We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly we will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have stayed in very comfortable de lux room in the west side. The room and bathroom are well equipped and balcony is spacious . The sun comes there in the mid afternoon so you may stay on the balcony and read even in the very hot day till 2-3 pm. The hotel seems to be too short of staff therefore the room is usually done daily a bit too late but well. Breakfasts and dinners are rich, tasty and service is very polite and speed. Desserts are delicious especially chocolate mousse and cakes. We are both see swimmers, the cost is rocky and you have to find your best way to get to the see. We have. The places along the sea cost and around three swimming pools are very clean, very well maintained and excellently serviced with towels and beds. We have enjoyed very much little jazz concerts in the bar at the lobby. For regular evening visit to old Dubrovnik we have used our car having long parking experience there but hotel has its own shuttle bus. Radisson is not cheap hotel but the rate between quality and price is not exaggerated. Except wines! The wines are much overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,018)
There are newer reviews for Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,392 - 1,398 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Resort fab and very clean with very helpful staff,pure luxuryMust admit though, we were surprised about the cost of eating on the resort. We felt that it would be like Italy where eating out would be full of good quality food at reasonable prices. This was not what we found to be the case here ,nearly £80 for a very basic lunch.reasonable supermarket helped. We went to a number of places off resort e.g nearby Orsan fish restaurant on staff recommendation and found it lovely but expensive with a limited menu. The best by far and local gem was KONOBA HILL in nearby Trsteno ,less than £ 10 return by cab.small,fab food and service ,a real find.Great meat and fish and an undiscovered ambiance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The hotel was really nice and modern.
We stayed in a junior suite who has all the amenities needed.
The best thing, for us, was a "not allowed under 16" swimming-pool. During the summer you have a lot of families and it's really nice to have a pool only for adults, where you can swim without avoiding inflattable tube.
The breakfast was nice, with a lot of choice.

Room Tip: The junior suite was really nice
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

From the first moment, we came to the Hotel Resort, we had the feeling, that we are in a kind of wonderland! Although we were to early, we could use all the pleasures of the hotel area until our apartment was ready. It is a very wonderful and with a lot of heart made area, with three outdoor pools, a beach resort, a shopping and a restaurant mile, a spa and and and. . .
The apartment was great!
. . .and, the most important: EVERYBODY, who is working there, was so friendly and realy read our needs and wishes up from our eyes!
My favorite was Jelena Hajdic, who was, every time she was working and I need an information, very competent, serious, so friendly and could help every time in any way!
After one week beeing there we were complete relaxed, our skin was wonderful brown of the sun and our son (at the age of 14 years) was also satisfied!
Thanks to all for this wonderful time!!!!!
Monika Wieder (Germany)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Guest,
We are absolutely delighted that our team helped make your holiday memorable from the very first second of your stay. Naturally, this is what we strive for with each and every one of our guests so our team is particularly proud to receive positive mentions for making that extra effort to ensure your holidays with us are memorable. Thank you on behalf of our entire team for sharing your wonderful experience with the Trip Advisor community, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Zdenko Leko.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Excellent Hotel and Resort for families and couples who are looking for a relaxing break in luxurious surroundings. The hotel and resort have everything you need to enjoy a relaxing holiday with loads of facilities in an excellent beautiful resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment which was spacious and furnished to a high standard. We stayed half-board, the breakfast selection was excellent and had everything you could imagine. Dinner had limited choice of food but it was all excellent quality and if you're not a fussy eater you will find something to enjoy. Some reviews say the resort is expensive but it is 5 star so you expect to pay a little more but you do get excellent quality food and wine. The hotel provided a shuttle bus which goes to the Old Town, it cost £7.00 return (half-price for children) but for this you get a luxury vehicle with air-conditioning, chauffer (care-full driver) who drove direct to the old town and return to the hotel. There is a local bus which passes the hotel - stops at numerous stops, you're not guaranteed a seat and you save little money. The staff at the hotel were helpful and professional and a credit to the hotel. i would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to enjoy a luxury break in a beautiful resort within easy reach of the old town. There is a cake shop just outside the resort selling a huge selection of freshly baked cakes for less than £1 each - the best cakes ever!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thanks for this very objective review. We are certainly pleased that you found almost everything meeting your expectations for a 5-star resort, but at the same time somewhat disappointed that we did not meet these expectations in terms of the buffet dinner. Our goal is for the dinner offering to be of the same quality as that provided in all of our other 7 restaurants, and we’re pleased that you found this to be the case. Additionally we work hard to ensure a good variety of meals for parents and children alike to enjoy, so we shall include your comments when we next do our review of the buffet meals to help add some more creativity and ‘spice’ to complement high quality standards achieved.
Kind regards,
Zdenko Leko.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Great new rooms, balcony view of the sea, nice pools and bars. Only downside is too much concrete and rocky beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highgate_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your short and sharp review. I am delighted to conclude from it that all of the things over which we have control met or exceeded your expectations, and only the few that we cannot reasonably influence were downsides. Jokes aside, we spend considerable resources each year to make our pebble beach one of the better beaches in and around Dubrovnik, and for those used to sandy beaches we also offer convenient boat transfers to the nearby sandy beach on the island of Lopud.
Best wishes,
Zdenko Leko.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Had a brilliant stay at this hotel in August. We stayed in a deluxe room. Absolutely gorgeous views, nice balcony with sunbeds, great bathroom.

The many swimming pools are all brilliant, again with awesome views over the sea. All have an adjoining bar, and there is a separate adults only pool too.

The hotel has a nice a spa with a Pool/Jacuzzi/Sauna/Hydrotherapy etc. This is free to use. Although treatments are charged.

The service overall was fine. I did get the feeling that many of the staff are newly hired youngsters. They were always polite and ready to help.

Food was the one area where we had mixed experiences:
- The hotel has many restaurants. Some are within the main block, some are in the "Market Place" by the residences.
- The breakfast was just about ok. A very decent spread, but somewhat lacking in quality (the bacon too smelly, the hot food not kept warm etc.)
- The market place restaurants are cheaper and just about ok.
- The finest restaurant (Tartufso) serves Croatian food and wine for dinner. The food, wine and service here are all excellent. Highly recommended.

Note - the adjoining Dubrovnik Sun Gardens residences are also under the same management, and some of the reviews below seem to be of these residences/apartments. We stayed at the hotel, and absolutely loved it.


Tips for your visit:
* A visit to the Dubrovnik old town is a must. You could take the boat shuttle from the hotel (75 Kunas/head each way). I'd recommend you take the boat one way, and take a taxi back from the old town (160-180 kunas). The taxi is more comfortable and quicker, and you get to choose when you want to go back. The old town is brilliant at night. For food, "Restaurant Dubrovnik" on Marojice Kaboge here is superb.

* The hotel might not be easily located on a SatNav and is wrongly placed on Google Maps. Use these co-ordinates instead: 42.696713, 18.018866‎ (+42° 41' 48.17", +18° 1' 7.92"). The exit you need to look out for says "Dubrovnik Sun Gardens" (in Croatian)

* If you are debating whether to rent a car for your entire stay in Dubrovnik, or if you just need a car for a day or two - the hotel has car rental available, and is somewhat reasonable (probably a lot cheaper than at the airport). The roads around this area are great, very scenic too. I'd recommend a drive to Prapratno beach on the Peljesac peninsula (50mins); or further down to Orebic (1hr 40mins).

* Do visit the cable car which takes you from right outside the old town to the top of Srd Hill. You can actually drive all the way up there too (program your Satnav for a village called Bosanka). The road is quite narrow and steep but easily doable if you are confident driver. There are enough passing points for traffic coming the other way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R2D2_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orasac
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,069 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
6.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
3.4 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Gardens Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Gardens Dubrovnik

Address: Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Orasac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Price Range: £76 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Gardens Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a privileged location just steps away from a picturesque beach, resort offers wide array of rooms, suites and residences. With its award winning 3500 m2 Spa, large Sport center, beach, 3 outdoor pools and marina, conference facilities it's designed for ultimate luxury holiday experience. Gourmet heaven is the only way to describe the dining options at this five-star Adriatic Sea hotel. Guests are spoilt for choice with a fabulous array of restaurants, poolside eateries, bars and a unique Market Place concept, serving up delicious international and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun Gardens Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Hotel Dubrovnik
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Radisson Blu Hotel Dubrovnik Riviera
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing