We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located but overpriced and bad gfod”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel is located quite far from Dubrovnik and there is not really anything within walking distance from it. The location and the premises are large and pretty. The rooms were nice, light and airy with a terrace with good views.

Pros
- Good selection of swimming pools and most importantly, an adult pool with no children under 16 allowed
- The spa and indoor pool area was nice even though some of the saunas did not work and there were toddlers with diapers swimming in the pool
- The breakfast was good with a large selection
- The location is really beautiful

Cons
- the enourmous amount of wasps - by the pool and in particular at the breakfast restaurant, it was not even possible to sit outside
- All food, except for the breakfast was really not good and very overpriced
- The hotel is overpriced

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadBluDub, Quality Assurance Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback on our resort, Sun Gardens Dubrovnik.
We very much appreciate your comments as they are most useful in our pursuit to improve our quality and service on a continuous basis.
Our entire team was glad to hear that you enjoyed resort and its contents, and are very encouraged with your lovely comments on rooms, breakfast and leisure facilities.

We are sorry to hear that you found food in some restaurants overpriced and with place for improvement. Since your stay with us we have done great changes in Food & Beverage and Kitchen departments. I can assure you that now, with recently changed menus made by our new Chef, food quality and its value for money has been raised to a completely new level.

We hope that you will come back to be with us sometime in the near future to taste our new delicacies when certainly, you will become a regular guest of Sun Gardens Dubrovnik.

With kindest regards,

Antun Vlahovic
Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent service,food, accomodation room. SPA on the high level. All over all, excellent stay in this hotel. Location especially nice. I would recomend this hotel for a nice romantic for couples or a familly stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
2  Thank Drvencanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned from a special wedding trip and spent 2 nights here. From the moment you arrive the view is literally breathtaking - over the adriatic and the Elaphiti Islands...and it gets even better at Sunset! The rooms were clean and far exceeded my expectations, very calming and beachy yet also very classy. The pool was stunning and lying by the pool overlooking the adriatic was such a special moment.
We were treated to a tray of sweet treats and bubbly for our special occasion, which was such a nice suprise that we appreciated greatly. Breakfast was good every day and we had amazing calzone and pizza at a local restaurant in the adjacent Sun Resort.
Once this hotel is finished (as it is still under construction in some areas) and the service staff sort out teething issues (for example having to wait a long time for room service etc) this will be a phenomenal resort to stay at.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms with a deck to relax on your own personal loungers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The service is excellent and rich, the staff helpful and friendly oriented. Pleasant surroundings, a lot of content, a high level of hygiene, everything is subordinate to guests.Great place to spend a holiday, in one place peace and fun!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

excellent apartment, very nice area and surrounding...I visited the resort for a weekend and was totally satisfied with everything there... the apartment was totally as on reserved, very modern and authentic Mediterranean style recognized, great job and look forward to visit it again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Latif H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A great location despite being a bus or boat ride outside Dubrovnik. You do not want to drive into Dubrovnik anyhow with winding, tiny streets and no parking as would be expected. Free ample outdoor parking, even for a campervan if you need a break. Check in was fast, however despite ordering and paying a premium for an apartment with sea views, be aware after viewing several rooms, what would be an outstanding view was obscured by large poplar trees. If you are in the main hotel complex however or on a top floor this wouldn't be an issue. Great choice of restaurants, top notch breakfast outdoor enjoying what is a beautiful view of the Adriatic. The grounds are large, including many pools, a jetty for a boat into Dubrovnik (recommended), access to the rocky beach for a swim or lie in the sun. Small kids playground, dayspa, indoor pool, travel and tour office etc. You will encounter many many stairs walking down the hill to various locations due to the sheer size of the resort. Outstanding to my small family was the Italian restaurant and the very friendly staff who amused our baby daughter crawling around the place at early dinners. Despite the room view issue, it is a great facility I would stay at again to explore Dubrovnik. An infrequent but free and modern bus is provided to facilitate access to town and to see the inevitable ocean liners parked along the way.

Room Tip: Would suggest a Sea view if using family apartments, however be aware the views may be obscured unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDS_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Been to this hotel a couple of years ago. It's still as good as new. No signs of wear and tear.
Got a great upgrade - to Junior Suite (Carlson Club Gold membership card). Good breakfast, very nice spa treatments...Still the same problem - indoor swimming pool is just too little (they still didn't build a bigger one! :)).

In short - you won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Take higher floors - just for the sake of the view! And, the lower the number, the better - same rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadBluDub, Quality Assurance Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing Dubrovnik Sun Gardens for the second time.
I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed the junior suite and its amenities.
Thank you for the kind words with regards to the service you experienced in the spa and at breakfast. It will give me great pleasure to share your kind words with the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubrovnik.

With kind regards,

Antun Vlahovic
Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orasac
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,111 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
6.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,011 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,955 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Gardens Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Gardens Dubrovnik

Address: Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens)
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Orasac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Price Range: £79 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Gardens Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a privileged location just steps away from a picturesque beach, resort offers wide array of rooms, suites and residences. With its award winning 3500 m2 Spa, large Sport center, beach, 3 outdoor pools and marina, conference facilities it's designed for ultimate luxury holiday experience. Gourmet heaven is the only way to describe the dining options at this five-star Adriatic Sea hotel. Guests are spoilt for choice with a fabulous array of restaurants, poolside eateries, bars and a unique Market Place concept, serving up delicious international and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Gardens Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Hotel Dubrovnik
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Radisson Blu Hotel Dubrovnik Riviera
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing