little dated but more than adequate and very clean.
What really made this place special were the hosts Liz & Peter who were so friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast was the highlight as all the guests joined in chatting with Liz and Peter whilst enjoying a lovely full English breakfast.
We highly recommend the Happy Jackal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
0.6 mi away
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Dungbeetle River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Colchester
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephants Footprint Lodge
Elephants Footprint Lodge
#1 of 9 in Colchester
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sundune Guest House & Self-Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nukakamma Guesthouse
Nukakamma Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Colchester
17 reviews
11.5 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
12.3 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Jackal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Jackal Guest House

Property: Happy Jackal Guest House
Address: 5 Riverside Drive | Riverside Park, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Happy Jackal Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Happy Jackal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing