We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay and perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Colchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

In August we (family of 5) stayed for 3 days at this lodge. A wonderful welcome and nice spacious African style rooms. After a great breakfast Etta took us to Addo NP. She is very knowledgable and was truly accommodating to our photography wishes. On the last night Etta and Derek asked us to join them and some of their friends for a Art and Garfunkel revival in Port Elisabeth. We had a great time and felt proud to be part of the local community. We can certainly recommend a stay in this nice lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Dungbeetle River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Dungbeetle River Lodge was one of the nicest lodges that we stay in during our three week visit to South Africa.

By mistake in the middle of the night we saw the sign Dungbeetle, and as there were not many guesthouses around we decided to take a chance, as we were not too thrilled by the name.

Had we not stayed at the lodge, then we would have made on of the largest mistakes on our South African journey, as most of the wild parks that we wanted to see were close by.

The owners Etta and Derek are not only professional guides, but are also professional cooks. Their omelets are simply out of this world. Also, as I enjoy my bacon crisp, the kitchen staff were the only ones that could make crispy bacon with a smile.

As it was spring the weather was somewhat cold and it was one of the few lodges that had good heating, namely the mattresses had heating + also a radiator in the room.

A large thank you to Derek for being the perfect guide in Addo elephant park and truly going out of his was to show us the different wild animals.
A large thank you to Etta, who helped us with everything that we needed and also told us which towns to visit on our way back to Cape Town d Finland.
A large thank you to the kitchen staff for their crispy bacon and their great sense of humor!

Truly a Lodge that we will not forget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were visiting Addo elephant park in October and found Dung Beetle River lodge on trip advisor, wonderful reviews and thought it would be a good bet for the 2 nights we were visiting the park on our road trip around South Africa. We were not wrong, it lived up to all its wonderful reviews and more; the best part of our holiday; it felt like a home away from home. Derek and Eta wonderful hosts, bedrooms very clean and comfortable, breakfast superb, homemade jams, bread and excellent cooked breakfast, overlooking the beautiful Sunday's river.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed there in September 2013 with our 11 month old baby daughter. Although we arrived at 10pm the owners had prepared a bed for the baby and were unbelievable friendly. The breakfast was amazing and our baby was allowed to play freely.
The owners are very caring and so friendly. It is a very clean and lovely place. We stayed there for three days and would have loved to stay longer. To Addo National Park it is just a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you visit Addo National Park be sure to stop by in the Dungbeetle River Lodge. It's run by Derek and Etta, a very friendly and nice couple. The view from the Hotel across the Sundays River is fantastic and Etta serves deilcious homemade jam for breakfast. Derek took us on a trip to the National Park, he is very knowledgeable about where best to go to see various animals up close. We really enjoyed our stay at Dungbeetle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here in November 2007, and this is still the best place we have eve stayed. Saw the advert in a tourist guide for accommodation, thought the name was amusing and so had to go and have a look intending on staying one night however it was that good we stayed three. We would have stayed longer only due to time constraints we had to move on reluctantly. Our next trip to SA will be planned around staying at this Lodge.

Where do I start,
Complaints, Nil

Hospitality, Wow, 5* PLUS, way and beyond anything I have known.

Rooms, Yet again 5* PLUS, We spent one night in the Big Five room, this I believe is their smallest room, but still more than enough room.The wet room being out of this world.We then spent 2 nights in the Fish Eagle Suite, huge room with a massive balcony overlooking the Sunday River and sand dunes.

Food, again 5* PLUS, from the homemade preserves and bread to the full English breakfast, everything was perfect.

If the world needed anyone to show them how guest accommodation should be run, then Derek and Etta should be their first call. To sum up, If you want value for money, good food , fantastic hospitality and brilliant rooms, this is the place.They also provided fishing gear, canoes and bicycles, as well as being a few miles from Port Elizabeth and Addo Elephant Park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0rap63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We slept in fish eagle suite. The best room of our trip in SA. Derek&Etta are wonderful people and very patient hosts. They make an amazing organic breakfast. This lodge is really convenient for dunes trekking or sand boarding and Addo safari. We recommend river view rooms! Thanks Derek, Thanks Etta!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinusAndPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
0.6 mi away
Elephants Footprint Lodge
Elephants Footprint Lodge
#1 of 9 in Colchester
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Happy Jackal Guest House
Happy Jackal Guest House
#4 of 9 in Colchester
158 reviews
19.4 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sundune Guest House & Self-Catering
12.8 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
321 reviews
15.2 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungbeetle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungbeetle River Lodge

Address: 76 Aqua Vista Crescent | Cannonville, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range: £59 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dungbeetle River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Safari Style accommodations at Dungbeetle River Lodge near the entry point to the world famous Addo National Elephant Park and some of the finest game reserves in the Eastern Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dungbeetle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing