We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rejuvenating Trip”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mirik, Darjeeling District, West Bengal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

RickfromK...
Geylang, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rejuvenating Trip”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friends and I had an awesome time at this property in Mirik. For everyone's reference, the property has multiple apartments and smaller groups would only need to book one apartment. My group was larger so we booked both the Terrace Apartment and the Deck Apartment so we'd have access to the whole space and more privacy.

The views on the property are simply spectacular. Pictures do not do them justice. My friends and I were in awe when we first reached the property. The mountain air is refreshing. Minal and her staff are great to work with. They provide excellent food for a reasonable extra charge. However, each apartment has a well-stocked kitchen so one could cook their own food if they wish. Minal and her staff went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.

I'm already trying to find another excuse to return soon.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mountain views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amish D
Houston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Birdsong home for 10 days and had an amazing time! The scenery was beautiful, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the service was incredible! Having access to wifi from the house was a plus and made it easy to stay in touch with friends and family back home. The view of the Himalayas from the house were absolutely breathtaking! Staff there were friendly and did an excellent job making us feel welcome during our stay. I will absolutely come back and I would highly recommend Birdsong home to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation!

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drewdown7...
Siliguri, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As Good as it Gets in North Bengal”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I have traveled extensively throughout North Bengal, and Birdsong Home is truly as good as it gets for the region. Located two kilometers outside of Mirik town, the property is nestled in a village setting, but boasts amenities far beyond what one would expect for the area. Attention to detail is evident throughout the premises, both in the house itself and in its surrounding property. A medium-sized grass field is on the grounds, which was of an adequate size for my children and I to play a variety of games on. A beautifully decorated and large outdoor eating area was illuminated with dazzling lights when evening struck, and a campfire added to the perfectly cozy hillside environment. Overall, the place is simply oozing with character and charm and is an ideal location for a family getaway in the hills.
There is an on-premises caretaker, an amicable young Nepali gentleman, who is there when you need him to arrange meals or provide for other guest-related needs.
Given its picturesque location, high quality accommodations, and the fine attention to detail, I am happy to give this the highest possible rating. This truly is a gem in North Bengal.
That being said, there are two things that should be noted:
1) The only part of the experience that wasn't absolutely Grade-A was the mattresses and sheets. None of them were very comfortable, and, frankly, they felt out-of-place when compared to the extremely high quality of everything else on the property. My suggestion would be this: Toss those old mattresses, run down the hill to Siliguri, and pick up new ones from Kurl-on in City Centre and sheets from Bombay Dyeing next door (or from some other purveyor of high quality mattresses and bed linens). If the mattresses and sheets were upgraded, everything about the place would be Grade-A. As of now, the mattresses and sheets are the lone C-grade component of the Birdsong Home experience.
2) It should be noted that the building actually has two levels, which means there are two spaces that are rented out. Although the proprietor was faithful to inform us that another family would be staying on-site, we didn't fully realize what the ramifications would be. Our family of five had the entire top level of the building to ourselves, and the entire bottom floor was for the other family, which, in total, had 10 members in its party. This meant that all of the outdoor areas were, in fact, shared, including the yard, outdoor seating spaces, and the outdoor eating area. The family that was staying below us was entirely lovely, but the truth is, our planned weekend away as a family really turned into a weekend away hanging out with strangers, as members from their party were ever-present in the outdoor shared-areas. Their ranks were 10 members strong, after all. So, in summary, if you are looking for a private weekend away, be sure to ask the proprietor if you will be the only one staying on-site for the dates in question before you make your decision to book, or be prepared to share the space with other guests.
In the end, I call for three cheers for the enchanting Birdsong Home. Our family will look forward, with great anticipation, to our next stay.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extremely high quality of the property in such a rural location.
Liked least: The mattresses and sheets.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeartGa L
1 review
“Perfect environment for our Yoga Retreat”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

When I met Minal and she offered her house in the Himalayas I was expecting it would be nice, peaceful & calm. Never did I realize how breathtaking this place was until I we were coming down the mountain and approaching the house, let alone when we actually went inside. I chose this house to take our Heart-ga retreat participants to and they were all taken away. The welcoming energy, open and beautiful staff and of course Minal and her mother were amazing. The food is great, the place is clean and everything works!
There is so much to do and to experience in this beautiful place and the staff is willing to show you around and let you into their hearts. I love this place and for sure see you next year!

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: mmmm... Is it possible that I have nothing to say here?
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceDuSu...
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.