We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Sabine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We are long time visitors to the burgundy region and have experienced several hotels. This time we tried the St Sabine because we know the ' motherhouse' Hostellerie Levernois and heard a lot of this new addition to their portfolio.
Location not too far away from the highway exit and easy to find. The chateau has an impressive size and a well decorated inside. Modern and a touch of history, a excellent mix of past and present. Free wifi in the room, No. 208 on the 1st floor, just had to be close to the door to get it. Warm and comfy the room with a smashing view. We appreciated that we did know Cristelle from the reception and she kindly provided advice during the booking.
Restaurant is down to the basement, so it seems, but in fact opens up with large windows to the park and the pond. For a 3star Hotel it has lots to offer including a great bar.
Would we go back, Yes.

Room Tip: take a room with a view towards the garden and the Chateauneuf castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stopped here for one night on a journey from the south to the north of France.

The chateau is just beautiful, in a picturesque, quiet village, with immaculate grounds. When we drove through the entrance we were instantly impressed.

Everything within the chateau is beautifully appointed and to the highest standard. The thoughtfully positioned lighting on steps and walls add to the chateau's already great ambience.

We were a family of two adults and two children and we were meeting another two adults who travelled in the opposite direction. We mentioned this to the Chateau when we booked, and when we arrived, we were delighted that they'd put us in a quiet tower of the chateau, on the top floor with two rooms to ourselves. We felt like it was our own private apartment up there. It was just perfect.

We were told that the rooms had been refurbished in May, and indeed, they were absolutely immaculate. Fitted to the highest standard, our room featured both a shower in a wet room (which was fantastic) and a large free standing bath in the bathroom. The room was extremely comfortable and we really didn't want to leave!

All of the staff were great and made us all feel very welcome; from offering to set up a toddler bed in our room for the little one when we booked, to calling about our meal reservation before we arrived, to discussing wine tasting, the history of the chateau, and other activities in the area, it was all first class.

We had dinner together in the restaurant which was excellent, and despite there being a wedding reception in another part of the chateau, the staff were still fully attentive, but discreet, exactly how good serving staff should be. The meal was excellent.

My only suggestion for improvement would be that the breakfast buffet was fairly basic and a slightly greater variety would address this.

All in all, this was a wonderful experience and one that my family will cherish for a long time.
We will definitely be back for a longer stay in the future, where we look forward to exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max_D-Fect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our 3 day stay was fabulous. Our room was spectacular with a fireplace and sitting area and a view to die for. The hotel staff caters to your every need and the restaurant was lovely. A great place from which to do daily wine tours as long as you don't mind driving, which we didn't. Can't wait to go back some day soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 202 and 204 were lovely. We had a sitting area in 202 and 204 had a 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 79BHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in France. We did the touristy thing in Paris, spent some time on the French Riviera (including Italy and Monaco), but Sainte Sabine was my favorite part! I loved the Burgundy region, and Chateau Saint Sabine made that possible. The staff was great, the chateau was perfect, and the wine was delicious. I wish I could live at Chateau Sainte Sabine. No complaints at all!

Room Tip: We had a complimentary upgrade when we got there, but I think any room would be great. The whole ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NateLeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Reception staff extremely helpful, including with maps/directions/recommendations etc. Room very recently redecorated and very comfortable and incredibly good value for money. Good, safe parking. Lovely grounds. Restaurant food pretty good; in better weather than we had would be nice to sit on the extensive terrace (dining and bar). Tip : Restaurant shuts some nights of the week and no restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Absolutely beautiful. Chateau in a park setting, complete with a meadow and deer for an afternoon stroll. And it gets better, the room is terrific and the staff friendly, intelligent with a true desire to make our stay the best possible. Make dinner reservations at the restaurant as it does sell out routinely.

Room Tip: Reserve in the main chateau if possible on the 1st floor (2nd in America).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We never felt so much welcomed and important like in this chateau.Every one was trying to make us happy.Our original room had low celling and small windows and we were offered a better room.
Extra towels- no problem,cup of coffee on a terrace-absolutely, light at the desk after hours- with pleasure, even a blanket in a cold night..Everything was so nice and pleasant.We felt as VIP from every person in this hotel.
Thank you again so much.

Room Tip: Call prior to and check on your room location, top floor has low celling and very small windows in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annam1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Sabine
18.2 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
15.4 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#3 of 62 in Beaune
878 reviews
19.4 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
535 reviews
16.2 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
217 reviews
16.5 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Sainte Sabine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Sainte Sabine

Address: 8 route de Semur, 21320 Sainte-Sabine, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Sainte-Sabine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Sabine
Price Range: £97 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Sainte Sabine 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Sainte Sabine, between Dijon and Beaune, on the banks of the Burgundy Canal 22 bright bedrooms with modern fittings that nevertheless preserve the authenticity of the chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Sainte Sabine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Chateau De Sainte Sabine Hotel Pouilly-En-Auxois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing