We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Bastide du Calalou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just back from the Calalou after bringing a business group there for a conference. Stephane and his crew made a great job helping out with the planning and transport arrangements. The hotel is quietly situated at the bottom of the small village Moissac-Bellevue and has all the facilities needed for a nice and relaxing stay combined with good possibilities for professional work sessions. Friendly staff, good (very good) food, lovely garden and patio. Also a good place for excursions to Gorges de Verdon, the Haut Var villages and the Marches provencales in the area.
To be recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiroNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastide Du Cala... V, Directeur général at La Bastide du Calalou, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at Bastide du Calalou .

We are glad to have contributed to your nice stay and our staffs appreciate your comment.

It would be a great honour to welcome you again at Bastide du Calalou

Yours sincerely,

Stephane D'Halluin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for La Bastide du Calalou
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for one night i October and I think this is a really nice hotel. Would very much like to go back for some special occasion and also to spend some more time in the lovely outdoor grounds where you also find a pool area and nice outdoor seating... And the castle feeling, it's just like going back in history but still stay in the present. The best from both...

Big clean room, comfy bed and a really nice, modern bathroom. And the view from room, absolutely magnificent!

Also a lovely dinner restaurant and a big terrace with a stunning view of Provence.

But the best thing with this hotel is the lovely staff. They were all so nice and helpful. High level service and friendly for real.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel mid-July. The grounds are absolutely lovely with beautiful views. The terrace where you take breakfast is really nice as well. The room we stayed in was not very big but had good beds. I really liked the stones of which the bathroom was made, classy. It lacked a window however so the damp always just kind of kept hanging there.

Other not so good points: The hotel had too much insects in the rooms and on the balcony. I remember entering and going on a killing spree of things way bigger than ants. We mentioned this to an employee and they said they'd solve it the morning after. This was not really the way I imagined my request would be handled?

The 2nd morning of breakfast we arrived at 9. They are supposed to offer breakfast untill 10 but the bowl of fruit salad had already been emptied out and did not get replenished, not even when we specifically asked for it. The day before there was another basket with fruit (still whole) but the 2nd day what was left of it just did not look fresh.

Also note that it is quite a walk to some of the rooms from the reception area. We went up a couple of floors with the elevator and then passed 2 hallways, one of which required a special code. We subsequently passed over terraces and entered a new small hall.

We were a little bit disappointed because for the price we paid in high season this really is not one of the cheaper 3* establishments. It seems we had a slightly different experience from some other reviews on here. Dommage!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Found our way from the autoroute to Aups and the our hotel Bastide Calalou in the Village du
Moissac Bellevue Provence ...about 17 minutes from Tourtour and 10 minutes from Aups.
I think we are the only English speaking people around here. Checked in and took a tour
of the grounds, very very nice... Our room while small and compact had a very nice .patio

We decided to have dinner at the hotel . Beautiful dining room overlooking the grounds. .I had the scrambled eggs with truffles. While my Husband had the ‘formula” dinner starting with an asparagus flan and followed by lamb with lentils , it was just okey..
After dinner, we walked around the various public rooms, the bar , the library. All the areas are very comfortable and charming .

We were booked for two nights and decided to try restaurants in the nearby towns.
We drove into Aups and walked around the town. As it was a Monday , all the shops do not opens till around 4 pm. Turned out the restaurants we were interested in are closed on Mondays. We decided to drive to Toutour which is not very far. It’s was a lovely drive , fields and fields of Olive Tree , very senic. Found parking and scouted out places for lunch. Then I remembered a write up on a place called L’Table. Luckily we spotted a sign for it and more luck it was open. We went up to the Terrace and got ready for a ‘serious’ lunch.
If your interested check out our review of L'Table in T.A. It was incredible , not to be missed!!!

The Bastide is a lovely property, the staff is friendly. I would choose this hotel again and
hope for good weather to take advantage of the wonderful grounds., While
the restaurant is convenient and charming, the food was just okey. Better choices in Aups
and TourTour

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calalou, Directeur général at La Bastide du Calalou, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs RJadventures

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at Bastide du Calalou .

Be assured that we have expressed your satisfaction and your compliments to our staff, and be sure that the comments you have pointed out already resulted in changes to our services.
We take into account the remarks that our customers can express in order to continue to reach their expectations at every opportunity.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.
Yours sincerely,

Stephane d'Halluin
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We are a young couple with a baby.

This is a fabulous hotel!
Very nicely designed and very comfortable. There is a nice pool to go into (if you're mad enough to do so in October)
The rooms are comfortable and large enough for 2.1 people :)
We had a small terrace on which we sat in the open air and drank some well-deserved wine :)

Very clean and nice staff.

We paid very little for this jem and that is why I say it is very worth-the-money. I wouldn't pay 120euros for this room like it normally is. I suggest reserving this hotel same day of arraival- guarantee a good deal.

Room Tip: I think any room is nice there. We had a room in the back.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Had a wonderful week in mid September at this super hotel. The staff are very friendly and attentive especially Stephane who was extremely helpful. Beautiful views from our bedroom window over the fabulous Provence countryside. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meals that we had were good too ( although I am not a lover of Perch ). Ideally positioned with a short
walk to the fascinating village of Moissac Bellevue and close to Ayps. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have the best views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I choose this mostly for it's position on our itinerary, but was very pleased to arrive at this beautiful hotel with a wonderful view, lovely grounds and pretty rooms. The restaurant was just superb, great food and service. All the public areas were welcoming and beautifully decorated.
We were in "economy" so the room (114) was pretty, but a bit small and the drain a bit niffy after it had rained, but we enjoyed our stay and would upgrade to a bit bigger room next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moissac-Bellevue
12.2 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
229 reviews
15.5 mi away
Villa Borghese
Villa Borghese
#1 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
495 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
278 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
487 reviews
13.1 mi away
Les Restanques de Moustiers
Les Restanques de Moustiers
#3 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide du Calalou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide du Calalou

Address: on the D9 towards Baudinard, 83630 Moissac-Bellevue, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Moissac-Bellevue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moissac-Bellevue
Price Range: £120 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide du Calalou 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Is Guarded By The Ancient Olive Trees Of Its 10 Acres Of Land. Overlooking The Valley This Residence Is Dedicated To Breaks Of The Body And Spirit. Antique Furniture, Engravings And Paintings Of The Family Surround This Countryside Bastide With A Warm And Convivial Atmosphere. 100% Non Smoking Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Bastide du Calalou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide Du Calalou Hotel Moissac-Bellevue
La Bastide Du Calalou Aups
La Bastide Du Calalou France/Moissac-Bellevue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing