We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Lukenya Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lukenya Getaway
Ranked #1 of 9 Athi River B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I just love Lukenya Getaway. It keeps getting better with time. My third time here, and each time the place looks different- better! The food was awesome! They have great chefs and the variety is really something. The rooms are comfortable and clean and they have excellent service. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. They have excellent grounds for team building activities. Would definitely go back to Lukenya Gateaway!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

It's the perfect place to escape to, when you need a break from Nairobi's hustle and bustle. The food is really good. My companions and I had a lovely dinner, the chicken was cooked to perfection! We whiled away the afternoon by the pool and all too soon it was time to get back to the city. If you want to go do stay longer than a day.. something about the place relaxes you. The new wing rooms are really nice, I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: Get the new wing rooms, beautiful, fantastic showers and I like the beds there plus there's a cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Turn off Mobasa road and are greated by giraffes,zebras,wildebeests,gazelles roaming freely along the well maintained rough road to the hotel. A true wilderness. Getting into the hotel, you get into a calm and serene enviroment with beautifully manicured lawns and trees turning the hotel compound into an evergreen area. The reception was wonderfull with a welcome glass of fresh juice as you complete the booking details before being escorted to the rooms. The rooms for all in our group were spacious clean and meticulously furnished. Beds were large and comfortable for a good refreshing sleep.
The Service team was very pleasant and professional, always ready to assist. The meals were of very high quality and variety not to mention the dessert which always had something wonderful. We enjoyed every bit of the foods.
The conference facility for our use was well set after every sitting. The grounds patched with swings and playgrounds is all you need for bonding and team building. The swimming pool was very enticing thou we ran out of time before we could get in.
Overall, a quiet, refreshing, peaceful, safe and very relaxing stay were you get value for money. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewKiragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Passing zebras and giraffes on the way to a hotel is always a good start. It's a short distance (50km or so) from Nairobi and it certainly is a 'getaway'. Conference facilities were fine, although there were some problems with internet access. Rooms were large and clean, and the food was of a very good quality. Swimming pool looked nice and it seemed relatively busy, but because of it's surroundings you don't feel like there are too many guests. Receptionist were very helpful. Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hongky_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Lukenya Getaway. Our organization brought a team of 23 people and worked in the Nairobi slums during the day. Lukenya was so refreshing to come back to. They have a wonderful pool and excellent staff. Someone on our team got sick (from the hot weather) and they moved her to a new room and got her special food for the day at no extra cost. They were so friendly. Everyday we came back to the hotel we saw giraffe, zebras and gazelles roaming free along the roads and in the nearby fields. The beds were comfortable, our room did not have air- conditioning but we opened the windows and tucked in our mosquito nets and sleep like a baby (and woke up to beautiful birds singing). They have cold water, soda and drinks available for a reasonable price and I loved the wonderful breakfast every morning (I liked lunch and dinner too). It's close enough to Nairobi (45 minutes by van) and you get fresh air instead of the polluted air of Nairobi and it so quiet and relaxing. All in all it is a comfortable and safe place to stay, I recommend spending a little extra money and getting a larger room. I loved the food (and I'm picky) and there was always something wonderful for dessert. I have been to Africa many times and this is like an oasis in the desert without losing the Kenyan culture.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

It's a long way from Nairobi and anything else so be sure you are happy just staying on site! Good place for a work retreat or workshop where you want to spend the whole time together. I have been here 3 times for international work conferences and it's a lovely location, nice rooms spread across the grounds - lots of greenery and flowers. Good size meeting rooms, friendly staff and food was good too.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This facility is located away from all the noisy inconveniences like traffic and crowds. Natural environment and perfect for a quiet weekend away. Truly a "gateaway"
Worth visiting again! And again!

Room Tip: The cottages are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BabaZedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athi River
9.6 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#1 of 2 in Syokimau
243 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
701 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#34 of 169 in Nairobi
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Galaxy Resort Kitengela
Galaxy Resort Kitengela
#1 of 3 in Athi River
6 reviews
15.8 mi away
Villa Machakos Guest House & Conferencing
0 mi away
The Kyaka Hotel
The Kyaka Hotel
#4 of 20 in Machakos
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukenya Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukenya Getaway

Address: Athi River, Athi River 00202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Athi River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Athi River
Price Range: £53 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lukenya Getaway 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Jovago.com so you can book your Lukenya Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukenya Getaway Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing