We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vezia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vezia
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Spotlessly clean, private parking garage, best shower we've had in Europe, friendly and affordable. Great find.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richlovedshower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    73
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
46
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

We chose the Motel Vezia because we were on a driving tour, and safe parking was very important. The option of having your own, private garage directly under your room was too good to miss.

The motel gives a good first impression. The building is interesting, in nice clean grounds, and has a decent looking swimming pool at the one end (which we didn’t get to try, since we were only here for two nights).

After checking in, the receptionist showed us how the garage worked. You park your car, and there is a locked door inside which leads directly up into your unit. There’s a landing, off which is the bathroom, the bedroom, and another door that can take you out to the motel hallway so you don’t always have to enter/exit through the garage.

The bedroom was quite a good size, decorated in a modern style mainly in white with black touches. The furniture included a wardrobe shelves, a safe, bedside table, a desk-like chair and room for writing. The separate bathroom had a shower (no bath), and not much shelf space, but it was perfectly adequate otherwise.

The TV had numerous channels, but only CNN in English. The bed was, as is typical, two singles pushed together, with bedspread and blankets rather than the duvets usually found in Switzerland. The bed was firm, but comfortable. It was difficult to sit up and read, however, due to the shelf arrangement immediately behind the bed.

The motel has a very nice Italian-style restaurant, at which we ate one evening since they offered a set menu for 30CHF, which was reasonable compared with other places we had seen. We enjoyed our meal here, and would recommend it.

Breakfast was not included in the price of the room, and was an extra 15CHF each. This seemed excessive for what looked like a pretty standard continental spread. Luckily, there is a Manora department store right next to the hotel, which was great for buying some drinks and groceries, and had a small café on the corner, from where we had a coffee and pastry each for around 12CHF in total.

We caught the bus into Lugano, rather than drive and attempt to find parking there. The stop was only a short walk away from the motel, and we bought our bus tickets from reception. This seemed a relatively easy way of getting into Lugano, although it wasn’t at all clear where to get off the bus on our first ride in, and we ended up quite a way out of the town centre before somebody helped us and directed us back. Maybe this was just our own stupidity, but I mention it just as a bit of advice for any other new tourists – have a good map, and know where you want to get off, or ask somebody to help!

We found Lugano pleasant, but a little bit dull if I’m honest. It was a great base from where to visit Lake Como, which is what we did on our one full day there. We will never forget driving to and from Lugano to the Lake Como area – an experience not for the feint hearted, but one that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The motel is a great choice if you’re visiting the general area with a car. It’s probably not the best if you just want to visit Lugano itself, since it seemed about a 15-20 minute bus ride out of town. It’s not cheap to stay here, since the rate didn’t include breakfast, and is inflated somewhat for the privilege of having your own private garage – but that’s the main reason we stayed there, and it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Motel Vezia. It was a great stopover on the way to Italy. Easy to find off the motorway and something a bit different. We enjoyed sleeping over the garage! And thought it was really convenient. It is refreshing to stay somewhere so different and it was such good value for money We had dinner (we were almost the only people in the restaurant) and thought the waitress was charming, The food at both dinner and breakfast was good and reasonably priced for this expensive country. In the summer the hotel swimming pool is in use which must be very welcome after a long journey.
A great place for a stopover. Not sure how convenient it is for Lake Lugano as it was not on our itinerary.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cally21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

I booked a night here at the last minute and regrettably realized it was a motel after the fact . I think for someone driving to Lugano this is probably a good place to stay. However, for someone, like myself, traveling by train it was very inconvenient and also a bit overpriced. The room was a bit small, the rooms also need some updating, and breakfast wasn't included in the price. I felt I was paying for the motorists parking rather than any amenities. The staff were kind enough though. Overall, I was a bit disappointed and would not stay there again or recommend it to someone who is traveling by train.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

This, as it's name suggests, is a motel - and in the style of he classic '50s motel - even to the motoring memorabilia scattered around the place. Simple rooms. Very clean. Air Conditioned but beware - a notice in the A/C unit states that national conservation laws state that the equipment can not be used unless the ambient temperature reaches 26 degrees. Now that's very warm and I would struggle to sleep at 25 degrees!
Breakfast is not included in the rate and is very basic.
Good location, a 15 minute bus ride from the lake and city centre.

  • Liked — Price & cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FluffChucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2008

We stayed for eight nights - just enough time to organise a funeral. The staff could not have been more helpful, caring, considerate and understanding. We were not funtioning at our best, but they helped us with phone calls, emails and general information about what to do and where to go for all the different legalities.

We left feeling refreshed in spite of the ordeal we had been through.

In fact we liked it so much we returned in July and found it even better than the first time. The garden is great for chilling out in and the staff never seem to loose their smiles.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel for bikers, older people needing a little peace, people wanting to go on hiking tours, families, singles - in fact just about anyone who enjoys a peaceful, friendly hotel.!

  • Liked — the staff - friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — that i had to leave!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazeefizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2006

This delightful place seems to be a well-known haven for bikers with a well-deserved reputation for good food, high quality accommodation and excellent customer-care. They'll let you clean your bike using their facilities for free, and there's a bike shop directly opposite if you need any spares.

When we were there a German biker had run over a broken bottle and punctured his tyre, so they hitched-up their trailer, went and picked up the bike and took it to a repair shop - again, all free of charge. The staff are great - very friendly - and if you need to keep abreast of your e-mails there's even free Internet access!

Before we left we spent perhaps fifteen minutes, receiving advice on our route into Italy and information on what to expect when we got there. The word "unrivalled" springs instantly to mind. Motel Vezia - Lugano - Get there if you can!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezia
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
2.4 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vezia

Property: Hotel Vezia
Address: via San Gottardo 32, Vezia, Lugano 6943, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano > Vezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vezia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 3 km from the center of Lugano, the Hotel Vezia opened in 1956 and has been renovated while keeping its soul of the "Fabulous 50s". Each of the 50 rooms have been decorated in a unique way, taking inspiration from the '50s movies and stars, many of them are connected to a private garage. Every evening local and American specialties are served in the rounded shape restaurant. Not to be missed are the subtropical garden with pool and bar. At the Hotel Vezia unusual events and banquets for up to 100 people are organized. Wi-Fi and parking are included free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vezia Hotel Lugano
Vezia Motel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing