We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nordic DeLights!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andoy Friluftssenter

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Risoyhamn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Andoy Friluftssenter
Ranked #1 of 1 Risoyhamn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Masai Mara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nordic DeLights!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nigel and Ingvild have a gem of a place overlooking the stunning Buksnesfjord. You are nestled 40 metres from the fjord and 100 metres from mountains. After a very lumpy landing into Evenes and driving a hire car ( Europcar very good) through hurricane force winds of 78 knots for 2 hours we were so relieved to reach this wonderful wilderness property. Even more delighted that Nigel had been busy cooking up a storm in his kitchen with the most delicious moose pie and the best creme brulee I have ever had perfumed with a cheeky dram of Akvavit. This was the first of many gastro nordic feasts all from farm fresh produce. Fantastic breakfasts too which really set you up for action packed adventures - helped me run with the Reindeer and in 4 days we had all weathers so was glad of the snow shoes. The hosts are charming and clearly proud of their home and make you feel so comfortable - we can't wait to return with the children. Seeing the Northern Lights from the hot tub was pretty special too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
23
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a wonderful base for our hectic 4 day stay in Norway to photograph the Northern Lights. Nigel and Ingavild were perfect hosts, the food was fantastic - it was just unfortunate that we had to rush out mid-eating one evening to chase the lights. The location is wonderfully picturesque and the walk to the frozen lake and fishing experience was second to none. The hot tub is not to be missed - drinking wine, soaking up the amazing views while your hair freezes is a once in a lifetime experience. Next time I will wear a hat! We would love to return in the summert time to see it all again in green.

Room Tip: Room E in Aurora has a double bed and space to move around - bettter than the rooms with bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 296PatD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our little cottage on the slope tilted somewhat towards the fjord. Having ensured that it was stable enough, we could sleep soundly, though. The staff was friendly, although on one occasion I encountered a girl behind the counter who didn't understand my impeccable Norwegian, so I had to shift to English... We cooked our own meals, so I have no review of the restaurant facilities. WiFi free, though a little unstable. A perfect resting place on our (loong) way to Andenes whale watching. Driving in Norway is far from "as the bird flies"... Price, as generally in Norway, a little on the high side.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guovnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
528 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Fabulous evening at this hotel- we started with a meal in a wooden Yurt-type structure which was blazing hot- Nigel & Ingavild were most hospitable. stayed on for drinks and then we had fireworks and then the Northern Lights turned up! all made better by Discover Arctic AS's super staff but I would happily stay at this venue. Drinks were expensive (but typicallly Norwegian prices) and I can not comment on the accomodation or what it is like if you are travelling independantly so I have had to give some credit to the travel company but no negatives about the place

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I can only speak as a camper, and I must say that the staff is anything but welcome. Condescending and unfriendly staff, overall. Do not expect even a unfriendly hello. The only reason I would stay here again, is because that it's too far to the next camp. For those not camping, I would rather choose Marmelkroken 20km (12 miles) up the road for excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecosse
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Found this place during an over-long drive to Andenes, hungry and flagging.Mid-afternoon, having seen nothing else open for many kilometres, our expectations were limited, maybe a sandwich and coffee.. Hopes rising as we entered, fabulous location, immaculately clean, stylish interior, very friendly young man at desk. Yes, of course they can do food, he's not sure of all the options in English, so gets help from kitchen.It becomes clear we are being offered full-blown meals, joy! Choice made, we are sat in very attractive restaurant, immediate jug of water without asking (we did not find this a widespread practice in Norway), lots of information leaflets and artwork to look at while waiting - a wait that was apologised for , but soooo worthwhile. One of the best salmon dishes I have ever had- and we are from Scotland, and I pride myself on cooking a decent bit of salmon myself. Decent coffee after. The same impeccable and completely accommodating service was extended to a group of bikers who arrived while we were there, looking to camp and make dinner reservations.
So good we stopped for coffee and desserts on our drive back 2 days later, and just as good. I wish we could have stayed, the accommodation options look really good, as do the activities they offer. Definitely on the list for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Møltebær til frokost (hand-picked!). Beers from oak rum barrels, and caramel and pear lager..which was just great with sopp risotto (ekte norske sopp). The "hytter" are superior, with all necessary to care for oneself. I was encouraged to langrenn-ski med ei gong....and had a really good 5 km...in snow and stillness (quiet!). Superb location, including the bobblebadet! And all at a rimelige pris! (I may soon become a local resident as I had a job interview in Risøyhamn which brought me "here"....) (and / but) the terrain in Buknesfjord is
a1 for ski orientering....and I hope I can "soon help with this"? The British owner is ex Military, and still young, with a Norske wife and family. Since I am en del extrovert...I like to socialize...and I was the only guest....and my privacy was respected (too much for me !) .., just fine for 90% + of guests! 1/ Come here! 2/ Make sure Nigel keeps "customers first"! (The only thing I needed (I have no laptop in Norway) was a Guest skjermet til internett.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risoyhamn
13.9 mi away
Sortland Hotell
Sortland Hotell
#1 of 2 in Sortland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
24.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
24.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Harstad
Thon Hotel Harstad
#2 of 5 in Harstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marmelkroken
Marmelkroken
#1 of 1 in Risoyhamn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
24.0 mi away
Fjordcamp
Fjordcamp
#1 of 1 in Krakberget
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
16.6 mi away
Nyksund Ekspedisjonen
Nyksund Ekspedisjonen
#1 of 1 in Nyksund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andoy Friluftssenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andoy Friluftssenter

Property: Andoy Friluftssenter
Address: Gnr 1818 Bnr 1 | Risøyhamn, Risoyhamn 8484, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Andoy Municipality > Risoyhamn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Risoyhamn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing