We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay despite ratings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Stephano Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Batroun
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Coming from US, and reading previous reviews, was pretty nervous. Booked for 2 families on the 4th floor sea view. The place is real clean, organized (parking, management). In fact was impressed that they were trying to make you happy. Additional beds for 10 dollars was a good deal. Breakfast coupons only for adults. Rooms were large and comfortable.
Pool was clean and managed well by the life guards, whistling away at any issues. Also for girls, they will need some type of cap to go into the pool otherwise they will not let you swim.
Best part of the experience is that you can swim in the Mediterranean. My suggestion is skip the pool and head to the sea as part of the resort. Water is clean, swim with fish and have an awesome experience. Kids loved it.
We were also able to take a boat tour of Batroun from there which was awesome.
Breakfast was delicious and ample (managed well) without having people try to take over everything.
The resort is close to town if you want to eat lunch or dinner and is of walking distance.
Great place eve though came in with low expectations. Beat my expectations by a mile.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Beach_Family_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Worst Resort Hotel you can imagine. When I knew the price of this place, I thought this is certainly very good because it is very expensive. So I visited the place to make sure everything is good and to reserve. I was a bit disappointed because the lobby had an unused bar that was transformed to a place where they put all the stuff they don't need, in plane site of the visitors. Like old ironing boards, empty cases, bottles of water, old refrigerators, etc.
We asked to visit the place, the room looked not bad, so we booked it.
1st surprise is that they want the whole amount when you book and there's no refund if you have to change your mind. No problem, we paid the whole week.
Now, we came to the hotel to begin our vacation. Many small annoying things we couldn't notice when we visited, were not working or were not present. The AC remote controls, the TV, The fridge was leaking water, the sheets were not sufficient to 4 people, etc... We informed them about these problems, some were fixed right away and some took more time. And then, the AC in the room stopped working. They tried to fix it like 3 times without success. On top of all that, the room was very noisy because it is on the side of the street and people like to blow their horns in the middle of the night. Also, we started to sense that the staff, whom only 2 persons were friendly and the other were not friendly at all, started to make us feel that they are bothered by our requests, although it was not our fault that the place was falling apart.
Anyways, we asked them to change the room, they said that they can't do it unless we pay more money to put us in a similar type of room, but with a Jacuzzi. We insisted many times without any luck. Here, the staff, all of them, were not friendly at all. After a horrible night in the room, we've had it, so I went once again to the reception and demanded that they change the room immediately without any extra money and that it was not our fault and they should correct it. At last, they accepted.

The whole experience was very very bad. I didn't mention also that our little kid got the Salmonella virus from their restaurant.

Whatever they promise you and whatever you hear, Stay away from this resort. It is advertised as a 5 stars, I don't even give it a star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Myself and my girlfriend decided at the last minute to spend a weekend in Batroun over what was meant to be a very busy time. I say this as it is possible that our last minute booking resulted in a rushed cleaning of the room, but even so, what we found on our arrival was not acceptable at all.

Basically, after arriving at what looked like a slightly run down but well situated hotel, we went up to the room to change quickly for the beach and pool (we took a standard double room). When opening the drawers next to the bed we were greeted with a drawer FULL of DIRTY TISSUES!!!! The hotel upgraded us, although we only stayed at the hotel as we could not find accommodation elsewhere. In addition, they served coffee without sugar and took half a day to send someone to fix a broken TV.

Really disgusting. Still makes me ill to think about. If you can, avoid this place. Other than being situated in the heart of Batroun, it has nothing going for it (pool full of screaming kids, beach small and cramped, kind of smells like bug spray etc.)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank TimBukToo051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms. Clean and nice swimming pool. Small beach, but very clean and was very quiet at the end of season. Dunno if it would be crowded in high season. Nice area with beautiful night life. Price reasonable. Overall experience was nice. Would repeat it for sure.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Arrow123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I'm sorry to say that my stay at San Stefano was less than impressive! We stayed there for my birthday weekend last year and was disappointed! Day 1 was ok, quiet and uneventful. The staff did not seem interested in helping us or at least telling us where we can get things we needed! The next day, we went down to breakfast, to find the buffet almost empty, no one bothered to refill the plates or anything, it was really a poor breakfast when you are paying 270$ a night! The beach was not too enticing and the juice was way too expensive!!! Check out was at 12 and they wouldn't allow us a minute extra! Honestly a place to be visited again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Clean, friendly staff, well located, well priced, sandy beach, swimming pool, breakfast included, free parking, ask for something and get it in minutes. It is minutes drive from batroun downtown and about 15 minutes from Jbeil (byblos). Will gladly come back if i get the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Jim611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

very good location, nice and bright rooms, very clean, swimming pool, very good restaurant, very friendly service, good location in the center of modern, internet, all on a global level. I highly recommend! :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michal_osa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batroun
8.8 mi away
Byblos Sur Mer
Byblos Sur Mer
#1 of 14 in Byblos
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawary Resort & Hotel
Sawary Resort & Hotel
#2 of 3 in Batroun
39 reviews
9.3 mi away
EddeSands Hotel & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aqualand Hotel & Resort
Aqualand Hotel & Resort
#3 of 3 in Batroun
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Auberge de la Mer
L'Auberge de la Mer
#2 of 9 in Batroun
17 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Theodos Hotel
#7 of 9 in Batroun
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Stephano Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Stephano Resort

Address: Batroun Sea Road, Batroun, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > North Governorate > Batroun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Batroun
Price Range: £61 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the prestigious summer and night life area of Batroun city, San Stephano Resort, 250 m after Batroun Conjunction and 1 Km from the Highway, is the ideal choice for both families and youth. It is a special Beach retreat where the scenery is always spectacular, the hospitality is unforgettable & the recreation opportunities are endless. San Stephano Resort offers beautifully appointed, economical and executive rooms featuring an area of comfort and convenient facilities. All guest chalets are equipped with -A/C - Heater, Satellite LCD, Telephone, Refrigerator and Microwave. Moreover, elegantly furnished Executive and Presidential VIP rooms are supported by an excellent array of services and a wide range of luxurious amenities to meet the guests' needs. Furthermore, San Stephano Resort offers beautiful locations for the wedding reception surrounded by the beautiful scenery of the Marina, Sunset, and our sandy beach where you can enjoy the unobstructed view of the horizon lying ahead. Last but not least, our "Resort" is the place where rooms are simple, homely & tastefully furnished for a comfortable stay. Your Stay and Satisfaction Is One of Our Top Interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your San Stephano Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing