We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore Stockholm”
Review of Scandic Talk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Talk
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alvsjo
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife, 2 kids (ages 7 and 10) and I had a 4-night stay in this conference hotel in Alvsjö, using it as a base to explore Stockholm. The hotel itself is about a 5 minute walk (rather steep incline) from the Alvsjö station, and there is a roof over most of the path which helps when it rains. Trains into and out of Stockholm ran very frequently. I think it took about 10 min from the Alvsjö stop to Centralen. Things worked out very well for us because the hotel is very large and was more-or-less empty, I guess because the summer season had begun. They had even gone so far as to set up entertainment for kids in some of the conference space -- there were lots of toys, playhouses, and a movie "theater" e t c, and even a floor hockey court. The hotel itself changed names from Rica Talk to Scandic Talk on the second day of our stay. We awoke to have a mini-helicopter outside our window lifting the gigantic Scandic sign onto the roof. Never seen anything like that before. We stayed on the 9th floor (high-speed passcard-secured elevators) against the busy street, but we were high enough up that the road noise was not an issue. In fact, the hotel is "lined" with plexiglass walls outside the normal walls like a shell, which I think helps with the road noise. The room itself was very tight for the 4 of us. A bit too tight. We has anticipated a larger room since we were 4, but they just tossed a couple of extra beds into it. So one had to climb over beds continuously. The room was tired but clean; however, there was a positive airflow into our bathroom from elsewhere in the hotel which resulted in an unpleasant smell. There was also a strange clouded "window" between the room itself and the bathroom so that if you turned on the light in the bathroom at night, you woke everyone up. I guess the idea was to let light into the bathroom -- had never seen that before. The room boasted a first-generation flat screen TV mounted on the wall to which a laptop could not be connected. Wifi was free and worked reasonably well, but you had to renew every 24 hours. There was a safe for valuables in the room. The hallway was carpeted which reduced the noise from passers-by. There were even some working ice machines on certain of the floors, which was unusual I thought. We also thought the breakfast was pretty comprehensive and really quite satisfactory. The variation was such that one could choose a different breakfast "theme" for each of the 4 days. There was also a lower service table just for kids so that they could pick and choose for themselves. There was also a pub and I guess a smaller evening kitchen connected to it. Other than that, dining choices in the area were rather few. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised and would certainly consider staying here again. That said, I can imagine that the atmosphere is quite a bit different when conference season is underway and the place is packed.

Room Tip: The higher the better. On one side is a busy street and on the other side are the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGF_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

The only reason to stay there is if your meeting is being held there. The rooms are small, badly kept and simple. Very simple breakfast. Lunch served at the restaurant was terrible. The only positive aspect was the reception's staff, who were helpful whenever needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is the best possible choice for trips related to activities in the Stockholmsmässan conference centre which is literally next door. I have visited Stockholm twice, both times for business in the conference centre, the first time I stayed in the city centre and the next in the Scandic. My feeling was that it is not really convenient for sightseeing -I prefer to walk/run to the city rather than use transport, which is necessary when staying in the Scandic. On the other hand, it's great if you have work to do in the Stockholmsmässan, you can always go downtown easily by train and the hotel itself is clean, has all the amenities and offers nice view in the higher floors.

Recommended under certain conditions, i.e. work in the Stockholmsmässan, otherwise I'd rather stay closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavmanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed six nights at this hotel while attending a conference at the Stockholm Convention Centre which adjoins this hotel. The room rate was too excessive (even for Sweden) for its quality, and facilities offered. This hotel was formerly Rica Talk Hotel, and the rooms need updating. In the parking garage level of the hotel is a small sauna, and a small exercise room. Our stay at this hotel was preceded by a two week tour of Sweden and Denmark, and the room rate at this hotel was by far the highest we ever paid, and the quality of the room was definitely the worst. We later discovered that there are other hotels in the immediate vicinity, with very likely lower room rates. Some of the delegates did stay in other hotels which were only a couple of minutes walk from the Convention Centre. We cannot comment on the quality or the room rates of these hotels. Anyone attending a conference at this location is strongly advised to look at alternate accommodation. We had to pre-pay our hotel, as a part of the registration, and therefore did not have the luxury of comparing other hotels while we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is poor value. Because it is next to the conference centre and I presume can count on custom it makes no effort. The foyer is looks like a pre 1989 East German hotel. there is no room service. NO minibar and no coffee making facilities in the rooms. The breakfast is passable, but the rest of the food is just a notch above acceptable. There is a machine in the foyer that for a price dispenses soggy sandwiches with wilted lettuce if you are really desperate . Do not go for the all you can eat buffet in the evening- there is the choice of two main courses -chicken and potato or salmon and potato. Be prepared to wait at least 5 minutes for any question you wish to address to reception because even when it is busy there will only be one person there. Despite the expense of this hotel there is no TV beyond Scandanavian channels- abandon hope if you are German/French/Italian. There is BBC world but if you are a sports fan you will be very disappointed as there appears to be no sports channels - certainly none that showed the world cup or Wimbledon. The lamp on my desk did not work.

Avoid, avoid, avoid - stay in town the train service is excellent and this hotel is not worth the money

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Connected to the Stockholm conference hall, it is the closest and most convenient for those attending meetings. 2-3 train stops away from the town center. Quite a ways from the airport. Rooms are reasonably sizes, clean. Good outlets and USB plug in locations for the business traveler. A little on the expensive side for what it is, but that is true for most of the city, and especially true for anything conference related. Breakfast is included and the buffet is plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the above hotel for 4 days. The hotel is modern and clean.
Breakfast needs improvement, there is no fish option (Salmon, Kippers, Prawn) that is commonly available in Scandinavian hotels. Banana appeared once during my stay. Cheese is a poor quality. No mushrooms!. Scrambled eggs not good at all and there is no fried egg at all and the staff will not do it.
There is no point of having 15 type of bread while the basics are no available. There is a need for a good attention to the breakfast. Staff are very polite, efficient and very helpful.
The train station is 4 minutes away (walking), and there is a big superstore 5 minutes walk.
The hotel is expensive and far from the attractions. After paying so much, there is no tea and coffee facilities in the room. Surprisingly they have Iron! Internet is very good and free.

Room Tip: Hotels in the centre are cheaper with better room facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aldermoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvsjo
Motel L Alvsjo
#1 of 4 in Alvsjo
61 reviews
Best Western Royal Star
#92 of 155 in Stockholm
162 reviews
Hotel Alvsjo
#4 of 4 in Alvsjo
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 155 in Stockholm
2,428 reviews
ApartHotel Telefonplan
#108 of 155 in Stockholm
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Talk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Talk

Address: Massvagen 2, Alvsjo 125 80, Sweden (Formerly Rica Talk Hotel)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Alvsjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alvsjo
Price Range: £75 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scandic Talk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Talk in Stockholm - the perfect hotel for meetings as well as for families. Stockholm city is only 10 minutes away by train or car.Hotel Scandic Talk is located right next to Stockholmsmässan in Alvsjo, and Stockholm city is easily accessible by train or car in only 10 minutes. Large green areas are in the immediate vicinity of our hotel, which invite you to enjoy outdoor activities. Scandic Talk is a modern hotel full of experiences and opportunities for relaxation, for those here on business as well as those travelling with family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Talk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Talk Stockholm
Hotel Rica Talk
Scandic Talk Stockholm County/Alvsjo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing