We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pretty Chateau”

Chateau et jardins de Losse
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Thonac
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very pretty Chateau”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Brilliant. Be warned, a lot of places do not take cards so have cash on you. This place opened at 12am as well.

We had a tour guide to show us around who only spoke French however we were given a leaflet in English but Hubby did feel that she should have tried to explain some things to us in English?
This place was pretty & I have some fantastic photos

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank auntiehub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    72
    25
    15
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a terrific Chateau to visit and - in my view - it seems to be a bit or a hidden gem. Note that the tours are in French, but the guide is extremely friendly and welcoming, and she provided us with excellent hand-outs in English.

The history of the Chateau is very interesting and there is plenty to enjoy and absorb. The gardens are wonderful to walk around - our kids (8,6,4) loved them ....they also liked clambering down into the dry moat!

As an addition to our visit to the Chateau we had a really nice morning tea on the river near the church at St Leon sur Vezere. I'd recommend a visit here too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank voyage_en_Provence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
165 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Charming chateau on a sunny Sunday in Sept.”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The interior of the chateau was very interesting. The history and setting were also engaging.
The gardens were somewhat limited, but it was a lovely day perfect for visiting a chateau.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ABQMiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
689 reviews
395 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Nice house”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We visited the Chateau et Jardins de Losse in Sept. and very much enjoyed the house but we expected much more from the garden. The guided tour of the house was in French with a good printed English translation. The garden was smallish and ordinary at best.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting and attractive chateau overlooking the Vezere”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The chateau is well worth a visit. It is necessary to take a guided tour which is in French but, on entry, a translation is supplied in your native language and makes the tour easy to follow. This is an interesting if rather small chateau perched on a rocky ledge high above the river and has some impressive furniture, weapons and paintings from C15 which give a good idea of what it would have been like to live there. The grounds are formally laid out and well worth exploring. It would have been good to have been able to buy a coffee but all that was available was a vending machine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau et jardins de Losse also viewed

 

Been to Chateau et jardins de Losse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing