We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The property was great, with good facilities and...”
Rear view of Le Fresne with private solar heated pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear view of Le Fresne with private solar heated pool
Front view of Le Fresne Pool and orchard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Rear view of Le Fresne with private solar heated pool
Front view of Le Fresne
Pool and orchard
Front of house
The fully equipped kitchen
Dining area with seating for 14 people
The cosy lounge
Sheltered BBQ
Covered terrace with view of pool and orchard
Garden to front of house
View to the orchard
Oodles of character
Family room
A double room
Games room with free use of pool table
Chateau Montgomery in the picturesque town of Ducey
Lac du Vezins
A beautiful lakeside walk in Vezins
Le Mont St Michel
Miles of sandy beach within 20 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Vezins, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
4lan36
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The property was great, with good facilities and is family friendly, comfortable and located in a good position.”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Le Fresne is an attractive renovated farmhouse and is completely family friendly. I stayed for 2 weeks with 6 other adults and 7 children. As well as adequate bedrooms there is a good sized lounge and excellent kitchen/dining room with a large table which allowed us all to eat together. There is a separate games room and a pleasant pool and sunbathing area which is gated. The children loved the outdoor spaces, which enabled them to run around in a safe environment with minimum supervision. The location is good with the town of Ducey only 5 kilometres away for shopping and other usual facilities. The owners, Karen and Gil, live next door and were available for advise of the local area and assistance if needed. Overall my family enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend this property for a lovely holiday in Normandy.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2017
Dear Alan and Erica
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are so pleased that you found the house so well suited for your little ones and enjoyed this very special part of Normandy. We hope to welcome you back one day.
With our very best wishes
Karen and Gil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiswatk...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house and grounds.”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well equipped and maintained house and grounds.Although weather not good during
our stay there are still plenty of things to occupy everyone,safe garden for chidren,
dvd's,pool room etc.Karen and Gill are very friendly and available should you need
them although they do not interfere.We would recommend staying there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Dear Louis and Lorraine
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a delight for us to meet you and your lovely family. I wish we could have made the weather better for you but are glad that you still enjoyed the house and found plenty to do. Hope to see you all again one day.
With our very best wishes
Karen and Gil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmai1
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent for families”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A lovely house for families, well - equipped and with a wonderful garden and pool. Very child friendly with something for everyone, and lots to do in the local area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Dear Emma
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you all and we would be very happy to welcome you back to Le Fresne one day.
With our very best of wishes
Karen and Gil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place for a family holiday!”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at Le Fresne for a week in late June. Our party comprised of three couples, each with a toddler - the six bedrooms working perfectly to give each couple and their child separate rooms. Stair gates are installed to the top and bottom of both flights of stairs, and there is a fence and double latching gates around the pool, so we all felt at ease to let our children run around and play as they wished.

We had excellent weather and the pool was perfect for cooling down and playing with the children. The garden is amazing, with expanses of lush grass, pretty flowers, an orchard (delicious cherries!), hammock, swings, slide and playhouses. With the weather so good, most meals were taken on the verandah, but there was also a large dining table inside, open to the kitchen. The living room was large, cool and comfortable.

The owners, Karen and Gil live in the adjacent barn and were very friendly and helpful (Thanks especially in the urgent 'toddler needs milk' situation!)

We made trips out to the beach at Carolles, St Malo old town and the nearby aquarium, and Zoo de Champrepus. There are nearby supermarkets at Ducey and Saint-Hillaire for easy food shopping, but I would also highly recommend the market at Saint-Hillaire (Wednesdays) for much cheaper local produce. Whilst there, sample the pastries at the patissier on the corner of the market square (place delaporte / rue de zierikzee) - delicious!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thanks so much Barry, your review is very much appreciated. We do hope you'll visit again in the future.
Take care
Karen and Gil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natalie c
1 review
“Fantastic for families”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We cannot recommend this beautiful holiday home enough. We were lucky to have it for a week in June, during a heatwave! The house is stunning, in beautiful gardens, a real escape from busy everyday life. Inside is everything you could possibly need, we had three toddlers in tow and couldn't have asked for a more child friendly place; high chairs, plates, cups, bowls, black out blinds, stair gates, cots, you name it they've got it. Outside is a brilliant pool (kindly maintained everyday), shady veranda (perfect for kids in the sag and adult BBQs in the evening) and even more kids fun in the gardens, they especially loved the play houses, swings and slide.
Gil and Karen are incredibly welcoming and helpful whilst leaving you to enjoy the house, the perfect balance.
Great family places nearby on cooler days included the aquarium at st malo and lovely harbour old town, plus the zoo about 40 mins away is a must.
I could go on and on about how much we loved Le Fresne, we had such a wonderful week and would love to come back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Dear Natalie
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure for us to host you, your little ones and your friends and we'd be delighted to see you again at Le Fresne.
With our very best wishes
Karen and Gil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fantula
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been more perfect”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What an absolute joy this is! The house and gardens are beautiful and Karen and Gil who own the property have thought of everything to ensure a fabulous holiday. On arrival we found fizz in the fridge and were told we could pilfer eggs from the chickens and rhubarb and parsley and rosemary and fruit from the orchard. The pool is a perfect size for everyone from toddlers to aged grandparents (!) and there are garden games available in addition to the swings, playhouses, hammock, badminton net, pool table .......the list is endless! Inside, the kitchen has everything you need to prepare anything you want and the sitting room is full of games, DVDs, and books. There was even CBeebies for our younger visitors - much appreciated after things got manic after a bout of football or water fights! There are 3 bathrooms so no one has to wait in desperation and the beds are wonderfully comfy. I could write endlessly about the success of our fortnight here - we made excursions to some beautiful places nearby - but the most precious memories I have and will always treasure are those involving this gorgeous property and it's lovely, warm and helpful owners who helped to make this holiday so incredibly special. Go! Go! GO NOW!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens
Liked least: Bit of sound travel between floors so had to be very quiet for the babies asleep.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you Jo, it was an absolute joy for us too.
We are so pleased that you chose Le Fresne for your special anniversary celebrations and that the house met all of your expectations.
We sincerely hope to see you again one day.
Kind Regards
Karen and Gil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianamorg...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous holiday with our family”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Le Fresne is the perfect holiday for family's of all ages. From the beautiful safe garden for the littlel ones to the pool room for for children and adults. For the grandparents there is a lovely cool sitting room with TV, for us the Olympics! to the quiet part of the garden with a hammock. Everyone loved the pool. Pretty Ducey not far away as are supermarkets and lots of places to visit. What made it so special for us was having Karen and Gil nex the door, thank you both so much for your kindness and making us so welcome. We would love to visit your lovely house again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we loved the whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Diana. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your lovely family and we're so happy that you had such a good time celebrating your special birthday.
It would be an absolute pleasure to see you again one day.
Kind Regards
Karen and Gil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing