We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephants Footprint Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Colchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had dinner here twice. African cuisine cooked by french owners was excellent. We didn't stay here. So we can only write about dinner. The buffet was very good on one day. The second time we had zebra and kudu. The sweet potato gratin was also delicious.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank HolidaycheckZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Extremely well placed at the south entrance of Addo Elephant Park, the hosts of this exceptional B&B offer no less than their best. They treat you to a variety of African plates with a french twist. The best cuisine in town. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and tidy. THe staff is also incredibly helpful. We found many interesting things to do thanks to their aid and organization. We highly recommend this B&B for all travellers with different expectations as they tailor everything to you!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lip_Aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

It was an amazing stay at this lodge! Starting with the colorful tidy rooms (especially the relaxing bath we always took with a glass of wine in front of us.. :) ), good food and SA wine, and ending up with the excellent atmosphere created by the owners themselves! Cristophe and Isabelle, you are amazing people and the thing we liked best about you is that you are always able to transmit your wonderful attitude to each of your guest, taking good care of each of them. We will always recommend you! Good luck in the years to come!

Room Tip: every room offers the same conditions: very good. It is a very quite area, far from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I did not stay in the lodge. I stayed in Matyholwent Camp, inside the Addo Park However, since the sole restaurant in the Park is in the main camp - about 38 km from our camp - we went to the Elephants Footprint Lodge to have dinner twice.
It is close to the Southern entrance of the park. The restaurant is now run by a French family that decided to leave everything in France to settle in South Africa. They have been running the lodge since February 2012. I say that because I read some negative comments here.
They serve South African dishes and some French sides and desserts: French baked potatoes, ratatouille, flan parisien, Crème bruléee.
The food is very good! I recommend the South African Springbok Potjie and the Capaccio (Kudu and Wathog!). The prices are reasonable: 2 course meals, 130 rands -3 course meals, 150 rands.
They have a honesty bar. A bottle of wine costs 90 rands.
Isabelle is very nice and speaks English and French :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pri-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

What a fresh approach to customer service! the new owners (from France), Isabelle & Christoff are the perfects hosts - everything was ready as discussed when the booking was made, the rooms were perfect, loved the small detail and the food delicious!

Room Tip: keep left, number 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The building looks like a luxurious game lodge, rahter than a guesthouse. The rooms are extremely spacious with a high "African type" ceiling, generously furnished with taste. The place is located on the edge of Addo Elephant National Park, almost next (2 km) to the south gate. There are no TV sets in the rooms, as the sound of the TV's would disturb other guests (!). Due to the structure of the reed roofs, the sound isolation is rather poor and one can hear his neighbor cough. The open structure bathroom and open air shower are just great.
The beds are too short, but very wide an equipped with an excellent mosquito net.
Full English breakfast on demand . The splash pool can be refreshing but does not look very inviting. The guest house has diner facility and offers a la cart or (when a group stays overnight) a buffet with typical South African food and meat.
We stayed 3 nights and payed ZAR 4.080.
We recommend this place in case one does not care for a TV set in the room, accept a ceiling ventilator as only device to give some "cooling" effect and does not bother on the noise of neighbors.
Suggestion: supply free earplugs, like we got in a Scottish B&B in the middle of a city. It worked out very well ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

It saddens me to read the previous review and sincerely hope the writer considers to remove it because, in my humble opinion, the review seems rather personal.
Although I've never written a review about the many accommodations I visit; in this case I'll gladly make an exception. Why? If there is one Lodge that doesn't deserve a review like the previous one it's Elephants Footprint Lodge.

I've visited Elephants Footprint Lodge on many occasions over the past 5 years with the most demanding groups of guest and not once was the food anything less than perfect, the rooms anything less than impeccable and the service anything less than fantastic.

Without exception the host bends over backwards to accommodate any request they have and answer any question, no matter how silly they sometimes seem to me.

I'm sorry that they caught Geoff on a bad day; scorpion stings don't tend to bring out the best in people. The fact that he's still standing up straight doing what he loves most says a lot about the kind of person he is. And yes, this is Africa there are scorpions, big hairy spiders and poisonous snakes too, that's all part of the African adventure. The last two times I visited a game reserve last year I was bitten by a tick and got seriously sick but I won't blame the reserve for not posting warning signs.....

The Addo Park is not a zoo so it's impossible to say were in the park you shall see the most animals. It's just a matter of luck, being in the right place at the right time. Since Elephants are my favorite animal I feel privileged to be in a position to frequent the Addo Park whenever I feel like it. My findings,..... depending on the season, temperature, wind and recent rainfall all animals can be in any given part of the park. With so many variables every visit is different, suprising and I've always seen an variety of interesting animals. Which is the great thing about the Addo Park. With the diversity and quantity of animals living there only a blind man can miss them all. I've seen big herds of Elephants enjoying themselves in the water in the middle of the day and I've seen empty dam's early morning and vice versa.

My conclusion, Geoff on a bad day beats the average host of any other guesthouse on a good day and I look forward to my next visit on the 3rd of April. Only a few weeks to go until my next Elephants Footprint. Hope to hear the jackal cry again at night to put the cherry on top!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreaterAddoJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
0.8 mi away
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Dungbeetle River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Colchester
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Jackal Guest House
Happy Jackal Guest House
#3 of 9 in Colchester
162 reviews
15.5 mi away
Gerald's Gift Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
459 reviews
12.5 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#5 of 11 in Addo
163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sundune Guest House & Self-Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephants Footprint Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephants Footprint Lodge

Address: 1 Riverside Drive | Riverside Park, Colchester 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range: £58 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephants Footprint Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephants Footprint Lodge offers excellent accommodation with 12 en suite rooms under thatch room in a lapa style. Situated 2km from the Greater Addo Elephant National Park Southern Gate. This makes it the gateway to the Route of the Giants and the ideal getaway for an unique and unforgettable holiday. Dinner is served upon request Booking Essential ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephants Footprint Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing