We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elephants Footprint Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Colchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for three nights. The room was large and well equipped and the service from the manager excellent. And the dinners were good as well, and very good value, which is important since there may not be many alternatives nearby. We did tours of Addo (morning) and Schotia (afternoon), both via Schotia, which will be the case for many guests who stay at the Elephants Footprint Lodge. These were both good, and I think you get what you can expect. We also did a morning tour at Kwantu, further North-East, which is very good and more luxurious, but actually cheap. If you get to the Elephants Footprint Lodge, you are presumably doing an extensive tour of Cape Province. Consider adding a day to see Kwantu, Grahamstown, Bathurst, Port Alfred, Kenton on Sea, etc. Worthwhile if you have a full day available and are prepared for the driving, 350km altogether.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    55
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
58
122
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just a beautiful place. Rest assured. A lovely welcome and at night beautiful stars. Not to far from Addo's elephants. And the shower is outside. That is a wonderful experience. Just go there and find out yourselfs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gaby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The Lodge is conveniently only 5 minutes away from the Addo Elephant Park south entrance. The breakfast and evening meals were very good with guests able to make use of the 'honesty' bar. The bedrooms were clean and well furnished, there being a hot outside shower as well as a bathroom. On one morning, for whatever reason, there seemed to be no hot water but this was only a minor issue.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weinstadt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Nice African styled rooms with outdoor-shower. Possibility to get dinner at the location as well as Lunch packages. Very close to South entrance of Addo. We absolutely can recommend this location. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RUNESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had rooms 4 and 10 and liked the lay out of the resort and rooms. The rooms are very noisy - you will hear everything that is happening next door. Nights are quiet though. The outdoor shower is funny and nice to use. The small pool was dirty and should be cleaned better. Breakfast is typical south african so don't expect too much (usual spread, eggs cooked to order). The B&B is located rather near to the busy N2 motorway and it does not feel like you are in nature. The staff is friendly and the drive to enter Addo Elephant park is nearby. Recommend for one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were warmly welcomed at elephants foot despite not arriving until late in the evening due to a delay on travelling from Jo'burg. The whole place was beautiful with great character. The outside shower was special. Breakfast was very well prepared and 'set us up' for the day. Great location very near to Addo Elephant Park which was awesome - don't fail to give yourselves a day to drive this reserve to see beautiful families of elephants and many other animals.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon and Jeni (host) helped us make the most of our short stay on the fringes of Addo Elephant Park. Nothing was too much trouble, the facilities were good and the accommodation was lovely with great attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colchester
0.6 mi away
Dungbeetle River Lodge
Dungbeetle River Lodge
#2 of 9 in Colchester
314 reviews
14.6 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
11.5 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sundune Guest House & Self-Catering
12.3 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
312 reviews
19.0 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephants Footprint Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephants Footprint Lodge

Property: Elephants Footprint Lodge
Address: 1 Riverside Drive | Riverside Park, Colchester 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephants Footprint Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephants Footprint Lodge offers excellent accommodation with 12 en suite rooms under thatch room in a lapa style. Situated 2km from the Greater Addo Elephant National Park Southern Gate. This makes it the gateway to the Route of the Giants and the ideal getaway for an unique and unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephants Footprint Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing