We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Hopewell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hopewell Lodge
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a fantastic private game reserve. I cannot recommend it highly enough! The staff are so cheerful, smiling and attentive. The ranger Anthony and the tracker Paul are most informative and interesting. The drives through the reserve were fascinating and we saw all the animals at very close range. Everywhere you look is picturesque. We started with tea on the verandah overlooking the watering hole, but when I was shown to my lodge I could not believe how gorgeous it was. The rooms are spacious and so tastefully decorated, from the smallest item of art to the luxurious bath, where you can lie back and gaze over the infinity pool down to the watering hole where the elephants stroll past.....yes honestly its a paradise. The food is excellent, the chef could not have been more obliging. I hope to return one day. It would be the perfect place to go with friends for a special birthday or anniversary. There is not one single thing I can think of that could have improved my stay at Hopewell. I took hundreds of photos. If you are considering staying here, I promise you will not regret it.

Room Tip: The infinity pool is beautiful, and overlooking the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carrie239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our fifth visit - this time four four nights with our family - six adults, 4 children aged 6 - 11. Many thanks to all staff - John for providing special children's meals, and 'haute cuisine' for adults with fine wines, a bush lunch, birthday cake for my wife (70) and granddaughter (8) on our last full day. To Monica,Mary and Monica for housekeeping, Paulie for tracking and Antony, manager/ranger, for his undivided attention, amazing game drives, teaching the children so many things about the animals and birds and how to recognise their tracks. Our sole occupancy of the lodge and suites - all a unique experience, and lastly to Thabo the cheetah for compliance in allowing us all to stroke him on our last game drive. Luxury five star in every way.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent but private suites wonderful with own plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCsuperstar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at Hopewell in February 2014. On arrival I was greeted so warmly by the Manager Anthony who's hospitality throughout the stay was attentive & informative. He was a superb host and the chef John, maids Mary and Monica and ranger Paulie all made the stay exquisite with great attention to detail. I stayed in the Zebra suite, I was overwhelmed with the exquisite layout, decor, positioning, view and ambience of the suite and immediately felt that I never wanted to leave! My view was over the watering hole and the water buck were on full display. The food, meals and service were all superb, the game drives were wonderful and we saw so much, so close. The landscape was really interesting and surrounded by lush green hills, so peaceful and perfect. At the lodge we were treated to a visit by the cheetah! He licked my hand as I sat in complete awe! I have been to a 5* game reserve in Kruger before but Hopewell goes beyond 'stars' in my opinion, it is a corner of paradise. At the lodge they make you feel so at home you will never want to leave, the private lodge and personal service make it truly unique. If you get the opportunity to stay here then DO. I fully intend to return again with my family in the not too distant future. You are a wonderful team, thank you so much for making my stay so very special!

Room Tip: ALL the suites were amazing! We got a tour of them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AminahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have returned every year for the past 13 years, this really is a home in the bush. Totally exclusive, peaceful and relaxing. The staff are wonderful and this is a place to put your feet up, write, paint, read and explore. without fail there is always something new to see and to witness the evolution and rehabilitation of such a wonderfully unique place is precious indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at Hopewell for 4 nights in December 2014, we couldn't have been looked after better from the moment we arrived until the sad time of our departure, the hospitality was very special, the food delicious and the Accomodation luxurious. The morning and evening safaris were amazing and we saw all kinds of amazing animals in their natural habitat. 5 stars indeed, a beautiful place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dominic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I never leave reviews whether good bad or indifferent but could not leave Hopewell without writing about it as the service was exceptional.

Wow what a fantastic stay Hopewell Lodge is truly unique. Having stayed in many other luxury hotels and lodges there really is something that sets Hopewell apart and that is the attitude and the fantastic team there, in a nutshell it really is a home from home albeit with Giraffe, Cheetah and many other animals wandering around in your rather large garden.

The Staff are really fantastic and looked after our every need making our stay a truly memorable one. Thank you Anthony, Karin(hope I spelt this correctly), John, Monica, Mary and Paulie. Not forgetting everyone else! Thank you.

The rooms are amazing and the relaxed attitude due to the lack of some of the more aggressive animals (lion, leopard, baboon) etc made it even more of a pleasure as you did not have to be chaperoned (apart from the Children) and meeting Tabu the Cheetah was also truly magical and the reason we needed to keep an eye on the kids.

The set up an amazing NYE party in the Boma for us although 50% of the party were ill due to a bug from previous travels (nothing to do with Hopewell).

On our return our transfer failed to turn up and we were quite close to missing our flight from Port Elizabeth but Anthony and Paulie managed to get us to the Airport in time for our flight, no easy task as there were eight of us and luggage, so a massive thank you to Anthony and Paulie for going beyond the call of duty there.



Hopefully we will be back again we will certainly be recommending you to all.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent a few days at Hopewell Lodge recently and had the most wonderful time! The lodge and the suites are beautiful and luxurious, with great views over a watering hole and the surrounding bush. Anthony and the rest of the team were wonderful and did everything they could to make our stay as memorable as possible, and the meals John prepared were delicious. We particularly liked having the whole place to ourselves so could really enjoy the peace and quiet, and could tailor the days to suit our preferences. We saw a lot of different animals during our stay thanks to Paulie's excellent tracking skills, and we particularly enjoyed our encounters with the cheetahs. We hope to be back!!
Carol and Paul

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
0.0 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
0.0 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
0.0 mi away
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Dungbeetle River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Colchester
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elephants Footprint Lodge
Elephants Footprint Lodge
#1 of 9 in Colchester
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Jackal Guest House
Happy Jackal Guest House
#3 of 9 in Colchester
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundune Guest House & Self-Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopewell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopewell Lodge

Address: R72, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Colchester
Price Range: £592 - £815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hopewell Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopewell Lodge is an exclusive luxury hideaway on a private African game reserve in South Africa's beautiful Eastern Cape. The luxurious contemporary lodge nestled in the hillside hosts up to a maximum of 12 guests and overlooks the wildlife reserve, a reclaimed Eden in a once remote wilderness. Waking up to the sounds and sights of the African bush, sundowners above the elephants’ favourite watering hole, relaxing in a secluded private swimming pool overlooking the bush, together with sumptuous dinners under the stars, provide the memories that linger long after your stay. The passionate and experienced ranger guides guests through the rolling landscape, ever willing to stop and discuss plants, insects, birds and game spotted along the way. Up close and personal interaction with a cheetah is a highlight. Superb cuisine, local drinks and two game drives daily included in the rate. Two or three nights recommended to get the full experience. Malari-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hopewell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing