We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect ending for my SA trip”
Review of Hopewell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hopewell Lodge
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect ending for my SA trip”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hopewell can only be described as a corner of paradise (quoting another reviewer). It is such a magical place, with impeccable accommodations decorated to perfection and class and with personalized game drives with amazing viewings of rhinos, hippos, water buffaloes, elephants, zebras, giraffes, hyenas, jackals, and a one of kind experience of walking with a Tabu, a cheetah. The staff makes one feel at home from the beginning, from the Manager (Anthony) to the chef (John), to the ranger (Paulie) to the cleaning staff (Mary and Monica), everyone caters to one´s every whim and wishes. It is probably the only game lodge where you will have the entire staff and lodge for yourself. They have a policy of only having one guest at a time, which makes the experience that much more personalized and incredible. If you are looking for personalized treatment at a perfect location with the most professional and warm staff, and with great viewings of animals in the wild (and as I said walking with a cheetah!!!) then Hopewell is your place! Thank you so much for making this experience the perfect and dream ending for our SA trip. This is a very special place that we hope we can go back in the future.

Room Tip: Every lodge is AMAZING. They have 4 lodges if I am not mistaken, we stayed at the buffalo lodge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank gomeza04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a fantastic private game reserve. I cannot recommend it highly enough! The staff are so cheerful, smiling and attentive. The ranger Anthony and the tracker Paul are most informative and interesting. The drives through the reserve were fascinating and we saw all the animals at very close range. Everywhere you look is picturesque. We started with tea on the verandah overlooking the watering hole, but when I was shown to my lodge I could not believe how gorgeous it was. The rooms are spacious and so tastefully decorated, from the smallest item of art to the luxurious bath, where you can lie back and gaze over the infinity pool down to the watering hole where the elephants stroll past.....yes honestly its a paradise. The food is excellent, the chef could not have been more obliging. I hope to return one day. It would be the perfect place to go with friends for a special birthday or anniversary. There is not one single thing I can think of that could have improved my stay at Hopewell. I took hundreds of photos. If you are considering staying here, I promise you will not regret it.

Room Tip: The infinity pool is beautiful, and overlooking the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our fifth visit - this time four four nights with our family - six adults, 4 children aged 6 - 11. Many thanks to all staff - John for providing special children's meals, and 'haute cuisine' for adults with fine wines, a bush lunch, birthday cake for my wife (70) and granddaughter (8) on our last full day. To Monica,Mary and Monica for housekeeping, Paulie for tracking and Antony, manager/ranger, for his undivided attention, amazing game drives, teaching the children so many things about the animals and birds and how to recognise their tracks. Our sole occupancy of the lodge and suites - all a unique experience, and lastly to Thabo the cheetah for compliance in allowing us all to stroke him on our last game drive. Luxury five star in every way.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent but private suites wonderful with own plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCsuperstar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at Hopewell in February 2014. On arrival I was greeted so warmly by the Manager Anthony who's hospitality throughout the stay was attentive & informative. He was a superb host and the chef John, maids Mary and Monica and ranger Paulie all made the stay exquisite with great attention to detail. I stayed in the Zebra suite, I was overwhelmed with the exquisite layout, decor, positioning, view and ambience of the suite and immediately felt that I never wanted to leave! My view was over the watering hole and the water buck were on full display. The food, meals and service were all superb, the game drives were wonderful and we saw so much, so close. The landscape was really interesting and surrounded by lush green hills, so peaceful and perfect. At the lodge we were treated to a visit by the cheetah! He licked my hand as I sat in complete awe! I have been to a 5* game reserve in Kruger before but Hopewell goes beyond 'stars' in my opinion, it is a corner of paradise. At the lodge they make you feel so at home you will never want to leave, the private lodge and personal service make it truly unique. If you get the opportunity to stay here then DO. I fully intend to return again with my family in the not too distant future. You are a wonderful team, thank you so much for making my stay so very special!

Room Tip: ALL the suites were amazing! We got a tour of them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AminahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have returned every year for the past 13 years, this really is a home in the bush. Totally exclusive, peaceful and relaxing. The staff are wonderful and this is a place to put your feet up, write, paint, read and explore. without fail there is always something new to see and to witness the evolution and rehabilitation of such a wonderfully unique place is precious indeed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hopewell for 4 nights in December 2014, we couldn't have been looked after better from the moment we arrived until the sad time of our departure, the hospitality was very special, the food delicious and the Accomodation luxurious. The morning and evening safaris were amazing and we saw all kinds of amazing animals in their natural habitat. 5 stars indeed, a beautiful place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dominic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I never leave reviews whether good bad or indifferent but could not leave Hopewell without writing about it as the service was exceptional.

Wow what a fantastic stay Hopewell Lodge is truly unique. Having stayed in many other luxury hotels and lodges there really is something that sets Hopewell apart and that is the attitude and the fantastic team there, in a nutshell it really is a home from home albeit with Giraffe, Cheetah and many other animals wandering around in your rather large garden.

The Staff are really fantastic and looked after our every need making our stay a truly memorable one. Thank you Anthony, Karin(hope I spelt this correctly), John, Monica, Mary and Paulie. Not forgetting everyone else! Thank you.

The rooms are amazing and the relaxed attitude due to the lack of some of the more aggressive animals (lion, leopard, baboon) etc made it even more of a pleasure as you did not have to be chaperoned (apart from the Children) and meeting Tabu the Cheetah was also truly magical and the reason we needed to keep an eye on the kids.

The set up an amazing NYE party in the Boma for us although 50% of the party were ill due to a bug from previous travels (nothing to do with Hopewell).

On our return our transfer failed to turn up and we were quite close to missing our flight from Port Elizabeth but Anthony and Paulie managed to get us to the Airport in time for our flight, no easy task as there were eight of us and luggage, so a massive thank you to Anthony and Paulie for going beyond the call of duty there.



Hopefully we will be back again we will certainly be recommending you to all.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
24.8 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
348 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
2.2 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
6.8 mi away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
24.5 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopewell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopewell Lodge

Property: Hopewell Lodge
Address: R72, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hopewell Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopewell Lodge is an exclusive luxury hideaway on a private African game reserve in South Africa's beautiful Eastern Cape. The luxurious lodge nestled in the hillside hosts up to 12 guests and overlooks the wildlife reserve, a reclaimed Eden in a once remote wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hopewell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing