We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stadium Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
SUN1 Port Elizabeth(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Humewood Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brookes Hill Suites(Port Elizabeth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
266
60
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
60
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dunesbreadaddo elephant parkfish eagleslocal pubwelcome drinkday triplion roomwonderful daysgreat hostsfruit juicebird lifeother guestssteakfamily roomspent nightsdeck overlooking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Looks like I'm going to be the first to give a less than glowing review of Dung Beetle. We stayed for 3 nights here in order to go for the All Blacks v Boks game last August, which was the main reason for coming to PE after spending nearly 3 weeks touring across beautiful South Africa. We found the lodge on tripadvisor and booked it based on the reviews but never realised that most reviews were from people who had also booked the special 3 night package or paid for extra activities like game drives.

We had our own vehicle (which we had driven across 5000 km, including during our 6 day stay in Kruger) and we were therefore quite comfortable to self drive even into Addo. As a result we did not do any game drives with Etta & Derek, nor did we have time to do any canoe rides or explore the sand dunes as we arrived quite late on day 1, spent day 2 in the city and at the game and on day 3 drove into Addo and then packed before we left SA the next day. As soon as we arrived late evening one of the first questions Etta asked was why we had not booked their 3 night package (which includes game drives etc). This question was repeatedly posed throughout our stay! I was also constantly requested to book the massages available (which I did not). After repeatedly being informed of the special BBQ on offer our friend opted for it but considered it overpriced as he had to supply the meats, while the lodge provided the BBQ, salad, bread and wine. It was quite obvious that she was less than pleased that we did not spend on any extra activities during our stay. This displeasure was evident until the very last day and only changed, when we donated most of our clothing/shoes etc to the Aids Rehabilitation Centre! That was the one time when we experienced some genuine warmth! After having stayed in 5 other wonderfully hospitable b&b's during our 3 week stay in SA, it was a disappointing experience and is the only reason why we have rated the lodge as average.

However, the lodge itself was lovely, breakfasts on the deck were amazingly beautiful (Dereks bread is a must try!), the staff were really very helpful and rooms spacious and clean. A little less enthusiasm to 'sell the extra services on offer' would help!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patchy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natureguideAddo, Owner at Dungbeetle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

I must apologise if you feel you were approached too many times on activities. Perhaps both Derek and Etta approached you to recommend what is available. People too often arrive not realising that booking is essential. Our wish is fir you to enjoy your stay and experience what you can, without being disapponted when tours are not available due to late bookings. We certainly never wish to put you under pressure. No, is no. With regards to the Aids Foundation to which you kindly donated clothing, the clothes were collected several weeks after you had donated them, we have been thanked for them, but I was not able to trace your e mail to thenk you. I now offer a belated thanks. They were much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This an excellent B&B accommodation on the banks of the Sundays River and only 5 minutes from the south entrance to Addo Elephant Park and just off the N2 near Port Elizabeth. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and ours had balconies overlooking the river and the Alexandria sand dunes. Breakfasts were excellent and were on the ground floor terrace also overlooking the river and dunes. Etta and Derek are both qualified game reserve guides as well as being excellent hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the all-day game drive and wish we could have stayed longer to explore the sand dunes and cruise on the Sundays River. Thanks, Etta & Derek.

Room Tip: Fish Eagle & Afrika rooms overlook the river and dunes.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The Dungbeetle River Lodge certainly has a lot of character. A wooden building on the banks of the Sunday river. Each room individually and idiosyncractically designed and furnished. Our room had two large wooden carved elephants as bed posts. But they are also spacious, well furnished, comfortable and ours had a deck looking out over the river and the sand dunes on the opposite bank. The hosts Derek and Etta are welcoming and knowledgable. We took a full day's game viewing drive in the nearby Addo Elephant Park with Etta which was both enjoyable and informative. An added bonus is eating and drinking at the local 'Grunters' pub just a couple of minutes walk away. In many ways a typical small town drinking den but very welcoming, good food and cheap beer. The name 'Grunters' doesn't refer to the habits of the customers but to the sounds that a local fish makes as it surfaces in the water.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms overlooking the river if you can.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Dear Etta & Derek, thank you so much for the wonderful days at the DungBeetle River Lodge!! The safari with all your explanations about the animals and plants was truely amazing and a perfect birthday for Daniel! Thank you so much for your hospitality - we hope to see you again!
Daniel & Barbara

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BarbaraDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Dear Etta and Derek,

The stay at DungBeetle was short but intence.
We enjoyed your hopitality and friendness.
You have a nice familiy and we hope to visit your place for a much longer time.

Thank you en goedendag

Mark & Griet

Room Tip: There all beautifull
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews