We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful chateau and gardens but disappointing tour”

Chateau et jardins de Losse
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Thonac
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful chateau and gardens but disappointing tour”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have only rated this a 3 point, not because of the quality of the chateau and gardens (which in themselves would have won a 5) but because of the attitude of the tour guide. We were told that the tour would be in French and we were given an English sheet to follow, however the guide said far more than was on the sheet with no attempt to expand for our benefit and also she did not follow the order of the sheet when talking (she did speak good English as she was on reception when we arrived and we held a friendly conversation in English with her), if fact during the tour we were ignored. The group was only a party of 12, all French apart from ourselves, and we were helped out on a couple of occasions by a French couple who also spoke English. We found the tour very frustrating and it left us with many unanswered questions and also spoilt the overall visit for us. Strange, that as another reviewer noted, they were able to get the request for guide tips in English! An audio tour would be a good innovation for them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinRS0346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    79
    25
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Small furnished Chateau”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a nice, small combination medieval-renaissance styled chateau with some of the original furnishings. The latter are the most interesting part of the tour that is all in French (you are provided a written guide in English); therefore did not need the guide other than to unlock the doors! Sign requesting tips at the end of the tour made me think that they should be more "universal"! Garden is uninteresting. We drove almost an hour to see this since it is listed as one of the "must see sites" in the Perigord Noir. Many more interesting castles with spectacular vistas in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank weiss782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A stunning chateau beautifully restored. The guide is given in French but you can have a written guide to help you out if needed. The gardens are superb and are very formal. the restaurant looked very nice but a little pricey for a snack.The chateau is only open for a short time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Elegant well kept castle”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A nice mix of medieval and renaissance in one place with some pleasant but small gardens all set right next to the river. A long tour in French with a limited English translation was a bit tedious but they managed a written sign at the end in English asking for tips!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very pretty Chateau”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Brilliant. Be warned, a lot of places do not take cards so have cash on you. This place opened at 12am as well.

We had a tour guide to show us around who only spoke French however we were given a leaflet in English but Hubby did feel that she should have tried to explain some things to us in English?
This place was pretty & I have some fantastic photos

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank auntiehub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau et jardins de Losse also viewed

 

Been to Chateau et jardins de Losse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing