We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Jackal Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Colchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Stay”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Actually stayed here in March 2012 - so bit late with the review - sorry.

Was really pleasantly surprised by this place, as we were looking for somewhere near to Ado Elephant Park and took pot luck on this place. What a lucky find.

Had a room overlooking the lawn down to the river, where I took my pocket rod and had a happy hour or two fishing - and caught stuff!

The swimming pool was just the job after a hard day safari-ing, the room was very good, and the living room had all the books you could want to read on South Africa - and virtualy every thing else.

Breakfast was perfect and catered for all tastes with an open veranda so you could have it outside overlooking the river.

The local pub did good food on the nights we went there (good thing to as nowhere else to go, though there looked like there werte some interesting places on the outskirts of the park.

Highly recommend as a base to go out and about from.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms over look the lawn down to the river, and ours had french doors opening on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom2another
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    34
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The curious name, "Happy Jackal", turned out to be a really well-finished stopover some 20km east of Port Elizabeth. Turn off the N2 just after crossing the Sundays River; carry on towards Addo Park, and turn left following the signs onto a rough dirt road. You pass some really rather unpromising houses and a covered gate comes into view. That's it!

We were warmly welcomed, and shown our room, upstairs with a beautiful view over the river in front and up to Addo Park to the north. The room was well-appointed, a comfortable bed, some good working spaces, and an excellent selection of teas and coffees. A thatched balcony lay beyond glass doors, with some comfortable chairs and a low table. The bathroom was perfectly reasonable, but the hot water in the shower really took a long time to arrive!

Dining out is not Colchester's greatest attraction, but what we found was adequate and very friendly. The night was quiet, but an owl roosted on our balcony, and hooted happily for an hour or so until we shooed it away - if you must sleep on the edge of a game park, what else can you expect?

Breakfast was glorious, with Peter our host's fresh baked bread, lashings of fruit juice,fresh fruit, muesli, and the full English eggs and bacon and all etceteras. A stroll across the wide lawns to the river, and we were perfectly refreshed and ready to drive another million miles!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Nutty-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our cottage was great! All the amenities you could want. Hosts were darling and hospitable. Perfect for Addo Elephant Park. Small quaint town. Port Elizabeth. Not a lot to do. Great neighborhood pub. Stayed in July 2013 and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: it was their winter so needed a heater. cottages were good value could have been a tad cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

classy and elegant. The finishes were beautiful and lovely attention to detail. Perfect location with view of Sunday's river and literally 2km from Addo park gate. Amazing breakfast and company await in the morning and we had two fantastic days of game viewing in the park. The hosts are fantastic and make you feel like part of the family. Highly recommended and a definite must visit again...

Room Tip: the cottage is for families with kids and I think it's room 6 that doesn't have a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We have just returned from 3 mights at the Happy Jackal and can highly recommend this B&B. We stayed in several B&B's whilst in South Africa and this was by far the best.

It's quaint and cozy in the perfect location on the river, with perfect hosts. The house was quiet, beautifully decorated and had lots of character.

Our hosts were quite sociable and very knowledgeable - sharing good conversation and tips during a wonderful breakfast. And they were more than happy to help us arrange day trips and activities, which was a huge help.

The room (Room 4) was one of their luxury rooms and was enormous, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated with lovely views over the river.

Breakfast again was a delight, cooked to order, freshly made coffee (incredible) and fresh local produce. And the best part, was the freshly made bread and home-made selection of jams!!

We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough and when we return to South Africa (which we will) we will definitely be returning to the Happy Jackal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed in the Happy Jackal Guest House on 21st March 2013.

Location: Ideal for Addo Elephant Park, but not a lot else, there is only one pub close by where you can get meals. For us it was only a stopover on our way to Grahamstown, so it being close to the N2 was good.

Room: Large, African style with a thatched roof and a view over the river. Safe in room, but much too small to hold more than a wallet and a phone.

Bathroom: This really let the place down and if we based the ratings on the bathroom alone the Happy Jackal would have received 0 stars. It was not maintained, e.g. loose toilet holder, rusty shower basket and mirror and a lot of lime scale on shower, bath and sink fittings; so much that I actually went out and bought some white wine vinegar in which I soaked them overnight. Bath mats gave the impression that they have been in there forever.


Breakfast: Was very nice, with freshly baked bread and homemade jam/marmalade. We had the full English breakfast and it was made fresh to order and well cooked.

WIFI: We were charged a nominal fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOCIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Owner run guesthouse, just next to Addo South Gate. Breakfast starts with home made fresh bread and all the other choices of musli, fruits, eggs, ... Choose Rooms 1 - 5 with view to river. Near by N2 makes it easy to reach place but you hear a bit of traffic. Otherwise quiet, remote area.Local pub nearby serves great steaks and best of all, Addo South Gate is just a stone throw away!

Room Tip: Room 1 - 3 River view and lawn to river, 4 - 5 upstairs with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
0.6 mi away
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Dungbeetle River Lodge
#2 of 8 in Colchester
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephants Footprint Lodge
Elephants Footprint Lodge
#1 of 8 in Colchester
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sundune Guest House & Self-Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nukakamma Guesthouse
Nukakamma Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Colchester
17 reviews
11.5 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
12.3 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Jackal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Jackal Guest House

Property: Happy Jackal Guest House
Address: 5 Riverside Drive | Riverside Park, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Happy Jackal Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Jackal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing