We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in a piece of history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Sabine
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay in a piece of history”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A wonderful chateau that is only about a half hour from Gevrey Chambertin. The beds are extremely comfortable and the chateau is kept spotlessly clean. The staff is very warm and helpful. We had dinner here each night and it was great to have a gourmet meal and then simply go up to our room or take a walk on the grounds. We took the back roads to the "wine road" and it was a beautiful relaxing ride.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the chateau has curved ceilings with beams and window vaults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timhr950950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlb21, Directeur général at Chateau Sainte Sabine, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Timhr950950,

During your stay, it seems that you enjoyed 2 beautiful things of Burgundy: the wineyard and his landscape and our Château!

Thank you very much for your contribution to our success.

all the team is delighted about your comment and the Chef is so happy that you liked his dishes during your stay!

Hope to welcome you again very soon !

Orlando MELIS - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    97
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
86
340
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Elegant public spaces inside. Terraces by the bar for the beautiful Burgundy weather. The rooms are so comfortable and the view of the lake and mountains is fabulous.
Sorry we are staying here just one night. It deserves at least a 2 or 3 day stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlb21, Directeur général at Chateau Sainte Sabine, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear travelbh ,

Do not be sad for your short stay in our Château ! Next time, I am sure that you will remain with us 2 or 3 days in order to discover the beauty of Burgundy! Thank you very much for your comment a I hope to welcome you very soon!

Warm regards,

Orlando MELIS - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was one of the highlights of my recent trip to France. The hotel was beautifully decorated, the rooms spacious & the grounds immaculate. Unfortunately our visit was let down by rude service and a disappointing dinner. Hopefully it was just a bad night, but i would definitely recommend as a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the terrace / lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlb21, Directeur général at Chateau Sainte Sabine, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Meg R,

We are very disappointed that we were not up to your expectations of dining in our restaurant. we do not have retail so do not hesitate to contact us directly to understand where we were not at the top. Happy to read that you enjoyed your room and the Château !

Hoping to see you again in Burgundy,

Orlando MELIS - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel has recently been taken over by the proprietors of Levernois, and it shows. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and the public areas are relaxing. The views over to Chateauneuf are beautiful. The staff are relaxed and professional. The restaurant menu is not huge but is imaginative and well presented. A delightful and quiet location, this hotel is a real find.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north have great views over the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlb21, Directeur général at Chateau Sainte Sabine, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Richard510,

Thank you very much for your message ! Hostellerie de Levernois is our older sister with the same spirit and quality of services. Perfect balance between classicism and modernity in the heart of Burgundy! Birds, nature and relaxing time ... welcome in Sainte Sabine ! We hope to see you soon at the Château !

Orlando MELIS
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our 2 nights in this hotel were the best hotel experience of our trip. We unexpectedly arrived early and were able to check in straight away. Our room was so beautiful, looking out onto the pond (wildlife abounding) with Chateauneuf in the distance. The tastefully decorated chateau itself, situated in a tiny village, the expansive views, the absolutely faultless service were all outstanding and we would really have liked to extend our stay and explore the region further if time had permitted. We used the hotel's bicycles to explore the nearby countryside including the beautiful village of Chateauneuf and the scenic canal alongside which you can ride all the way to Dijon if you wish. We watched the boats go through the locks and enjoyed the sunshine and gentle breeze. We ate in the restaurant both evenings. Even though the meals were expensive, every bite was delicious and the presentation delightful. If we return to the area we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likev13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlb21, Directeur général at Chateau Sainte Sabine, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Likev13,

The whole team was very touched by your message and thank you for taking the time to write this nice comment on Tripadvisor. Next time, do not hesitate to relax you at the swimming pool in the parc. We were delighted to welcome you and hope to see you soon again at Sante Sabine!

Orlando MELIS - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Staying at the Chateau was one of the highlights of my trip. It is situated in a beautiful area, near the magical village Chatêauneuf. I particularly appreciated the understated elegance of this chateau. It was authentic and beautiful, not glitzy or overdone. It made for a very relaxing and comfortable stay. The grounds are lovely to stroll around, and add to the charm of the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlb21, Directeur général at Chateau Sainte Sabine, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear SusieQtraveller,

Thank you very much for your comment!

We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our castle! We reopened for almost two years and we continue our expansion projects step by step to provide all our customers with service and quality services.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Orlando MELIS - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our party of 4 occupied 3 rooms at Chateau Saint-Sabine for 2 nights in May 2014. This is an elegant, beautifully decorated hotel in a tiny town in the gorgeous rolling hills of Bourgogne. This hotel offers spacious, comfortable rooms with modern amenities and grandiose views of the grounds, countryside and of the hillside castle of ChateauNeuf in the distance. The staff is friendly, very professional and attentive. The restaurant, with large picture windows facing the grounds, sits beneath an outdoor terrace (a modern addition to the chateau), and offers very good gourmet dining. Breakfast, also served in the dining room, offers a decent assortment of breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurt and eggs; it is not extraordinary, but certainly gets you off to a good start.

Saint-Sabine is a very peaceful, beautiful place to stay, and a great departure point for a drive along a myriad of country roads that wind in an out of picturesque villages throughout the Côte D’Or region. The front desk staff can recommend scenic routes, and you can just wander (as we did) and discover unexpected treasures. You simply must visit nearby ChateauNeuf, where you can tour the rather spartan castle, walk through the gorgeous town and head up to a view point overlooking the valley below. From there, head to Commarin to visit another chateau where you can pay to walk the grounds or enter to view an art collection. Whatever you do, drive the small country roads, not the major highways, to see this area. It is green and lush, vibrant with flowers (in the Spring, at least) and dotted with beautiful villages, each with its own character.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlb21, Propriétaire at Chateau Sainte Sabine, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Ecrowther ,

We are very delight for your testimony about our castle and also about our beautiful region of Burgundy, where the landscapes are actually multiple. Sante Sabine is indeed an ideal starting point for a journey into the wineries and the many castles around. We are happy to read that your stay with us was a good experience and hope to see you soon!

Orlando MELIS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Sabine
4.7 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
18.2 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
8.4 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
18.1 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
16.2 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Sainte Sabine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Sainte Sabine

Property: Chateau Sainte Sabine
Address: 8 route de Semur, 21320 Sainte-Sabine, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Sainte-Sabine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Sabine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Sainte Sabine 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Sainte Sabine, between Dijon and Beaune, on the banks of the Burgundy Canal 22 bright bedrooms with modern fittings that nevertheless preserve the authenticity of the chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Sainte Sabine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Chateau De Sainte Sabine Hotel Pouilly-En-Auxois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing