We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful proprieters!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farallon Dillon Hosteria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farallon Dillon Hosteria
Certificate of Excellence
West of Philly
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful proprieters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife, 18yo daughter, and I stayed at Farallon Dillon for the first three nights of our Ecuador trip. (See reviews of our hotel and restaurants in Cuenca). The location of the hotel is atop a hill that overlooks the Pacific Ocean with the veranda looking due north onto the ocean . A steep but navigalbe set of new steps gets you down to the beach.

Pros
The restaurant was excellent the times that we ate there at the hotel. Pricing was very reasonable, too, although the traditional turkey dinner (pavo) was a little pricey I thought for the amount of food one actually received.

The location was fantastic. A little off the beaen path but worth the one kilometer drive up the dusty dirt road.

Cons

The facilities themselves could probably use a thorough refurb overall. The constant see breezes coming both on and off shore probably deposit a lot of dust and salt crust.

What set this hotel apart?

None of that really matters to us, though. This rating is excellent because of the fact that when my wife contracted some sort of 24 hour malady the first full day we were there, Yolanda and her son, Douglas, sprang into action and really, really helped us navigate our way over to and through an emergency room visit. Douglas stayed with us the whole time, interpreting with the hospital staff when their English was lacking (as my Spanish totally was) trying to communicate important things.

Conclusion

This is definitely the place to go for rest and relaxation. If you want to party - go to Salinas or up north to Montañita. Bring a good book and relax!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the rooms that look onto the water. The brochure says they all do but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWestOfPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a marine theme as the owner was a captain in the navy. The rooms are beautifully accented with marine items. As most review, hot showers any time. The pool is a refreshing temperature and overlooks the ocean. The restaurant serves tastfully prepared seafood and meat. This place is a bit off the beaten track, but excells at a place to come and just watch the waves. Having stayed in Salinas for five weeks, a rew days here were perfect and QUIET. We will come see the Captain and Yolanda again, next time through.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandJane357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. Alberto, Yolanda and their nephew Johnatan were excellent hosts as were all the staff. The hotel itself is not your typical seaside hotel, it is full of artistic and eclectic items (moose head over the fireplace),we were still discovering new things the day we were leaving. This was our first trip to Ecuador, with the intention of checking it out for retirement. We loved Ecuador and the people and feel we have made new friends, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

this place is really a jewel. Price is super great for what you get!! This is an awesome place to choose for honeymoon and tops my list on recommended hotels in ecuador.
It's close to salinas and a 5 min drive from the statal bus station. As you make your way here there's no chance you will get lost there's plenty of signs. The hotel counts with private beachfront nautical museum pool, tennis court, chapel, conference center. The hotel rooms and public areas are fully decorated with nautical paraphernalia and beautiful wood carvings. Beautiful sea views and whale sightings. Smoke free, good wifi signal. food is greeeeat and so is staff's attention. My greetings to the capt'n and his wife and the staff!

Room Tip: Go in september when you can see the whales from the pool or they can arrange a tour for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I love this hotel it is my third time there in the last year & a half . Yolannda the Captain and staff are so friendly they feel like long time friends. I alwasy get the room that is built into the side of the cliff and it seems like you are on a cruise ship you are so close to the ocean.See you next year. Take care Yolanda & Albert

Ama La Vida
John

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoita, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Unpretentious, comfortable and quite interesting surroundings with the most attentive, friendly staff. We could feel the stress roll off our backs as we settled in front of the large fireplace, taking in the hundreds of marine and naval related items that Captain Dillon has collected over the years. There's a story behind every one of them.

Food is quite satisfying, varied and well prepared. Decent Chilean wines.

Rooms are just what you would want and expect in an old lighthouse - wide-planked wooden floors, French doors out to the balcony overlooking the sea. Clean, nicely furnished and very homey. The second floor sitting area and the main floor fireplace are cozy places to read or chat when it's cool. The outdoor dining patio, pool area and hammocks down by the beach offer outdoor lounging and socializing environments.

Best of all, Sra Dillon and the general manager, Dennys, and all of the staff were extremely warm and hospitable. They truly wanted us to feel at home - and we did. It was tough to leave...and we intend to return. Highly recommended for low key, relaxing, off-the-main-drag indulgence in quiet, caring environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had an extremely pleasant time here. The people and service was excellent and the sound of the waves at night was really terrific for sleeping. Could not have asked for a better place. The nautical these resonated throughout the hotel with all the antique items. The owner is a retired Captain from the Ecuadorian Navy and was even on board a US submarine that went to the Antartic.

Room Tip: We felt the meals were a bit pricey and since the hotel is located far away from other places and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimjam61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballenita
4.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Punta Centinela
7.8 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 17 in Salinas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cocos Hotel
Cocos Hotel
#16 of 17 in Salinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Palmira Inn
Hotel Palmira Inn
#3 of 17 in Salinas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosteria  Ecologica El Faro
7.1 mi away
Barcelo Salinas
Barcelo Salinas
#1 of 17 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farallon Dillon Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farallon Dillon Hosteria

Property: Farallon Dillon Hosteria
Address: Lomas de Ballenita, Ballenita 241701, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Ballenita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ballenita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farallon Dillon Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Farallon Dillon Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farallon Dillon Hosteria Ecuador/Ballenita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing