We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real find .....”

Review of Red Cottage

The Red Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Red Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The Red Cottage
Fire Place in Lounge
Reading corner in the livign room
View from Twin Room
Twin Room
Twin Room
The Twin Bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Upstairs landing
Beamed double room
Double Room
Cosy beamed double room
Kitchen
Breakfast in the Garden
Cottage courtyard
Stow-on-the-Wold 1 mile from Cottage. Lots of wonderful shops, restaurants and tea rooms.
Bibury Village 8 Miles from Cottage
Stanton 4 miles from village (fantastic walk Snowshill to Stanton)
Our family picnic in Lower Slaughter couple of miles from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broadwell, Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KS13x
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tranquil cottage needing a bit of TLC”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have had a lovely few days at the cottage and hope to return someday!

Pros:
- Fabulous location, close to everything we wanted to see and local amenities.
- Lovely quiet street with plenty of parking space on the road.
- Really pleased that we could bring our dogs with us too!
- Good sized cottage but still has rustic charm.
- Great to have an enclosed space outside to have breakfast/dinners in.
- Beds are very comfy, had a couple of brilliant nights sleeps.
- Very useful to have the option of Wi-fi.

Unfortunately (whilst it didn't ruin our stay at all and we would still come back), I feel that the cottage is in need of a bit of TLC -

- Whilst I appreciate there is nothing that can be done about the beam in the attic room, it is a safety hazard, with even my child bashing their head against it numerous times - it would possibly help to have a warning sign somewhere before entering the room!
- The bathroom towels were plentiful but very stiff and uncomfortable to use, there was also a lot of dust along the ledges in the bathroom.
- It was great to have the wood burner but unfortunately the logs provided were not suitable, they would not light and we had to drive a fair distance to find and buy some new kindling to get it started.
- Whilst the kitchen was well stocked and had everything we needed, unfortunately, like the rest of the cottage, it all needed a thorough clean. We couldn't use the microwave or oven at all as they were covered in grease/dirt, the living room had cobwebs along the beams and in the corners (which may be expected in old cottages but were definitely not recent due to size and quantity), the hand towel in the bathroom had brown stains on it, some of the utensils were very discoloured and still had food on. Some of the kitchen equipment is past cleaning and could do with replacing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Poor cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thanks for your review, and we’re pleased that you had a lovely time. We try to accommodate all, and happy to allow dogs. We have taken on board your feedback and have already put in a new microwave and addressed the cleaning concerns, also with providing a new set of towels and utensils. We’ll continue to improve and accommodate where we can, and will be very happy for you to return someday.
Thank you, John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chasshiel...
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would not re-visit”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The place is decent but not up to the standards of most cottages in the Stow area.
The sitting room is small, made smaller by a table with 4 chairs, but only 2 usable as the others are jammed against the wall or under the stairway. The TV is small - my laptop has a larger screen and there are limited channels. Internet was OK, but no cell phone signal.
The kitchen is decent with well used plates and utensils.

The 1st bedroom is 1 flight up a very, very steep stairway with 2 single beds. The next floor up is a larger bed, but being 6'2", I could not stand up. In order to get my suitcase down the steep stairs, I had to unpack and carry things down, then re-pack.

I have been visiting the region for 30+ years, so I know the standards of lodging in the area quite well and would rank this a bit below average. However, it is clean and serviceable as well as being in a quiet locale.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Thanks for your feedback, we are sorry to hear your stay wasn’t at the standard you expected. We have put in a new larger TV since, along with new kitchen set and cutlery, which we also change every so often.
The cottage is around 200 years old, and we find part of its charm for many guests is its old features and beams; I am sorry this caused some difficulty and take on board your feedback.
Best wishes John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real find .....”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My partner & I had a wonderful long weekend staying in Red Cottage with our dog Scooby. The cottage itself was perfect with everything you need, set in a lovely village with a great local pub which is very dog friendly. The cottage has a real charm about it & is very home from home. We walked into Stowe everyday through a little lane which the landlord helped us find, with great local shops, pubs & restaurants. We also had great days out exploring the surrounding villages, we particularly liked Bourton on the Water. We will definitely return & wouldn't hesitate to choose Red Cottage as our place to stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review Lisa, great to hear you enjoyed your visit and liked the cottage and village. The walk to Stowe is well worth it - a lovely place to visit and plenty to see there. Hope you can return sometime, thanks again, John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roverjohn
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with all you need for a Cotswold holiday”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My husband and myself plus 2 friends enjoyed a 4 night stay in this cottage. This is our second visit to Red Cottage having stayed there 4 years ago and had no hesitation in returning There is everything you need within the cottage which is comfortable and cosy. The village of Broadwell is lovely and we found The Fox Inn a great place to eat with friendly landlord and wife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No problem with anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your great review, and it's always great to have return guests. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and really liked our cottage. Hope you can all return sometime for another visit to the Cotswolds.
Thank you, John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived on the Friday, it was just about dark. The lamp had been left on so we could see and the whole place was lovely and warm. The cottage is charming and, I must admit, probably the best I've stayed in in relation to kitchen utensils, cookware etc. The boys took a little while to adjust themselves to the lower door frames so there were a few bumped heads! The bedroom in the attic is beautiful. All the beds are comfy and the bed linen is top notch

The tiled floors downstairs were a complete bonus and easy to keep clean with the dogs.

Def recommend this cottage to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lounge - lovely log fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your great review Sally, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and really liked our cottage. Hope you can all return sometime for another visit to the Cotswolds.
Thank you, John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal723
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a lovely stay in red cottage. Cottage was homely and felt very traditional. Very comfortable and well equipped. Our stay was relaxing yet there's lots to do and visit in the area. We visited lots of lovely villages such as Chipping Camden and Bourton on the water. Blenheim palace was also a great day out. The fire was a lovely touch in the evenings after a meal out. The village itself is very quiet with just the pub, but the food there was fine and owners very friendly and welcoming. Stow is only a short drive away for supermarket and more lively places to eat with plenty of choice. The cottage was perfect for us but the stairs may make it tricky for young children although we had some scary moments after a few glasses of wine! All in all a very good break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are pleased to hear you had a great relaxing break in the Cotswolds and liked our cottage. Always happy to find that our guests enjoy its features, and hope you can visit again in the future.
Thanks again,
John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgs119
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a delightful cottage this was. Everything you would need, great location, lovely rooms couldn't fault it

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and hope you return to visit the Cotswolds again.
Thanks again,
John and Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing